About all

Food to avoid with celiac: Celiac Disease Diet: Best Foods and Supplements


Celiac Disease Diet: Best Foods and Supplements

Considering only a small amount of gluten can trigger symptoms, it’s important for anyone with celiac disease to be aware of the risk for cross-contamination when dining out. For instance, if you’re ordering a gluten-free fried food, Dr. Bertiger recommends asking someone knowledgeable at the restaurant how they fry their food. “If it’s fried in the same oil as gluten-containing foods, that’s enough to cause a problem,” he says. Many restaurants only have one fryer.

Additionally, experts at the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics recommend calling the restaurant ahead of time to talk about your options. When you’re ordering, stress to the server that you absolutely need to eat gluten-free. If you’d like, you can explain why. (7)

Also, ask detailed questions about ingredients and how food is prepared. This helps the staff understand that you’re not eating gluten-free because you’re following a “trendy diet” (and therefore cross-contamination doesn’t matter as much), but that it’s a matter of your health.

A Word on Medication and the Risk for Gluten Exposure if You Have Celiac Disease

Many medicines contain gluten as fillers and binders, which can make treating celiac disease even more of a challenge.

Currently, drugs are not required to note that there may be gluten in the formula on the label. “Sometimes even manufacturers don’t know,” says Bertiger. When patients ask if they can take a specific medication, “the truthful answer is ‘we’re not sure,’” he says.

If a medication is important for a patient’s health, Bertiger advises taking it; doctors can then retest for antibodies to see if the particular medication may be aggravating any symptoms.

How to Avoid Nutritional Deficiencies if You’re Managing Celiac Disease

One complication that often arises from celiac disease is nutrient deficiencies. “The severity of the inflammatory reaction in the intestine, and how much of the intestine is affected, influences how someone absorbs nutrients,” says Bertiger.

Bertiger points out that while people with celiac can be deficient in a range of vitamins, most commonly he sees B12, calcium, iron, and vitamin D. (Though so many people, especially in Northern climates, are vitamin D deficient that this is often seen across the board in people with celiac and healthy folks.) Along with those, Mukherjee often sees deficiencies of zinc, folic acid, and carnitine, a nutrient that helps the body produce energy. (8)

Problems with macronutrients can pop up as well. “In worse cases of celiac disease, patients cannot absorb and digest fats very well, so they may have diarrhea filled with fat,” he says. In that case, someone won’t absorb calories very well, so weight loss and malnourishment becomes a legitimate concern.

Iron deficiency is especially telling. “Many people become iron deficient as the first sign of celiac disease,” says Bertiger. “When patients are mildly anemic, one of the first tests we give them is for celiac,” he adds.

The first course of action is to treat celiac with a gluten-free diet. It’s best to meet with a registered dietitian who specializes in celiac who can assess your diet, provide guidance on what to eat, and help you meet your nutrient recommendations to correct deficiencies. “He or she can also identify all the nooks and crannies in the world that gluten hides,” says Bertiger.

To find a dietitian if you don’t already have one, check out EatRight.org.

Foods to Avoid for Celiac Disease

I wish the guidelines for avoiding gluten were as easy as telling you to stop eating wheat, barley, and rye flour. That’s part of what you need to do, but it is much more complicated than that. There are many hidden sources of gluten, and beyond that, some naturally gluten-free products can be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Here are lists of foods, ingredients and additives to avoid. Study this list carefully and refer to it often. Eventually, you’ll have the foods memorized.



  • Barley (and anything with the word barley in it, such as barley malt)
  • Beer
  • Bleached flour
  • Blue cheese (sometimes made with bread mold)
  • Bread flour
  • Bulgur
  • Cake flour
  • Communion wafers
  • Cracker meal
  • Croutons
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Graham flour
  • Groats
  • Kamut
  • Malt (and anything with the word malt in it, such as rice malt, malt extract or malt flavoring)
  • Malt beverages
  • Matzo (made with wheat)
  • Orzo
  • Pasta (all varieties made with wheat, wheat starch, barley, rye or any ingredient on this list)
  • Rye (and anything with the word rye in it)
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Soy sauce (check ingredients—some contain wheat)
  • Spelt
  • Suet
  • Tabbouleh
  • Teriyaki sauce (check ingredients—some contain wheat)
  • Triticale
  • Triticum
  • Vital gluten
  • Wheat (and anything with the word wheat in it, such as wheat grass, wheat berries, wheat germ, wheat starch, wheat bran and wheat flour; buckwheat* is OK and is the only exception)



  • Abyssinian hard (a wheat product)
  • Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Cereal binding
  • Cereal extract
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Dinkel
  • Disodium wheatgermamido Peg-2 sulfosuccinate
  • Edible starch
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Filler
  • Fu
  • Granary flour
  • Mir
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Whole-meal flour



If a favorite food contains one of the following ingredients and does not say “gluten-free” on the label, contact the company and ask questions. Depending on the manufacturing process, these questionable ingredients can sometimes be gluten-free.

  • Artificial color
  • Artificial flavoring
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy
  • Caramel color
  • Coloring
  • Dextrins
  • Dried fruit (may be dusted with wheat)
  • Flavored coffee
  • Flavored vinegar
  • Flavoring
  • Food from bulk bins at the grocery store
  • Food starch
  • French fries
  • Glucose syrup
  • Gravy cubes
  • Ground spices (wheat is sometimes added to prevent clumping)
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Ice cream
  • Maltodextrin
  • Maltose
  • Miso
  • Modified starch
  • Monoglycerides and diglycerides
  • Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
  • Mustard powder (some brands contain gluten; check ingredients)
  • Natural flavoring
  • Oats (look specifically for gluten-free)
  • Processed cheese (check ingredients)
  • Processed meats (cold cuts, hot dogs, sausages, and canned meats that contain wheat, barley, rye, oats, gluten fillers or stabilizers)
  • Rice malt
  • Rice syrup
  • Salad dressing
  • Seasonings (including powdered flavorings and dustings on chips, nuts, popcorn, rice mixes, and rice cakes)
  • Smoke flavoring
  • Soba noodles
  • Starch
  • Stock/bouillon cubes
  • Surimi (imitation seafood)
  • Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
  • Vegetable starch
  • Vitamins


Check out my healthy gluten-free shopping list!

Dietary Changes for Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a disorder that damages your small intestine and keeps it from absorbing the nutrients in food. The damage to your intestinal tract is caused by your immune system’s reaction to gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Some oats contain gluten. 

When you have celiac disease, gluten causes your immune system to damage or destroy villi. Villi are the tiny, fingerlike tubules that line your small intestine. The villi’s job is to get food nutrients to the blood through the walls of your small intestine. If villi are destroyed, you may become malnourished, no matter how much you eat. This is because you aren’t able to absorb nutrients. Complications of the disorder include anemia, seizures, joint pain, thinning bones, and cancer.

Lifestyle changes to cope with celiac disease

A gluten-free diet is the only treatment if you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease. You’ll have to avoid gluten for the rest of your life. Even the slightest amount will trigger an immune system reaction that can damage your small intestine. Eating a gluten-free diet requires a new approach to food. A gluten-free diet generally means not eating most grains, pasta, cereals, and processed foods. The reason is that they usually contain wheat, rye, and barley. You’ll need to become an expert at reading ingredient lists on packages. Choose foods that don’t contain gluten. You can still eat a well-balanced diet with many different foods, including meat, fish, rice, fruits, and vegetables, along with prepared foods that are marked gluten-free. 

Gluten-free bread, pasta, and other products have long been available at organic food stores and other specialty food shops. Today, you can find gluten-free products in just about every grocery store. Gluten-free dishes are on menus at all kinds of restaurants.

Tips for following a gluten-free diet

Here are steps to take when getting gluten out of your diet.

Rethink your grains:

  • Avoid all products with barley, rye, triticale (a cross between wheat and rye), farina, graham flour, semolina, and any other kind of flour, including self-rising and durum, not labeled gluten-free.

  • Be careful of corn and rice products. These don’t contain gluten, but they can sometimes be contaminated with wheat gluten if they’re produced in factories that also manufacture wheat products. Look for such a warning on the package label.

  • Go with oats. Recent studies suggest you can eat oats as long as they are not contaminated with wheat gluten during processing. You should check with your healthcare provider first.

  • Substitute potato, rice, soy, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, or bean flour for wheat flour. You can also use sorghum, chickpea or Bengal gram, arrowroot, and corn flour, as well as tapioca starch extract. These act as thickeners and leavening agents.

 Become a label expert:

  • Know terms for hidden gluten. Avoid einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut, wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, and hydrolyzed wheat protein. Stay away from emulsifiers, dextrin, mono- and di-glycerides, seasonings, and caramel colors because they can contain gluten.

  • Check the labels of all foods. Gluten can be found in food items you’d never suspect. Here are some likely to contain gluten:

    • Beer, ale, and lagers

    • Bouillon cubes

    • Brown rice syrup

    • Candy

    • Chips, potato chips

    • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, and sausage

    • Communion wafers

    • French fries

    • Gravy

    • Imitation fish

    • Matzo

    • Rice mixes

    • Sauces

    • Seasoned tortilla chips

    • Self-basting turkey

    • Soups

    • Soy sauce

    • Vegetables in sauce

More strategies for a gluten-free lifestyle

Here are ideas to better make the transition to a gluten-free diet:

  • Separate all kitchen items used for preparing gluten and gluten-free foods. These include cooking utensils, cutting boards, forks, knives, and spoons.

  • When eating out, if you’re not sure about the ingredients in a particular dish, ask the chef how the food was prepared. You can also ask whether a gluten-free menu is available. Most restau­rants have a website where you can review the menu in advance. 

  • Ask your pharmacist if any of your medicines contain wheat or a wheat byproduct. Gluten is used as an additive in many products from medicines to lipstick. Manufacturers can provide a list of ingredients on request if they are not named on the product. Many herbals, vitamins, supplements, and probiotics contain gluten. 

  • Watch your portion sizes. Gluten-free foods may be safe and good for you, but they’re not calorie-free.

If you still feel symptoms on your gluten-free diet, double check that you’re not still consuming small amounts of gluten hidden in sauces, salad dressings, and canned soups or through additives, such as modified food starch, preservatives, and stabilizers made with wheat. Even some medicines can contain gluten. Tablets and capsules can be sources of gluten contamination. The risk of your medicines containing gluten is very small but, if you are concerned, you should discuss this with your healthcare provider. 

As you and your family become experts in reading food and product labels, you’ll be able to find hidden sources of gluten before they can cause a problem. You might also get more ideas from joining a support group, in person or online, that can help you adjust to your new way of life. These are great forums for learning a wealth of delicious recipes for everything from gluten-free cookies and banana bread to biscuits, trail mix, and grits.

Gluten-free diet – Mayo Clinic

Gluten-free diet

To follow a gluten-free diet, you must avoid wheat and some other grains while choosing substitutes that provide nutrients for a healthy diet.

By Mayo Clinic Staff


A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).


A gluten-free diet is essential for managing signs and symptoms of celiac disease and other medical conditions associated with gluten.

A gluten-free diet is also popular among people who haven’t been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical condition. The claimed benefits of the diet are improved health, weight loss and increased energy, but more research is needed.

  • Celiac disease is a condition in which gluten triggers immune system activity that damages the lining of the small intestine. Over time this damage prevents the absorption of nutrients from food. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder.
  • Non-celiac gluten sensitivity causes some signs and symptoms associated with celiac disease — including abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, “foggy brain,” rash or headache — even though there is no damage to the tissues of the small intestine. Studies show that the immune system plays a role, but the process isn’t well understood.
  • Gluten ataxia, an autoimmune disorder, affects certain nerve tissues and causes problems with muscle control and voluntary muscle movement.
  • Wheat allergy, like other food allergies, is the result of the immune system mistaking gluten or some other protein found in wheat as a disease-causing agent, such as a virus or bacterium. The immune system creates an antibody to the protein, prompting an immune system response that may result in congestion, breathing difficulties and other symptoms.

Diet details

Following a gluten-free diet requires paying careful attention to food selections, the ingredients found in foods, and their nutritional content.

Allowed fresh foods

Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet:

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Beans, seeds, legumes and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms
  • Eggs
  • Lean, nonprocessed meats, fish and poultry
  • Most low-fat dairy products

Grains, starches or flours that can be part of a gluten-free diet include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn — cornmeal, grits and polenta labeled gluten-free
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours — rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice, including wild rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca (cassava root)
  • Teff
Grains not allowed

Avoid all foods and drinks containing the following:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale — a cross between wheat and rye
  • Oats, in some cases

While oats are naturally gluten-free, they may be contaminated during production with wheat, barley or rye. Oats and oat products labeled gluten-free have not been cross-contaminated. Some people with celiac disease, however, cannot tolerate the gluten-free-labeled oats.

Wheat terms to know

There are different varieties of wheat, all of which contain wheat gluten:

  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Kamut
  • Spelt

Wheat flours have different names based on how the wheat is milled or the flour is processed. All of the following flours have gluten:

  • Enriched flour with added vitamins and minerals
  • Farina, milled wheat usually used in hot cereals
  • Graham flour, a course whole-wheat flour
  • Self-rising flour, also called phosphate flour
  • Semolina, the part of milled wheat used in pasta and couscous
Gluten-free food labels

When you are buying processed foods, you need to read labels to determine if they contain gluten. Foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or triticale — or an ingredient derived from them — must be labeled with the name of the grain in the label’s content list.

Foods that are labeled gluten-free, according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, must have fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Foods with these labels may include:

  • Naturally gluten-free food
  • A prepared food that doesn’t have a gluten-containing ingredient
  • Food that has not been cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during production
  • Food with a gluten-containing ingredient that has been processed to remove gluten

Alcoholic beverages made from naturally gluten-free ingredients, such as grapes or juniper berries, can be labeled gluten-free.

An alcoholic beverage made from a gluten-containing grain (wheat, barley, rye and hybrid grains such as triticale) can carry a label stating the beverage was “processed,” “treated” or “crafted” to remove gluten. However, the label must state that gluten content cannot be determined and the beverage may contain some gluten. These beverages may not be labeled gluten-free.

Processed foods that often contain gluten

In addition to foods in which wheat, barley and rye are likely ingredients, these grains are standard ingredients in a number of other products. Also, wheat or wheat gluten is added as a thickening or binding agent, flavoring, or coloring. It’s important to read labels of processed foods to determine if they contain wheat, as well as barley and rye.

In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Breads
  • Bulgur wheat
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Malt, malt flavoring and other malt products (barley)
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Hot dogs and processed lunchmeats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat)
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups, bouillon or soup mixes
  • Vegetables in sauce
Medications and supplements

Prescription and over-the-counter medications may use wheat gluten as a binding agent. Talk to your doctor or pharmacists about the drugs you’re taking. Dietary supplements that contain wheat gluten must have “wheat” stated on the label.

Eating gluten-free at home and in restaurants

For people with celiac disease, in particular, it’s important to avoid exposure to gluten. The following tips can help you prevent cross-contamination in your own food preparations at home and avoid gluten-containing food when you eat out:

  • Store gluten-free and gluten-containing foods in different places.
  • Keep cooking surfaces and food storage areas clean.
  • Wash dishes and cooking equipment thoroughly.
  • Toast bread in the oven — or consider separate toasters — to avoid cross-contamination.
  • Read restaurant menus online ahead of time if possible to be sure there are options for you.
  • Eat out early or late when a restaurant is less busy and better able to address your needs.


Keeping a strict gluten-free diet is a lifelong necessity for people with celiac disease. Following the diet and avoiding cross-contamination results in fewer symptoms and complications of the disease.

For some people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the condition may not be lifelong. Some research suggests that you may follow the diet for a certain period, such as one or two years, and then retest your sensitivity to gluten. For other people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the diet may be a lifelong treatment.

Some clinical studies have looked at the benefits of the diet among people who do not have celiac disease or who have non-celiac gluten sensitivity. More research is needed to determine the accuracy of the following claims about the diet’s results:

  • Weight loss
  • Overall improved health
  • Improved gastrointestinal health
  • Improved athletic performance


The foods not included in a gluten-free diet provide important vitamins and other nutrients. For example, whole-grain breads and other products are natural or enriched sources of the following:

  • Iron
  • Calcium
  • Fiber
  • Thiamin
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Folate

Therefore, following a gluten-free diet will likely change your nutrient intake. Some gluten-free breads and cereals have significantly varied nutrient levels compared with the products they are replacing.

Some gluten-free foods also have higher fat and sugar contents than the gluten-containing food being replaced. It’s important to read labels, not only for gluten content but also for overall nutrient levels, salt, calories from fats and calories from sugars.

You can talk to your doctor or dietitian about foods that would provide healthy, nutrient-rich alternatives.


The costs of prepared gluten-free foods are generally higher than the cost of the foods being replaced. The expense of following a gluten-free diet can be substantial, especially if your diet includes foods that aren’t naturally gluten-free.

March 18, 2021

Show references

  1. Questions and answers: Gluten-free food labeling final rule. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362880. htm. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  2. Ciacci C, et al. The gluten-free diet and its current application in coeliac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis. United European Gastroenterology. 2015; doi:10.11772050640614559263.
  3. Freeman AM, et al. Trending cardiovascular nutrition controversies. Journal of the Americal College of Cardiology. 2017; doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2016.10.086.
  4. Newberry C, et al. Going gluten free: The history and nutritional implications of today’s most popular diet. Current Gastroenterology Reports. 2017; doi:10.1007/s11894-017-0597-2.
  5. Gluten-free diet. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  6. Ehteshami M, et al. The effect of gluten free diet on components of metabolic syndrome: A randomized clinical trial. Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention. 2018; doi:10.22034/APJCP.2018.19.10.2979.
  7. Fry L, et al. An investigation into the nutritional composition and cost of gluten-free versus regular food products in the UK. Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics. 2018; doi:10.1111/jhn.12502.
  8. Leonard MM, et al. Celiac disease and nonceliac gluten sensitivity: A review. JAMA. 2017; doi:10.1001/jama.2017.9730.
  9. Mitoma H, et al. Immune-mediated cerebellar ataxias: From bench to bedside. Cerebellum & Ataxias. 2017; doi:10.1186/s40673-017-0073-7.
  10. Zis P, et al. Treatment of neurological manifestations of gluten sensitivity and coeliac disease. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s11940-019-0552-7.
  11. Celiac disease healthy eating tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  12. Celiac disease nutrition therapy. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  13. Celiac disease label reading tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual. org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  14. Revised interim policy on gluten content statements in the labeling and advertising of wine, distilled spirits, and malt beverages. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. https://www.ttb.gov/images/pdfs/rulings/2014-2.pdf. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  15. Duyff RL. Cope with food allergies and other food sensitivies. In: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. 5th ed. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2017.
  16. Lee AR, et al. Persistent economic burden of the gluten free diet. Nutritents. 2019; doi: 10.3390/nu11020399.

See more In-depth


How to Go Gluten-Free & Get Proper Nutrition with Celiac Disease

Celiac disease has just one clear treatment: Say goodbye to gluten. It sounds simple, but can feel overwhelming. Isn’t gluten in everything?

It may feel that way at first. Because celiac affects nearly 3 million Americans, gluten-free labeling is now the norm. You can find gluten-free foods on menus, grocery store shelves, and right in your own refrigerator.

That doesn’t mean it’s easy. Going gluten-free means rethinking how you shop, cook, and order in restaurants. With education and effort, you can make confident choices about foods that taste good and are good for you.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein in wheat, barley, and rye. When those grains and the ingredients made from them (flour) are used to make foods — like pasta, cereals, and bread — gluten is the “glue” that holds them together.

How Does Gluten Affect People with Celiac?

Celiac is a genetic autoimmune disease. When you eat a food with gluten, the protein attacks the villi, or little fingers that line your small intestine. Without the help of healthy villi, your body can’t absorb nutrients into the bloodstream.

This causes digestive issues and malnourishment, especially when iron, calcium, and vitamin D aren’t being absorbed. If it’s not dealt with, celiac can cause other long-term conditions, such as neurological disorders and osteoporosis. It could also trigger the start of thyroid disease.

Should I Get Expert Help?

Support is essential. Ask your doctor to refer you to a registered dietitian who specializes in celiac. A dietitian can show you how to:

  • Understand food and product labels.
  • Customize gluten-free meal plans and recipes.
  • Stay on top of nutritional deficiencies.
  • Be aware of conditions associated with celiac.

What Can I Eat?

A gluten-free diet isn’t as limited as you might think. In addition to prepared foods with gluten-free labels, the following foods are naturally gluten-free and the can be foundation of healthy celiac diets:

  • Beef
  • Poultry and eggs
  • Fish and seafood
  • Beans, legumes, and nuts
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables

Though you have to avoid wheat, barley, and rye, naturally gluten-free grains do exist. Use these to replace the big three:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat groats (also called kasha)
  • Cassava
  • Chia
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Millet
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Soy
  • Sorghum
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Yucca

What Should I Avoid?

Take a deep breath. Though the list below may contain some of your favorite foods, many have gluten-free counterparts:

  • Beer
  • Bread and pastries (cakes, cookies, croutons, flour tortillas, pies, stuffing)
  • Some breakfast foods (pancakes, waffles, biscuits, French toast)
  • Cereal and granola
  • Crackers (pretzels, graham crackers)
  • Food coloring
  • Noodles (ramen, soba, udon)
  • Pasta
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces and gravies
  • Soups

Wheat, barley, and rye can appear in various forms and varieties, all of which contain gluten as well. Be sure to look out for these on food product labels:


  • Wheatberries
  • Durum
  • Einkorn wheat
  • Emmer (or farro)
  • Farina
  • Graham
  • Kamut khorasan wheat
  • Semolina
  • Spelt



Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)


  • Malted barley flour
  • Malted milk / malted milkshakes
  • Malt extract
  • Malt syrup
  • Malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar

Brewer’s yeast

Wheat starch

Are Oats Safe?

Oats are tricky territory. Despite their nutritional benefits, and the variety they offer celiac diets, oats are often grown near wheat, barley, and rye. This opens the door to cross-contamination.

Check with your doctor or dietitian about oats labeled gluten-free.

Reading Food Labels

Knowing how to read food labels is the most important part of a successful gluten-free diet. Grocery store aisles are the battleground in the fight against gluten. Take these tips with you:

  • Manufacturers can label food gluten-free if it has less than 20 ppm (parts per million) gluten. This means it’s safe, but double-check the ingredient list.
  • Gluten goes by many names. Wheat, barley, and rye are sure to stand out in an ingredient list, but look for lesser-known derivatives like malt flavoring or graham.
  • Wheat-free doesn’t mean gluten-free.
  • When in doubt, leave it out. This is a well-worn phrase in the world of gluten-free foods. No cracker is more important than your health.
  • Labels won’t replace common sense. Remember that naturally gluten-free foods like bottled water or green beans won’t always be labeled gluten-free.
  • Still not sure? Call the company that produced the food or check their website. Have the SKU number from the scanner pattern on hand for easy reference.

Kitchen Smarts

When gluten-free food comes into contact with a food that has gluten, cross-contact occurs. Make sure these home hot spots are used only for gluten-free foods:

  • Toasters
  • Colanders
  • Convection ovens
  • Flour sifters
  • Sponges, dishcloths
  • Containers
  • Utensils
  • Pots, pans, skillets
  • Grills, griddles, presses, irons
  • Fryers
  • Cutting boards
  • Shelves in your refrigerator and pantry

Coeliac disease – Treatment – NHS

Coeliac disease is usually treated by simply excluding foods that contain gluten from your diet.

This prevents damage to the lining of your intestines (gut) and the associated symptoms, such as diarrhoea and stomach pain.

If you have coeliac disease, you must give up all sources of gluten for life. Your symptoms will return if you eat foods containing gluten, and it will cause long-term damage to your health.

This may sound daunting, but your GP can give you help and advice about ways to manage your diet. Your symptoms should improve considerably within weeks of starting a gluten-free diet. However, it may take up to 2 years for your digestive system to heal completely.

Your GP will offer you an annual review during which your height and weight will be measured and your symptoms reviewed. They’ll also ask you about your diet and assess whether you need any further help or specialist nutritional advice.

A gluten-free diet

When you’re first diagnosed with coeliac disease, you’ll be referred to a dietitian to help you adjust to your new diet without gluten. They can also ensure your diet is balanced and contains all the nutrients you need.

If you have coeliac disease, you’ll no longer be able to eat foods that contain barley, rye or wheat, including farina, graham flour, semolina, durum, cous cous and spelt.

Even if you only consume a small amount of gluten, such as a spoonful of pasta, you may have very unpleasant intestinal symptoms. If you keep consuming gluten regularly, you’ll also be at greater risk of developing osteoporosis and cancer in later life.

Read more about complications of coeliac disease.

As a protein, gluten is not essential to your diet and can be replaced by other foods. Many gluten-free alternatives are widely available in supermarkets and health food shops, including pasta, pizza bases and bread. Some GPs may provide gluten-free foods on prescription.

Many basic foods – such as meat, vegetables, cheese, potatoes and rice – are naturally free from gluten so you can still include them in your diet. Your dietitian can help you identify which foods are safe to eat and which are not. If you’re unsure, use the lists below as a general guide.

Foods containing gluten (unsafe to eat)

If you have coeliac disease, do not eat the following foods, unless they’re labelled as gluten-free versions:

  • bread
  • pasta
  • cereals
  • biscuits or crackers
  • cakes and pastries
  • pies
  • gravies and sauces

It’s important to always check the labels of the foods you buy. Many foods – particularly those that are processed – contain gluten in additives, such as malt flavouring and modified food starch.

Gluten may also be found in some non-food products, including lipstick, postage stamps and some types of medication.

Cross-contamination can occur if gluten-free foods and foods that contain gluten are prepared together or served with the same utensils.

Gluten-free foods (safe to eat)

If you have coeliac disease, you can eat the following foods, which naturally do not contain gluten:

  • most dairy products, such as cheese, butter and milk
  • fruit and vegetables
  • meat and fish (although not breaded or battered)
  • potatoes
  • rice and rice noodles
  • gluten-free flours, including rice, corn, soy and potato

By law, food labelled as gluten free can contain no more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

For most people with coeliac disease, these trace amounts of gluten will not cause a problem. However, a small number of people are unable to tolerate even trace amounts of gluten and need to have a diet completely free from cereals.

The Coeliac UK website has more about the law on gluten-free, as well as information and advice about a gluten-free diet and lifestyle.


Oats do not contain gluten, but many people with coeliac disease avoid eating them because they can become contaminated with other cereals that contain gluten.

There’s also some evidence to suggest that a very small number of people may still be sensitive to products that are gluten-free and do not contain contaminated oats. This is because oats contain a protein called avenin, which is suitable for the majority of people with coeliac disease, but may trigger symptoms in a few cases.

If, after discussing this with your healthcare professional, you want to include oats in your diet, check the oats are pure and that there’s no possibility contamination could have occurred.

You should avoid eating oats until your gluten-free diet has taken full effect and your symptoms have been resolved. Once you’re symptom free, gradually reintroduce oats into your diet. If you develop symptoms again, stop eating oats.

Advice on feeding your baby

Do not introduce gluten into your baby’s diet before they’re 6 months old. Breast milk is naturally gluten free as are all infant milk formulas.

If you have coeliac disease, Coeliac UK recommends foods containing gluten are introduced gradually when a child is 6 months old. This should be carefully monitored. 

The Coeliac UK website provides support for parents.

Other treatments 

As well as eliminating foods that contain gluten from your diet, a number of other treatments are available for coeliac disease. These are described below.


In some people, coeliac disease can cause the spleen to work less effectively, making you more vulnerable to infection.

You may therefore need to have extra vaccinations, including:

However, if your spleen is unaffected by coeliac disease, these vaccinations are not usually necessary.


As well as cutting gluten out of your diet, your GP or dietitian may also recommend you take vitamin and mineral supplements, at least for the first 6 months after your diagnosis.

This will ensure you get all the nutrients you need while your digestive system repairs itself. Taking supplements can also help correct any deficiencies, such as anaemia.

Dermatitis herpetiformis

If you have dermatitis herpetiformis (an itchy rash that can be caused by gluten intolerance), cutting gluten out of your diet should clear it up.

However, it can sometimes take longer for a gluten-free diet to clear the rash than it does to control your other symptoms, such as diarrhoea and stomach pain.

If this is the case, you may be prescribed medication to speed up the healing time of the rash. It’s likely that this will be a medicine called Dapsone, which is usually taken orally (in tablet form) twice a day.

Dapsone can cause side effects, such as headaches and depression, so you’ll always be prescribed the lowest effective dose.

You may need to take medication for up to 2 years to control dermatitis herpetiformis. After this time, you should have been following a gluten-free diet long enough for the rash to be controlled without the need for medication.

Refractory coeliac disease

Refractory coeliac disease is a rarer type of coeliac disease where the symptoms continue, even after switching to a gluten-free diet. The reasons for this are unclear.

It’s estimated that around 1 in every 140 people with coeliac disease will develop the refractory form of the condition.

If refractory coeliac disease is suspected, it’s likely you’ll be referred for a series of tests to make sure your symptoms are not being caused by another condition.

If no other cause can be found and the diagnosis is confirmed, you’ll be referred to a specialist. Treatment options include steroid medication (corticosteroids), such as prednisolone, which help block the harmful effects of the immune system.

Page last reviewed: 03 December 2019
Next review due: 03 December 2022

Eating, Diet, & Nutrition for Celiac Disease

On this page:

How will I need to change my diet if I have celiac disease?

If you have celiac disease, you will need to remove foods and drinks that contain gluten from your diet. Following a gluten-free diet can relieve celiac disease symptoms and heal damage to the small intestine. People with celiac disease need to follow a gluten-free diet for life to prevent symptoms and intestinal damage from coming back. Your doctor or a registered dietitian can guide you on what to eat and drink to maintain a balanced diet.

If you or your child has been diagnosed with celiac disease, you may find support groups helpful as you learn about and adjust to a gluten-free lifestyle. Your doctor or a registered dietitian may be able to recommend support groups and other reliable sources of information.

What foods and drinks contain gluten?

Gluten occurs naturally in certain grains, including

  • wheat and types of wheat, such as durum, emmer, semolina, and spelt
  • barley, which may be found in malt, malt extract, malt vinegar, and brewer’s yeast
  • rye
  • triticale, a cross between wheat and rye

Gluten is found in foods that contain ingredients made from these grains, including baked goods, baking mixes, breads, cereals, and pastas. Drinks such as beer, lagers, ale, flavored liquors, and malt beverages may also contain gluten.

Many food ingredients and additives—such as colorings, flavorings, starches, and thickeners—are made from grains that contain gluten. These ingredients are added to many processed foods, including foods that are boxed, canned, frozen, packaged, or prepared. Therefore, gluten may be found in a variety of foods, including candy, condiments, hot dogs and sausages, ice cream, salad dressing, and soups.


Cross-contact occurs when foods or products that contain gluten come into contact with gluten-free foods. Cross-contact can spread gluten to gluten-free foods, making the gluten-free foods unsafe for people with celiac disease to consume. Cross-contact can occur at any time, including when foods are grown, processed, stored, prepared, or served.

How can I identify and avoid foods and drinks that contain gluten?

A registered dietitian can help you learn to identify and avoid foods and drinks that contain gluten when you shop, prepare foods at home, or eat out.

For example, when you shop and eat at home

  • carefully read food labels to check for grains that contain gluten—such as wheat, barley, and rye—and ingredients or additives made from those grains.
  • check for gluten-free food labeling.
  • don’t eat foods if you aren’t sure whether they contain gluten. If possible, contact the company that makes the food or visit the company’s website for more information.
  • store and prepare your gluten-free foods separately from other family members’ foods that contain gluten to prevent cross-contact.

When you eat out at restaurants or social gatherings

  • before you go out to eat, search online for restaurants that offer a gluten-free menu.
  • review restaurant menus online or call ahead to make sure a restaurant can accommodate you safely.
  • at the restaurant, let the server know that you have celiac disease. Ask about food ingredients, how food is prepared, and whether a gluten-free menu is available. Ask to talk with the chef if you would like more details about the menu.
  • when attending social gatherings, let the host know you have celiac disease and find out if gluten-free foods will be available. If not, or if you are unsure, bring gluten-free foods that are safe for you to eat.

What should I eat if I have celiac disease?

If you have celiac disease, you will need to follow a gluten-free diet. Your doctor and a registered dietitian can help you plan a healthy, balanced diet to make sure that you get the nutrients you need.

Gluten-free foods

Many foods, such as meat, fish, fruits, vegetables, rice, and potatoes, without additives or some seasonings, are naturally gluten-free. Flour made from gluten-free foods, such as potatoes, rice, corn, soy, nuts, cassava, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, or beans are safe to eat.

You can also buy packaged gluten-free foods, such as gluten-free types of baked goods, bread, and pasta. These foods are available from many grocery stores, restaurants, and at specialty food companies. Packaged gluten-free foods tend to cost more than the same foods that have gluten, and restaurants may charge more for gluten-free types of foods.

Talk with your doctor or a registered dietitian about whether you should include oats in your diet and how much. Research suggests that most people with celiac disease can safely eat moderate amounts of oats. If you do eat oats, make sure they are gluten-free. Cross-contact between oats and grains that contain gluten is common and can make oats unsafe for people with celiac disease.

Many foods are naturally gluten-free.

Gluten-free labeling

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requires that foods labeled “gluten-free” meet specific standards. One requirement is that foods with the terms “gluten-free,” “no gluten,” “free of gluten,” or “without gluten” on the label must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. This amount of gluten is too small to cause problems in most people with celiac disease.

The FDA rule does not apply to foods regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, including meat, poultry, and some egg products. The rule also does not apply to most alcoholic beverages, which are regulated by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Should I start a gluten-free diet before I talk with my doctor?

No. If you think you might have celiac disease, you should talk with your doctor about testing to diagnose celiac disease before you begin a gluten-free diet. If you avoid gluten before you have testing, the test results may not be accurate.

Also, if you start avoiding gluten without advice from a doctor or a registered dietitian, your diet may not provide enough of the nutrients you need, such as fiber, iron, and calcium. Some packaged gluten-free foods may be higher in fat and sugar than the same foods that contain gluten. If you are diagnosed with celiac disease, your doctor and dietitian can help you plan a healthy gluten-free diet.

If you don’t have celiac disease or another health problem related to gluten, your doctor may not recommend a gluten-free diet. In recent years, more people without celiac disease have begun avoiding gluten, believing that a gluten-free diet is healthier or could help them lose weight. However, researchers have found no evidence that a gluten-free diet promotes better health or weight loss for the general population.8


[8] Gaesser GA, Angadi SS. Navigating the gluten-free boom. Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. 2015;28(8):10. doi: 10.1097/01.JAA.0000469434.67572.a4

90,000 Gluten-free food for celiac disease: special diet, gluten-free food

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease , consisting in intolerance to gluten (alcohol-soluble proteins of the endosperm of the grain of a number of cereals). In celiac disease, there is damage to the mucous membrane and dysfunction of the small intestine. The only treatment is a gluten-free diet, sometimes accompanied by drug therapy. Gluten-free nutrition (elimination of gluten from the diet) leads to the restoration of the mucous membrane.

Gluten-free foods for celiac disease

Avoid foods containing both overt and latent gluten and switch to a gluten-free diet if you are diagnosed with celiac disease. The former include: wheat, rye, barley , as well as products containing them. In addition, it may be necessary to exclude oats that are considered potentially toxic. Only special gluten-free oats can be used.

products containing hidden gluten do not contain gluten-containing components, but they may contain it.These include:

  • sausages, sausages, semi-finished products, canned food
  • yoghurts, ice cream, processed cheese
  • margarine
  • table vinegar, sauces, mayonnaise
  • instant soups and purees
  • chips
  • muesli, cereal with barley molasses
  • sweets, chocolate, oriental sweets
  • food additives (E160b, E150a – E150d, E636, E953, E965)
  • kvass, malt whiskey, beer

Give preference to natural products and homemade dishes – and your food will be gluten-free.

Non-toxic cereals include rice, buckwheat, millet and corn. Gluten-free foods also include legumes, nuts, milk and dairy products, meat, fish, fruits and vegetables.

You can include gluten-free sweets, pasta, and baked goods in your meals. Try to buy foods labeled “gluten-free.” These products have been tested and are safe for the health of people with celiac disease. Even if you buy buckwheat or cornbread, the composition of which is not suspicious, there may be an admixture of other cereals in them.

Gluten-free nutrition (diet) for celiac disease in children does not differ significantly from the diet for celiac disease in adults, the main thing is a balanced and varied menu that will provide the growing body with all the necessary substances.

Eating tasty and healthy for celiac disease is possible. See for yourself: check out our gluten-free recipes or specialty gluten-free products.

Gluten-free food. Products:

Nutritional advice for people with celiac disease

Celiac disease is a common hereditary disease that affects the small intestine when eating food containing gluten.

Gluten (gluten) is a special type of water-insoluble proteins contained in cereal grains and intended for germination and nutrition of plant embryos. In cooking, gluten gives the elasticity to the dough and the fluffiness of the baked goods. Most of all gluten is found in modern wheat and its more ancient types (spelled, spelled and kamut), as well as in barley and rye. Oats are gluten free, but oatmeal often contains wheat, so for celiac disease, oat products can only be used with gluten-free labeling.

Learn more about celiac disease :

Celiac disease affects not only children, but also adults, the disease can manifest itself can manifest itself in a variety of symptoms and proceed in a latent atypical form.

The main signs of celiac disease

  1. Abdominal pain, flatulence, bloating, nausea.
  2. Loose, loose stools, diarrhea or constipation.
  3. Weight loss, excessive thinness, difficulty gaining weight and muscle mass.
  4. You can also be overweight.
  5. Muscle weakness, loss of strength, headaches, joint pain, osteoporosis.
  6. Rash, dermatitis, psoriasis, dry skin, brittle nails, hair loss.
  7. Menstrual irregularities, miscarriage, male and female infertility, decreased potency and libido, hormonal disorders.
  8. Anemia, vitamin deficiency.

Due to the variety of symptoms, the diagnosis of celiac disease and gluten intolerance in adults is a complex multi-stage process, the diagnosis is made by a doctor based on the totality of the results of all examinations.

The main treatment for celiac disease is constant adherence to a gluten-free diet. In addition to diet, especially at the initial stage of treatment, patients with celiac disease need additional drug therapy. It is important that the therapeutic effect of adhering to the diet occurs within 3-6 months, but noticeable improvements may already begin in the first weeks.

Diagnosis of celiac disease in more detail:

Attention !!! Do not exclude foods with gluten before consulting a doctor, as excluding gluten, despite temporary improvement, can subsequently exacerbate and distort the test results for diagnosis.

Diet and lifestyle for people with celiac disease

If you have completed all the necessary examinations and are diagnosed with celiac disease, I suggest using the following tips.

The transition to a gluten-free diet is an important stage in a person’s life with the formation of a new lifestyle and dietary habits. This is a difficult process, however, all the difficulties are compensated for by improving your well-being and getting rid of problems that bother you for years, as well as reducing the risk of cancer of the gastrointestinal tract (especially if relatives had a similar problem).For support of adaptation to a new lifestyle and diet, you can contact the GC “Expert”.

Difficulties in adhering to a gluten-free diet are associated with:

  • with accidental ingestion of gluten in food;
  • the presence of hidden gluten in products due to violations of the rules for their labeling;
  • contamination of cereals, flour and other products with traces of gluten;
  • 90,018 difficulties in finding gluten-free products;

  • lack of support and understanding from other people.

According to the EU regulation gluten-free products are considered if the gluten content does not exceed 20 ppm (20 mg of gluten per kg of finished product).

It is impossible to break a gluten-free diet, as scientific studies have confirmed that if you eat more than 50 mg of gluten per day (500 g of food with a gluten content of more than 20 ppm) for three months or a single intake of large amounts of gluten leads to intestinal damage and return disturbing symptoms.

How to compose a gluten-free menu

In terms of gluten content, we can divide all foods and drinks into 4 categories :

1. Foods that are definitely gluten free

Products from this category can be safely eaten without restriction.

Fresh meat and poultry

All dishes made from beef, lean pork, lamb, chicken, turkey without additives and sauces containing gluten.

Fresh fish and seafood, eggs

All meals prepared without additives or sauces containing gluten.


All meals prepared without additives or sauces containing gluten.

Vegetables and fruits

Fresh and cooked without additives or sauces containing gluten.

Vegetable and animal oils

Butter, sunflower, olive, corn, etc.d.

Flour, starch, pasta, dumplings, baked goods, desserts and sweets

From rice, corn, quinoa, amaranth with gluten-free labeling (picture with a crossed ear and number) of Russian and foreign manufacturers specializing in the production of such products. The assortment of gluten-free products can be found on the websites of specialty stores. Pay attention to the packaging of the goods, the product you need should be marked with a crossed-out spike with a number under it!

2.Foods and drinks that definitely contain gluten

For the treatment of celiac disease, these foods and drinks must be excluded !!!

Flour, starch, bread, baked goods, pasta, muesli, dumplings, sweets, rusks from wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelled, kamut spelled, triticale, durum.

Cereals, baby cereals: pearl barley, barley groats, wheat, semolina, “ wheat ”, couscous, bulgur, frike, oatmeal.

Sweets, chocolate with waffle chips.

Sauces soy sauce and others.

Drinks kvass , jelly , alcoholic beverages (beer, vodka, whiskey).

Food additives : caramel colors E-150a – E-150d (confectionery, coca-cola, bread, baked goods, dairy products), maltol E-636 (chocolate, essences, soft drinks, fruit and vegetable canned food, bakery products , tea, coffee, cocoa), isomaltol E-953 – a sweetener (dairy, fruit, egg-fat and grain desserts, popsicles, ice cream, jelly candies, marmalade, jam, glazed fruits), maltitol and maltitol syrup E-965 (sugar-free sweets, medicines), mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids E471 (confectionery and dairy products, margarine)

Foods that may contain gluten and foods with hidden gluten (gluten content not indicated on the label)

Dairy products without sugar and fillers : kefir, fermented baked milk, cottage cheese, sour cream, natural yoghurt without additives, soft and hard cheese.

Recommendations: These dairy products can be checked with an iodine test (if iodine is dropped on a sample of the product and the iodine changes color, it means that the product contains flour or starch and cannot be eaten). Also read the composition carefully.

Sweet dairy products : curd mass, filled yoghurts, ice cream, curd snacks.

Recommendations: delete or follow the algorithm below.

Chips, flakes, croutons : corn, rice flakes and croutons, chips, French fries.

Recommendations: delete or follow the algorithm below.

Ready-made meat and fish semi-finished products in any form : semi-finished products from minced meat and fish, semi-finished products in breading, sauces.

Recommendations: exclude, except for self-prepared.

Sausages : ham, boiled sausages, sausages, pates.

Recommendations: delete or follow the algorithm below.

Canned food : canned meat, fish, canned vegetables and legumes, industrial jam.

Recommendations: delete.

Imitation seafood : “crab sticks”, “crab meat”

Recommendations: delete.

Sauces : tomato paste, ketchup, mustard, salad dressing, vinegar, mayonnaise. Recommendations: exclude or act according to the algorithm below the table

Seasonings: ground one-component and multicomponent dry seasonings and spices.

Recommendations: delete.

Sweets : chocolate bars, caramel, chocolate and soy candies with filling, oriental sweets, marshmallows, marshmallows.

Recommendations: exclude or proceed according to the algorithm below the table

Drinks : juices with pulp, instant coffee, cocoa, tea, hot chocolate.

Recommendations: delete.

Algorithm for using products of the third category:

  1. Find a similar product with a gluten-free label.
  2. If you cannot find a gluten-free analogue, check the composition on the package, check the composition of the product and the availability of gluten from the manufacturer. If you are not sure, then it is better to exclude the product.
  3. Look for the product you are looking for in gluten-free stores where you can buy products in this section that are more likely to be gluten-free. Store employees conduct periodic spot checks on unlabeled products and check the composition with the manufacturer.
  4. Check the celiac disease community for information on the ingredients of this product, where you can find information on gluten-free manufacturers and products in this category.Be sure to read the composition on the packaging of products from the list found before each use, sometimes the manufacturer changes the composition or manufacturing conditions and traces of gluten appear in previously approved products.

Products manufactured in the EU are subject to stricter controls, so the composition indicated on the packaging of such products can be trusted more. In Russia, the situation has improved recently, but there are still many products with an unspecified content of wheat flour and starch and their derivatives.

Care should be taken when choosing medicines , carefully read the composition of medicines before purchasing. Coated and uncoated tablets, dragees, powders, granules may contain wheat flour and starch as a form-forming component, which, with prolonged use or persisting inflammation in the intestine in the early stages of therapy, can cause undesirable consequences. Alert doctors before making a prescription that you have celiac disease .

In addition, gluten can be found in toothpaste and lipstick .

Attention !!! In all cases, by using products in this section, other than those that are gluten-free or those that can be tested with iodine, you are at risk of dieting.

4. Products with traces of gluten

These products were not prepared with gluten-containing raw materials, but they may have been produced on the same production line as gluten-containing products. Usually, manufacturers indicate such information on the label, but they may not indicate, in addition, not all factories for the manufacture and packaging of products have a high degree of purification of raw materials from impurities.

Permitted cereals : rice, millet, quinoa, buckwheat.

Recommendations: rinse all cereals several times in running water before cooking, and pre-sort buckwheat and rice, as they may contain single wheat grains. Buckwheat should contain a minimum of broken grains and dust. Also, to improve the quality, the cereal can be poured with cold water, brought to a boil and drained, and then added new and cooked.

Legumes : Peas, beans and other legumes.

Recommendations: rinse several times before cooking in running water, carefully read the instructions on the packaging, recently, manufacturers have been obliged to indicate whether there are traces of gluten in the legumes.

Flakes for preparing cereals : rice, millet, buckwheat

Recommendations: delete.

Flour : from corn, rice, legumes, nuts, flax without special marking

Recommendations: delete.

Seeds and nuts, dried fruits : peeled seeds, any nuts and dried fruits

Recommendations: exclude seeds and dried fruits, wash the nuts several times before use

Frozen vegetables : Any ready-made frozen vegetables

Recommendations: delete.

Sweets : chocolate, sweets.

Recommendations: delete.

Over time, it is worth choosing a manufacturer of approved cereals, whose raw materials, in your experience, have fewer impurities.

All products with traces of gluten, except for permitted cereals, legumes and nuts, are not recommended. Flour can only be used with special gluten-free labeling or the one sold in specialty gluten-free stores.

Manufacturers of gluten-free products

Recently, the range of gluten-free products in Russia has significantly expanded, but not all Russian manufacturers have passed certification for compliance with gluten content standards, which is introduced by the society of celiac patients “Emilia”.

Russian manufacturers:

  • Garnets
  • Diet
  • Diet product
  • McMaster
  • First Baby Food Complex
  • Di & Di
  • Korner and others.

Foreign manufacturers:

  • Almondy (frozen cakes)
  • Balviten
  • Bezgluten
  • Shar
  • Gullon
  • Le Veneziane
  • Mevalia
  • Provena
  • Sotelli and others.

How to prepare and store food

If you cook gluten-free and gluten-free meals at home, we recommend that you adhere to the following safety rules:

  • Store all gluten-free foods separately.
  • Wash dishes thoroughly after cooking with gluten.
  • Do not use one knife to cut gluten-free or gluten-free foods, the same applies to using other kitchen utensils. It is best to have separate cutting boards for gluten-free foods.
  • If you have handled regular bread or other gluten-free pastries, wash your hands before eating.
  • To prevent wheat flour dust from getting into gluten-free baked goods, it is better to cook them separately or before baking with wheat flour.
  • Do not use the same butter to spread on gluten-free and gluten-free bread, as crumbs can get into it.

For cooking, you can use special gluten-free recipes or adapt the usual ones.Semolina and crackers can be replaced with rice flour or rice crumbs; rice flour is best for rolling. More delicious pastries are obtained from special b / g mixtures, you can buy ready-made or make them yourself.

Products can be found in specialty stores and large chain stores have small gluten-free sections.

Disruption of the diet. What to do?

Anyone can break off a gluten-free diet, so don’t panic and get back to the hard diet as soon as possible (gluten-free foods from the first category)!

As a rule, failure can occur for many reasons, which include:

  • food habits formed over the years and the associated difficulties of transition to a new diet;
  • psychological difficulties in the initial stages after diagnosis;
  • misunderstanding and provocations from others;
  • Unfair product labeling by the manufacturer.

Going on a visit, going on a picnic or on vacation (provoking smells of prohibited foods and situations of a feast) can especially affect adherence to a gluten-free diet.

With an abrupt transition from a gluten-free diet to a regular diet in celiac patients, the complaints preceding the gluten-free diet are just as abruptly renewed and even intensified. If the patient continues to consume foods with gluten, progressive damage to the mucous membrane of the small intestine develops and subsequent malabsorption in the intestine, which leads to the development of anemia, osteoporosis, hypo-avitaminosis, and hormonal disorders.In addition, the risk of cancer of the gastrointestinal tract increases.

If you find yourself in such circumstances and are faced with a deterioration in health, gastroenterologist-nutritionist GC “Expert” will provide you with all the necessary support and will help you cope with recurrent symptoms of the disease .

How to eat outside the home?

Nowadays, the emergence of cafes and restaurants with gluten-free meals has made it easier to have lunch or dinner outside the home.If you are unable to find gluten-free food nearby when ordering meals, check with your waiter or cook if your chosen dish contains wheat flour or starch. What is better to choose: vegetable salads without sauce, vinaigrette, vegetable soup, broth, natural meat or fish without additives and sauces, rice, natural potatoes. The simpler the meal you choose, the less likely it is to contain gluten.

When visiting, use the same principles, do not hesitate to ask the owners of the menu and the composition of the products in advance, bring along b / g bread or other pastries.

Gluten-free cafes and restaurants (includes those with dishes with non-g labeling)

  • “A pound of raisins” (a cafe with completely gluten-free cuisine) Available dumplings, pancakes, dumplings, b / g pastries in a wide range.
  • Benois Farm (so far the only restaurant in the city with certified gluten-free cuisine) Prices are above average, there is a shop where you can buy b / g bread and dumplings.
  • Gluten-Free Kitchen Territory, production and delivery of gluten-free meals to order.

Please note that you need to check with the waiter and the chef the composition of the dishes and the method of their preparation in any case , even if the dishes are gluten-free. Sometimes restaurateurs put this badge only because the cooked dish does not explicitly contain products from wheat, rye, barley or other cereals, but the products have not been tested for gluten content.

Be careful !!! Eating out is always at risk of breaking your gluten-free diet.

If symptoms persist or do not completely disappear

Carefully check the ingredients of the products you are using, perhaps some of them contain latent gluten, and try to follow the diet more strictly.

If you follow a strict diet for six months, and there is no improvement, you need to contact a gastroenterologist-nutritionist at the Expert HC to clarify the diagnosis and decide on the appointment of additional treatment.At your appointment, your doctor will work with you to assess the dynamics of bothersome symptoms and their changes before and after the gluten-free diet.

Personal histories of patients GC “Expert”

Patient 52 years old, complaints of weakness, abdominal pain, bloating, frequent stool disorders, low levels of magnesium and calcium in the blood, difficulty gaining weight with proper nutrition, leg pain, her son was previously diagnosed with celiac disease.

I have been following a gluten-free diet for 9 years, at first it was very difficult to get used to, but during the first year I managed to adapt to preparing delicious familiar gluten-free dishes.To make our diet easier, my husband and I stopped using wheat flour at home. Delicious cakes and pizzas are made from gluten-free flour, and all guests enjoy them. My diet is dominated by natural products, excluded – semi-finished products, sausages, ice cream and other products that may contain gluten.

Improvements did not start immediately, especially at the beginning of the diet there were mistakes related to eating out. The support and advice of the gastroenterologist-nutritionist GC “Expert” helped me learn to avoid mistakes and follow the diet correctly.On the diet, abdominal pains, bloating and weakness disappeared, my health and mood improved, pains in my legs stopped bothering me, I began to look better, gaining the missing kilograms.

I buy gluten-free products in specialized stores, mainly flour, bread, sweets, pasta. Sometimes we buy ready-made gluten-free bread at the Benois Farm restaurant. Now in St. Petersburg there is a fairly wide range of gluten-free products, so the most difficult thing is eating out, if I need to eat in the city, I prefer the cafes “On Steam” and “Pound of Raisins”.

Recommendations for dynamic observation of patients in the GC “Expert”

  1. After the diagnosis is made, a follow-up visit with the consultation of a gastroenterologist-nutritionist once a year or in case of deterioration of health. Scientific research has shown that patients under the supervision of a physician follow a gluten-free diet more successfully.
  2. EGD with biopsy once a year for the first 3 years, then once every 2-3 years.
  3. Ultrasound of the abdominal cavity organs once a year.
  4. Blood and feces tests once a year.
  5. Doctor feedback: the opportunity to ask questions to a specialist by e-mail or by phone throughout the year.

Sex in celiac patients or association with infertility, erectile dysfunction in men and menstrual irregularities in women

We understand that the quality of sexual life in celiac patients can be impaired as a result of:

  • decreased sex drive;
  • frigidity;
  • lack of orgasm;
  • erectile dysfunction;
  • ejaculation disorders.

The reason for this is the malabsorption and digestion of a number of nutrients in the intestines, including fats. This leads to a decrease in the level of cholesterol – the precursor of male and female sex hormones, which leads to a violation of the ratio of hormones in the body.

Moreover, in men, the exchange of male sex hormones, including testosterone, is disturbed. Deficiency of hormones can manifest itself as impotence, premature ejaculation, increased urge to urinate, decreased muscle mass and male strength.The process of formation and quality of sperm is also disrupted, which can be manifested by a decrease in the number or absence of sperm, low motility or abnormal structure of sperm. In some cases, this can lead to male infertility.

In women, the exchange of female sex hormones is disturbed, which causes menstrual irregularities, dysmenorrhea, amenorrhea and can cause infertility, miscarriage, miscarriages.

With an early onset of the disease, there is a slowdown in sexual development.

Please note that in the atypical form and in the early stages of the disease, the above symptoms may be the only manifestation of celiac disease. Therefore, the Expert Center recommends excluding celiac disease when examining the above conditions.

With a timely visit to a doctor and a correctly established diagnosis, as well as constant adherence to a gluten-free diet, most functions are restored by 80-90%.

54 foods you can eat with a gluten-free diet

On May 23rd, the world celebrates Celiac Disease Day.Although this disease has a worldwide prevalence of about 1%, a gluten-free diet has become popular recently.

We emphasize that it is shown only to people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, because it can harm others. And we publish a list of products that will be useful to patients with the inability to consume gluten confirmed by doctors.

Gluten is a group of proteins found in the seeds of the cereal family such as wheat, rye and barley.

It helps food to keep its shape, provides elasticity, and maintains moisture in it. Gluten also allows the bread to rise and gives it a chewy texture.

Gluten is safe for most people. But those diagnosed with celiac disease, gluten allergy or sensitivity should avoid this protein to prevent adverse health effects.

Ingredients containing gluten are found in many foods. Therefore, it is important that those who are unable to use it carefully check the labels.

We bring you a list of 54 gluten-free products.

1-11. Whole grain cereals

Only a few whole grains contain gluten. Therefore, when buying them, it is important to study the labels.

Even those cereals with no gluten in natural grains can be contaminated with it. This cross-contamination occurs when cereals with and without gluten are processed in the same room.

This is why you need to know for sure that the product you have purchased is certified gluten-free.

Whole grain gluten-free:

  • buckwheat,
  • millet,
  • oats,
  • brown rice,
  • wild rice,
  • sorghum,
  • tapioca,
  • amaranth,
  • teff,
  • arrowroot,
  • quinoa.

Whole grains containing gluten are used to make breads, rusks, pastries, pasta, cereals and snacks. It is:

  • all varieties of wheat,
  • rye,
  • barley,
  • triticale.

Such cereals should be avoided.

12-26. Fruits and vegetables

All fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free. However, in some processed foods, this protein is added to flavor or thicken.

In particular, canned and processed foods from fruits and vegetables can include such common gluten-containing ingredients as malt, hydrolyzed wheat protein, maltodextrin, modified food starch.

The list below is of course not exhaustive. However, these are the most popular fresh fruits and vegetables you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet:

Fruits and vegetables to double check:

  • Canned: Sauces containing gluten may be added. Fruits and vegetables canned with water or natural juice are most likely gluten-free.
  • Frozen, if added with flavorings or sauces.
  • Dried: Some may contain gluten components. Common unsweetened dried fruits and vegetables do not contain it.
  • Pre-sliced: May be cross-contaminated with gluten during cooking.

27-32. Proteins

Most foods containing animal and / or vegetable protein are naturally gluten-free.

However, we often combine protein foods with seasonings, sauces, marinades.And they, in turn, can have fillers and flavors such as soy sauce, flour, malt vinegar.

Gluten Free Protein Products:

  • legumes: beans, lentils, peas, peanuts;
  • nuts and seeds;
  • red meat: fresh beef, pork, lamb;
  • poultry: fresh chicken, turkey;
  • seafood: fresh fish, scallops, shellfish;
  • Traditional soy products: tofu, tempeh, edamame, etc.

Protein dishes to double check:

  • processed meats such as sausages, pepperoni, sausage, salami and bacon;
  • meat substitutes such as vegetarian burgers;
  • meats or cold cuts;
  • minced meat;
  • protein foods supplemented with sauces or seasonings;
  • Ready-to-eat foods to be cooked in the microwave.

Any meat, poultry or fish breaded in breadcrumbs or flour should be avoided.And also “vegetarian meat” – seitan.

33-39. Dairy products

Most dairy products naturally are gluten-free. However, those to which flavors and various impurities have been added should always be carefully checked for its content.

Common gluten-containing ingredients in dairy products are thickeners, malt and modified food starch.

Gluten Free Dairy Products:

  • milk,
  • butter and ghee,
  • cheese,
  • cream,
  • soft cheese (cottage cheese),
  • sour cream,
  • yogurt.

Dairy products worth double checking:

  • flavored milk and yoghurts;
  • processed cheese products such as sauces and spreads;
  • ice cream with additives.

People with gluten sensitivity or intolerance should avoid malt milk drinks.

40-44. Fats and oils

Naturally, fats and oils do not contain gluten. But sometimes this protein is included in additives that flavor or thicken foods.

Gluten-free fats and oils:

  • butter and ghee;
  • olives and olive oil;
  • 90,018 avocado and avocado oil;

  • coconut oil;
  • vegetable and seed oils, including sesame, rapeseed and sunflower.

Cooking sprays (vegetable oil in a spray can) and oils with added flavors or spices should be carefully checked for gluten content.


Gluten-containing impurities are used in the production of many beverages. In addition, some alcoholic beverages are made from malt, barley, and other grains that also contain gluten.

So, if you are on a gluten-free diet, all of these drinks should be eliminated.

Gluten Free Drinks:

Note that while these drinks are gluten free, most are best consumed in moderation due to their sugar and alcohol content.

Double check:

  • Any beverages with added flavors or blends, such as coffee coolers.
  • Distilled spirits such as vodka, gin and whiskey, even if labeled gluten-free. After all, it is known that in some people they cause a reaction.
  • Ready cocktails.

Drinks to avoid:

  • Beers, ales and lagers made from cereals containing gluten;
  • non-distilled spirits.

52-54. Spices, sauces and seasonings

Most spices are naturally gluten free. But to them, just like to sauces and seasonings, ingredients with gluten are sometimes added: emulsifiers, stabilizers or flavor enhancers.

This can be modified food starch, maltodextrin, malt or wheat flour.

Gluten-free spices, sauces and condiments:

  • tamari;
  • Amino Acid Coconut Sauce;
  • white, distilled and apple cider vinegars.

Spices, sauces and condiments that need to be carefully checked:

  • ketchups and other tomato sauces,
  • BBQ sauce,
  • pasta sauce,
  • salsa,
  • mustard,
  • mayonnaise,
  • salad dressing,
  • dry spices,
  • Worcester sauce,
  • bouillon cubes,
  • marinades,
  • gravy and various dressings,
  • rice vinegar.

If a gluten-free diet is a must, you should avoid wheat-based soy sauce, teriyaki, and malt vinegar.

Ingredients to watch out for

Here is a general list of ingredients and food additives that may indicate gluten content in a product:

  • Modified food starch;
  • malt products – vinegar, extract, syrup;
  • maltodextrin;
  • gluten stabilizer;
  • soy sauce, teriyaki;
  • 90,018 wheat protein and flour;

  • emulsifiers.

If you are not sure if a product contains gluten, we recommend that you contact the manufacturer.

Conditions for which a gluten-free diet may be beneficial

A gluten-free diet is generally recommended for people with celiac disease, a condition in which an immune response occurs when gluten is consumed.

Those who have not been diagnosed with celiac disease but have been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity should also avoid this protein.It can contribute to the development of symptoms such as bloating, abdominal pain, and diarrhea.

While more research is needed, some of it suggests that a gluten-free diet may be beneficial for people with irritable bowel syndrome. It is a chronic condition with discomfort, pain, bloating and rumbling in the abdomen, feeling of incomplete emptying, constipation and / or diarrhea.

What are the risks of a gluten-free diet

Gluten is found naturally in many nutritious foods, including whole grains such as wheat, barley and rye.

However, some processed gluten-free foods are NOT fortified with vitamins and minerals. Thus, following a monotonous gluten-free diet may increase your risk of developing deficiencies in folate, riboflavin, niacin, and iron.

Products of a gluten-free diet are usually low in fiber, which plays an important role in the regulation of digestion: it nourishes the beneficial intestinal microflora and stimulates its peristalsis.

Therefore, to reduce the risk of side effects, it is important to make sure that a healthy gluten-free diet provides you with all of your essential nutrients from other sources.


There are many products for a balanced diet for people who are forced not to consume gluten. Many natural products do not contain this protein:

  • fruits and vegetables;
  • legumes;
  • some whole grains;
  • dairy products and oils;
  • fresh meat, fish and poultry.

Wheat, rye and barley are the main foods that should be avoided as part of a gluten-free diet.Gluten is also commonly added to canned and packaged foods.

In addition, some grains such as oats may be cross-contaminated with gluten during processing.

For patients who have no gluten intolerance or who have not been diagnosed with celiac disease, switching to a gluten-free diet may be associated with a risk of deficiencies in essential amino acids and minerals.

To avoid these problems, you can plan your gluten-free diet with the help of your doctor: with a predominance of fresh whole foods without gluten and a minimum amount of processed food.

Should we exclude foods with it from the diet – Rossiyskaya Gazeta

In Russia, in recent years, a whole generation of people has been formed, promoting a healthy lifestyle. The fashion for simply slimness of models is being replaced by the fashion for a healthy body and spirit before our eyes. On the Internet and on television, more and more materials and stories appear on the topics of the usefulness or harm of a particular product, food component. One of the common “horror stories” among adherents of healthy lifestyle is gluten.

According to the latest large-scale poll, more than 30% of healthy Americans (the United States is considered to be the trendsetters for healthy lifestyle) are afraid of gluten like fire. They scrutinize food labels, ask restaurant menus for clarification, and consider any rash, bloating, and indigestion to be the machinations of this insidious “ingredient.” In the Russian Federation, such studies have not yet been carried out, but the tendencies towards meaningful food consumption have arisen in our country relatively recently.

“RG” decided to look into the situation and found out how really gluten is dangerous for people and whether products containing it should be excluded from the diet.

Yes or no

Most doctors reassure – for healthy people who know the measure of the amount of food consumed, gluten is not so terrible. But for people with certain diseases, its consumption should be reduced.

“Gluten is a multicomponent gluten protein of cereals, consisting of gluteins and prolamins,” Professor, Doctor of Medical Sciences Vera Revyakina, Head of the Department of Allergology of the Clinic of Medical Nutrition and Leading Researcher of the Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution “Federal Research Center of Nutrition and Biotechnology”, told RG.- “The high content of proline and glutamine in cereals determines the toxicity of this protein. The most toxic for patients are gluten of wheat, rye, barley. The least toxic are proteins of rice, millet, corn. Oat gluten takes an intermediate place. Cereal proteins in patients are toxic (damaging ) action on the intestinal mucosa “.

The word “gluten” comes from the Latin gluten, which means “glue”. Or “gluten”. When liquid is added to flour, gluten “sticks” it into grains, making the dough airy and elastic as a result.The principle of action in his body is simple: by eating a bun or something else flour (gluten-containing), a person passes a sticky mass into his digestive system, which must be digested. But this protein is practically insoluble in either water or salts. Over time, when gluten-containing foods are abused, it can clog the small intestine – the organ that performs the main function of absorbing nutrients from the food consumed. What will happen next is not difficult to guess.Accumulating inside a person, it causes serious ailments. But you need to understand that a healthy person will not start problems from one piece of bread or a portion of barley porridge. If the digestive system works correctly, enzymes are produced correctly, and a person consumes such foods moderately and intelligently, then the body will digest the ill-fated protein. Gluten-containing foods include bread and pastries, pasta; beer is extremely rich in this protein. In addition, gluten can be found in sweets, chocolate, dairy products, convenience foods (including sausage, crab sticks, bacon), mayonnaise and ketchup, and more.

“The role of gluten in the development of diseases such as celiac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis, gluten ataxia, which are based on autoimmune mechanisms, has been proven,” explains Vera Revyakina. “Various manifestations of food allergies are associated with gluten intolerance. Food hypersensitivity to gluten has also been identified as a variant of gluten intolerance.”

At the same time, many doctors note that the transfer of the patient to a gluten-free diet gives a significant improvement in his condition.

Photo: depositphotos.com

Find an alternative

“Elimination of gluten-containing foods (gluten-free diet) is the mainstay of the treatment of gluten-induced diseases,” explains the professor. – “A gluten-free diet is a rather expensive method of treatment, to a certain extent its implementation depends on the production of gluten-free products. Wheat, wheat bran, wheat starch, wheat flour, semolina, matzo are excluded from the diet.Couscous, rye, barley, barley malt. The gluten content in products is no more than 20 mg / 100 g. “

Such a gluten-free diet, which the doctor told about, is nowadays adhered not only to celiac disease patients, to whom it is indicated, but also to “apologists” of a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent the normal functioning of the gastrointestinal tract. The food alternatives here are rice, buckwheat, corn, quinoa, amaranth, millet, sorghum.

Quinoa (or quinoa) is, in fact, the quinoa known for many centuries, a subspecies of the Amaranth family.Grain is imported to us from South America – that’s why the product is very expensive. Nevertheless, the use of this cereal is now experiencing a real boom.

“Quinoa is an excellent source of plant-based whole protein, more than buckwheat. In addition to protein, quinoa also contains various amino acids, as well as substances that accelerate the process of calcium absorption, tissue healing in case of damage of a different nature. Quinoa contains fiber in sufficient volume that it is it promotes the removal of toxins and toxins from the body, “- says Revyakina.

Quinoa is used not only for traditional cereals or side dishes. The flour obtained from cereals (as well as from rice, buckwheat and corn) is used for the production of pasta, bread and other dishes. Quinoa is added to soups, salads, baked goods and even desserts.

Unlike other cereals, amaranth is still unpopular in Russia. Meanwhile, this cereal is rich in lysine and also has a high quality protein. In addition, oil is made from amaranth.

Millet is a grain crop from which nothing more than millet is obtained.By the way, sorghum grains are also visually similar to millet. They are mainly used for the industrial production of cereals, starch, and flour. Bread and various confectionery products are baked from ground grain – they say that this flour is closest to wheat in taste. Porridge is also prepared from sorghum, boiled grains are added to salads. Due to its high protein and carbohydrate content, sorghum is considered a highly nutritious grain. But at the same time, the starch content is quite high in the cereal.

My light, mirror, say

In the West today, it is generally accepted that an overuse of gluten foods makes us old.

For example, Nigma Talib, a well-known nutritionist in the world of foreign movie stars, has dedicated one of her works to the relationship between dietary habits and the condition of human skin. According to Talib, our dietary habits directly affect the aging process. The nutritionist carefully analyzes a person’s face and tells what products, even a seemingly healthy person is abusing. According to her findings, craving for gluten-containing foods contributes to the appearance of redness and puffiness on the cheeks, pigmentation, pimples on the chin, as well as the formation of a double chin.

Gluten horror stories are largely justified. But in pursuit of blind imitation of fashion trends and falling into extremes, it is important to remember that the decision to exclude gluten-containing foods from the diet should be made by a doctor after conducting the necessary research. Proper nutrition is not as easy as it sounds. It is necessary to simultaneously take into account a lot of things: chemical composition, energy value, diversity and environmental safety, time and duration of meals, intervals between them, recommendations of doctors, and most importantly – you need to know your own body and remember about a sense of proportion.Why is it so important? A reasonable approach to the food consumed ensures a well-coordinated, without interruption and overload, the work of the gastrointestinal tract, good absorption of food and a normal course of metabolism, and as a result, excellent health and a beautiful appearance.

Celiac Diet – Gluten Free Planet

For people with celiac disease, an autoimmune disease caused by the consumption of gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley and rye), the news of a diagnosis can be immediate relief – and a huge disappointment.This can be a relief because it can take up to a decade to get an accurate diagnosis. Disappointing because now you have to change your lifestyle in order to control the disease.
Celiac disease is not gluten intolerance or sensitivity to gluten, and is often confused or assumed to be the same thing. “Gluten intolerance and sensitivity are about the same thing. Collectively, we refer to them as “Shallow Gluten Sensitivity” or “NCGS”.

Unlike celiac disease, when the body attacks the small intestine and creates damage, people with NCGS do not have inflammation of the villi. NCGS patients also lack the antibodies that people with celiac disease produce. But they have remarkably similar gastrointestinal symptoms (diarrhea, constipation, bloating, gas).

But for both of these groups, a gluten-free diet is often the best way to manage symptoms. However, for someone trying to cope with celiac disease, it is even more important to prevent the inflammation and damage to the gut that gluten creates.

How to build a diet to live fully with celiac disease and control all symptoms? The best treatment for celiac disease is diet. Avoiding gluten is the only treatment for celiac disease.

Because eating gluten – even in small amounts – can cause harmful reactions, people with celiac disease must take special precautions to completely avoid it.

Foods to avoid when treating celiac disease

  • Wheat
  • Spelled
  • Kamut (Khorasan wheat)
  • Semolina,
  • Durum
  • rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale
  • Malt, including malt milk, malt extract, and malt vinegar.
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Wheat starch

The above information is important to understand because it provides guidance on what to look for on food labels.

But there are certain foods that probably contain gluten.

  • Beer
  • Bread
  • Desserts like cake, biscuits and pie
  • Cereal bread
  • Crackers
  • Potato chips
  • Pasta
  • Processed meat, including sausages, sausages
  • Mayonnaise
  • Sauces
  • Soups puree
  • Pills
  • Vitamins and supplements
  • Lipstick and lip balm
  • Play Dough
  • Toothpaste and mouthwash

Given that even small amounts of gluten can cause symptoms, it is important to be aware of the risk of food cross-contamination.For example, if you are ordering a gluten-free meal, we recommend that you find out how the meal is prepared. “Frying it in the same oil as gluten-containing foods is enough to cause a problem.

We also recommend that you call the restaurant in advance to discuss your ordering options. Also, ask detailed questions about the ingredients and how the food is prepared. This helps the staff to understand that you are not eating gluten because you are following a “trendy diet” (and therefore cross-contamination is irrelevant), but it is not a matter of your health.

Many medicines contain gluten as fillers and binders, which can make treating celiac disease even more challenging. Currently, drugs are not required to label the presence of gluten. Sometimes even manufacturers do not know this. If a drug is important to the patient’s health, it must be taken, and doctors can then retest the antibodies to see if a particular drug may worsen your symptoms.

One of the common complications of celiac disease is a lack of nutrients.The severity of the inflammatory response in the gut and the degree of exposure to the gut affects how it absorbs nutrients.
While people with celiac disease may be deficient in a range of vitamins, B12, calcium, iron and vitamin D are most commonly seen. (Although many people, especially in northern climates, do not have enough vitamin D, which is common among people with celiac disease and healthy people.) Along with this, we often see deficiencies in zinc, folate, and carnitine, a nutrient that helps the body produce energy.Problems with macronutrients can pop up. In the worst cases of celiac disease, patients cannot digest and digest fat well, so they may have diarrhea caused by fat. In this case, calories will not be absorbed well, so weight loss and malnutrition become a serious problem.

Iron deficiency is especially acute. Many people suffer from iron deficiency and this is the first sign of celiac disease.

The best place to start is to meet with a professional dietitian who specializes in celiac disease, who can evaluate your diet, make recommendations on what to eat, and help you meet your dietary recommendations to correct deficiencies.

Food you can eat, manage celiac disease.
While the risks of gluten exposure and the list of foods you can’t eat may seem daunting, you know there are many foods you can eat.

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Beans and Lentils
  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Eggs
  • Fresh (unprocessed) meat and fish
  • Dairy products (still read the label).
  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Rice
  • Potato flour
  • Linen
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Tag

To help restore vitamins and minerals, doctors often recommend foods rich in these nutrients and supplements.Here are some great sources of these deficient nutrients for celiac fighters:

  • Iron – Beef (always choose unprocessed meat), spinach, white beans, dark chocolate, lentils, tofu, chickpeas, and cashews;
  • Vitamin D – dairy products (yogurt, milk), fortified milk (soy, almonds), orange juice, sardines, salmon and eggs;
  • Calcium – Dairy products, salmon, sardines, cabbage, bok choy, tofu, orange juice, oranges and dried figs;
  • Vitamin B – sunflower seeds, beans, lentils, spinach, mushrooms, chicken, broccoli, asparagus;
  • Zinc – Beef, Lobster, Pork, Game and Cashews:

If you find nutritional deficiencies, your doctor may advise you to take one or more of the following supplements.Keep in mind that once you restore these nutrient levels and heal your gut, you will most likely no longer need to take this vitamin or mineral.

Your doctor should also monitor you periodically to make sure your body is eating properly.

  • Iron
  • Vitamin D
  • Calcium
  • Zinc
  • Multi vitamins

What is celiac disease and what foods to eat for celiac patients

Let’s find out what is celiac disease and what foods are suitable for celiac patients , how to prepare them and where to find them so that celiac sufferers can continue to eat a balanced and healthy diet.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that causes malabsorption of nutrients, they still only avoid eating foods containing gluten, a protein component found in wheat (wheat) and various grains such as prescribed , barley , rye , oats , Kamut , bulgur , malt and seitan (because it is made from gluten).

This is not an allergy, but an immune-mediated disease, in which the patient’s immune system, which is supposed to protect his body, instead begins to attack him based on stimuli, which can be different.

Specifically, gluten is a lipoprotein composed of fats and two proteins. And these two proteins can fold to receptors only present in the intestines of celiac disease, 90,056 due to a small genetic defect. A defect that does not affect his growth or development, but, unfortunately, affects his way of eating and throughout his life.

And if you don’t have celiac disease, here are the risks of a gluten-free diet for those who don’t have allergies!

The value of celiac disease

Among all food allergies or a set of adverse reactions that are caused in the body by ingestion of certain foods, celiac disease, , is by far the most common in the world, especially in the West.

Istituto Superiore della Sanità defines it as “ strong allergic type immune response to gluten protein present in many varieties of cereals and wheat.”

According to current estimates, 90,056 1 in 100 90,057 people are affected by celiac disease consistently and regardless of age, while the incidence among the world’s population is constantly increasing.

Symptoms of celiac disease

It can manifest itself only with minor disturbances, but in most cases the most obvious reaction is an inflammatory type localized in the small intestinal tract, which is responsible for the absorption of nutrients.

Therefore, they may appear:

  • severe headaches
  • chronic diarrhea
  • feeling tired
  • anemia
  • weight loss
  • stunting of children , celiac disease has long been considered typical childhood illness

While this may seem odd at first glance, it is not only caused by 90,056 dietary factors. Sometimes it is caused by certain environmental conditions (as well as other intolerances and allergies) or genetic predisposition .

More recently, it has been scientifically proven that celiac disease also occurs as a result of severe emotional or physical stress .

What is celiac disease really: symptoms

What is celiac disease really

In people with celiac disease, gluten is considered the “enemy” of the immune system, and this leads to the fact that mucous membranes in intestines to refusal to absorb it

In particular, the intestinal wall has a series of protrusions called villi, which are responsible for absorbing nutrients from the food we eat. Thanks to these protrusions, the contact surface with food increases, and we can absorb more of it.

When gluten enters the intestine and settles on its walls (the intestine is a tube, and the walls absorb nutrients and release them into the blood, which will circulate in the body), an immune response is activated, which usually does not happen .it must be activated.

Here, some cells of the immune system, lymphocytes , recognizing this substance as harmful, begin to attack the intestinal wall itself and, in particular, the villi. They gradually “atrophy” until disappear , so that ultimately the stomach wall, always inflamed, becomes smooth.

There is a malabsorption of all substances that we eat, because nutrients ( iron and other minerals, vitamins, sugars, proteins, fats) are not absorbed.

Symptoms of celiac disease in children

Villus malabsorption causes 90,056 malnutrition and growth problems . The problem manifests itself more in children (which is why the symptoms are so serious) and begins when the mother’s milk is switched to a “solid” diet. Here we understand that something is wrong.

In children, celiac disease is manifested by stunted growth and significant weight loss. In addition, we can observe:

  • He vomited
  • Irregular bowel
  • chronic diarrhea
  • bloated abdomen
  • shapeless stools or stools with unpleasant odor, as well as transparent
  • constipation
  • irritability
  • insomnia
  • chronic fatigue
  • joint pain
  • stains on dental enamel
  • herpetiform dermatitis
  • 30 recurrent pores
  • Ferritin in the blood can be very low , and transaminases high.

Differences between intestinal villi of healthy people and people with celiac disease

Diagnosis of celiac disease

Celiac disease is considered a genetic disease , and a complex of genes (HLA-DQ2 and HLA-DQ8) is associated with those who suffer from this allergy, but their presence in the human genetic structure is not a prerequisite for the development of celiac disease. but just a predisposition.

In fact, the molecules involved in the mechanisms responsible for intestinal damage in celiac patients are driven by stress.

This means that, although there is a genetic predisposition and a combination of environmental factors, as well as certain endogenous and exogenous interactions, gluten absorption alone may not be enough to cause disease. It tends to manifest itself only in stressful situations and infectious conditions, which are not yet precisely defined.

Unfortunately, there is currently no cure for celiac disease: the only way not to worsen symptoms (causing, among other things, intestinal lymphomas due to overstimulation of lymphocytes) is not to eat gluten for life….

The diet allows to heal damaged intestinal tissues and to normalize imbalances caused by celiac disease (in particular, bone tissue parameters and vitamin deficiencies).

But quitting gluten if you don’t have this genetic problem (when you don’t heal and get sick with gluten, you’re just gluten-free for life) doesn’t have any benefits . Only those who actually suffer from this allergy should control what they eat and avoid gluten.

Those who think they are intolerant or think they have a hard time digesting gluten based on personal beliefs related to the condition of ailment may not be able to benefit from it only through medical advice or a pharmacy test.

Celiac disease

To determine if you have gluten, there are special tests that are based on the contact of the intestinal mucosa with gluten, and then on the dosage of antibodies (the “defense mechanisms” secreted by lymphocytes, which we talked about earlier), so that understand if this may or may not be an immune response to gluten.

There are two tests to find out if you have this condition, blood tests and bowel biopsy. Without their implementation, it is impossible to diagnose celiac disease.

  • These blood tests are used to find some specific antibodies (anti-transglutaminase, anti-gliadin, anti-endomisi).
  • In intestinal biopsy results in an assessment of stage of the disease; this is an invasive test because tissue must be taken from the small intestine and then analyzed.
    And this exam is also used to obtain an ASL exemption for the purchase of gluten-free products within the monthly spending threshold, which varies from region to region.

So this disease is uniquely identified with intestinal biopsy in adults and a genetic test for children. If you are gluten-free, you can continue to eat gluten and foods that contain it.

SPECIAL: Diet during pregnancy , rules to follow

What gluten can eat

So, let’s figure out in the case of celiac disease, what to eat and what foods you can eat.

Gluten is a reserve substance produced by wheat and other similar cereals; it is one of the proteins that wheat needs to survive, so while there are varieties with lower gluten content, there is no wheat that is gluten free at all.

To be precise, gluten is not found in cereal grains or flour, but is formed when water is added to make the dough . Therefore, the products obtained from this mixture are dangerous for allergy sufferers.

IN FOCUS: Benefits of whole grains such as benefits, uses and recipes

Gluten should be avoided anything that is wheat flour, even transformed (bread, pasta) as they cannot eat it. Gluten is also present in plants belonging to similar species that are part of the same tribe (this is a botanical classification):

  • durum wheat or wheat (including ancient varieties and derivatives with wheat germ, wheat bran , bulgur and couscous )
  • barley and its derivatives ( malt and drinks containing it).
  • rye
  • buckwheat ,
  • triticale ( hybrid wheat and rye)
  • kamut , which is always a grain that celiac patients cannot eat.
  • written
  • written
  • oats, although it does not contain gluten, because there are ears of wheat among the ears of oats in the fields, and since the ears are not graded one at a time, and there may also be wheat grains among oats …

Wheat and its derivatives, barley, rye, kamut, spelled, bulgur, oats should be avoided. You can eat gluten-free flours and grains such as corn, rice, millet, amaranth, sorghum, cassava, and quinoa.

Celiac Disease To Follow

Wheat and other grains contain some of the 90,056 essential nutrients the body needs (no wonder they form the basis of the Mediterranean diet ) and are found in most foods and foods that we find in the market.

Thus, celiac disease can become a limiting and contributing pathology, because the only cure for it is adopting a completely gluten-free diet .

Here are some foods that can be safely eaten for celiac disease:

  • gluten-free cereals and flour: corn, rice , millet, sorghum, cassava , and bakery with the flour of these cereals like bread and pasta products, cakes and cookies.
  • good honey and sugar, white, brown and whole grain.
  • all allowed dairy products of animal origin (excluding yoghurt)
  • vinegar olive oil and butter do not contain gluten.
  • meat and fish, crustaceans and shellfish – foods suitable for celiac patients, but pay attention to the processing, for this boiled ham, salami and various sausages it is better to leave them alone.
  • all fruits and vegetables are suitable for people with gluten allergies.
  • allowed both tea, and coffee , various carbonated drinks and fruit juices, wine, spirits and various spices.

But be careful, because gluten is used as a filler and thickener in an impressive number of ready-to-use and prepared foods, such as yeast, fillets, chips, etc.D. Let’s make an order. Among those at risk, you need to pay attention to:

  • chocolate
  • ice cream
  • amaranth
  • Quinoa
  • soy and its derivatives
  • egg

Handbook and products suitable for celiac disease

Until a few years ago, the life of celiac disease patient was impossible due to lack of information and knowledge on this subject.Today the situation has improved significantly thanks to Internet and new food labeling rules, and also associations , forums and discussion groups created to support sick people.

What To Eat For Celiac Disease: A Guide To AIC Approved Foods

The Italian Celiac Association then activated a website full of useful information, guides, training courses and specific dietary advice to enable celiac patients as well as directly involved relatives and family members.

In fact, on the website you can browse the reference book (completely free and constantly updated) containing all gluten-free products on the market and categorized by . It also makes it easier to find companies, supermarkets and restaurants where gluten-free foods and drinks can be found.

In addition, several brands and manufacturers have decided to label and certify their products with the recognizable and simplified symbolism of gluten-free products (classic crossed green ear).And not all restaurants in can provide food for celiac patients, but an increasing number of establishments have begun to adopt the gluten-free label and offer specially designed menus and dishes.

Find vegetarian and vegan restaurants and shops that also offer gluten-free foods:

  • tuttogreen.it bio: celiac restaurants
  • tuttogreen.it bio: gluten-free shops

Since January 1, 2012, the European Council has adopted legislative measures to regulate the food labeling system.Currently European legislation states that:

  • The threshold value for gluten content in products defined as “ gluten-free products” must not exceed 20 mg / kg in the finished product.
  • Gluten threshold for foods with very low gluten should not exceed 100 mg / kg in the finished product.

Beware of contamination!

Complicating the problem is the fact that contaminated food, at least for celiac disease, is anything that even comes only in contact with foods containing gluten. Here’s a quick guide to get out:

  • Celiac pasta cannot be cooked in the same pot as the pasta containing gluten because some of the gluten is still present in the water and without it can stick to the paste, contaminating her. The same goes for the frying pan in which it is fried with flour and cutlery.
  • Certain foods are gluten free, such as meat, fish, shellfish and crustaceans, but they can be cooked with un’impanatura or flour containing it so be careful with chops , chopsticks , fried fish and vegetables in batter .
  • Other products can be prepared with seasonings and sauces thickened with forbidden flour , such as hamburgers and meatballs.
  • Products that do not contain gluten but are processed and processed using flour containing it, for example dried fruits , some instant coffees fortified with barley malt, yeast , even maternal, and seitan .

Celiac disease, what to eat and what to avoid: products and derivatives based on durum wheat or wheat, barley, rye, buckwheat, trikale, kamut, spelled, spelled, oats

Gluten Free Recipes

So let’s see how for celiac disease our recipes are suitable for celiac patients :

  • Mushroom Cream
  • Risotto with Turmeric, Carrot and Zucchini Pumpkin
  • tempura
  • Cold cucumber and mint cream
  • Risotto with vegetables and tamari
  • Delicious burgers without meat
  • Risotto with red radicchio from Treviso
  • Vegetarian barbecue with lemon
  • Risotto with saffron
  • Baked artichokes
  • Risotto with turmeric, carrots and zucchini
  • Vegan gluten-free cookies for the holidays
  • Risotto with peppers cm smoothie

Consequently, there is still something to be done, but the attention to those who suffer from this disease is always higher.

8 groups of foods prohibited in a gluten-free diet

Let’s talk about berries that are good for your health and skin. Some of them may surprise you.

What we put into the body can have an equally important effect on our skin. In particular, the berries contain vitamins and antioxidants that will definitely suit her taste.

When you say the word berry, you may be thinking of strawberries and raspberries, but they are not really berries.According to Judy Gernstedt, professor of plant science at the University of California, Davis, the fruit got its names thousands of years ago, before the word berry was defined in science.

According to Live Science, for a true berry to be botanically classified, the fruit must have an outer shell called an exocarp, a fleshy middle called a mesocarp, and an inner part containing seeds called an endocarp. It must also have two or more seeds and come from a single ovary flower.This is why strawberries and raspberries are not considered real berries – they come from a flower with more than one ovary.

You might be surprised at some of the fruits on this list, like bananas and watermelon – they are actually classified as berries. Each of these nutrient-rich fruits has skin care benefits.

1. Blueberry

Perhaps one of the most famous berries, blueberries are the best thing for your skin.At least because it is rich in antioxidants.

Antioxidants fight cell damage caused by free radicals (unstable atoms). In fact, their action is associated with the development of chronic diseases, as well as with the acceleration of the aging process.

Blueberries are particularly rich in anthocyanins, according to nutritionist Katie Davidson (MScFN, RD). They are plant compounds that “have strong antioxidant properties and give blueberries their natural purple-blue hue.”

Blueberries can help improve circulation, Davidson notes, reduce inflammation associated with acne, and boost collagen production, which helps strengthen skin and plays a key role in maintaining elasticity, which reduces wrinkles.

2. Watermelon

Yes, watermelon is actually a berry. The fruit, scientifically named pepos, belongs to a special category of berries – with a tough skin, many flat seeds and fleshy flesh – and they are also good for the skin.While the inside of a watermelon is deliciously juicy, sweet and nutritious, the rind is especially beneficial for the skin as it is rich in vitamins B 6 and C.

B vitamins are good for the skin because they stimulate metabolic processes and help cells renew themselves. Vitamin B deficiency can lead to acne, dry skin, rashes and wrinkles. Vitamin C, as a powerful antioxidant, can help repair and protect cells from free radical damage.

In this case, it is not at all necessary to eat the rind of the watermelon, you can squeeze the juice out of it and add it to a smoothie or simply rub it into the skin.

According to dermatologist Anna Guanche, Koreans have been using watermelon peels for skin care for decades. She told Business Insider, “Korean grandmothers rubbed watermelon rind on sunburns, rashes, or irritated skin to calm her down and help her recover faster. Cooling masks that combine watermelon rind with avocado or banana can help with healing. “That is why watermelon-based cosmetics are so popular at K-beauty.

3. Grapes

Grape berries are classified as “real berries” because the wall of the fruit, known as the pericarp, is completely fleshy. Like blueberries, grapes are rich in antioxidants. It also contains vitamin K, which helps maintain healthy bones and muscles.

In addition to nutritional value, grapes are good for moisturizing the skin as they are 82% water.Keeping hydrated is the key to healthy skin. If you don’t drink enough water, it can become tight and dry, less elastic and prone to wrinkles.

4. Avocado

Many people think that avocado is a fruit, but in fact, it is also considered a berry. Avocados have grown in popularity over the past few years due to their delicate flavor, which is great for salads and toast, as well as their nutritional value. It is also good for the skin. Avocado is rich in vitamins C and E and contains the antioxidants lutein and zeaxanthin, which help fight cell damage from free radicals.

5. Black currant

Blackcurrant, a popular ingredient in drinks and foods, can help keep skin healthy. They contain twice as many antioxidants as blueberries and are also rich in vitamin C (four times more than oranges).

6. Bananas

The banana tree is a plant whose fruits are formed from one ovary and several seeds. So, scientifically speaking, bananas are berries.They are good for skin health because they are high in vitamins C, B 6 and A. The latter, an antioxidant, helps moisturize the skin and also speeds up the healing process of the skin and prevents breakouts.

According to Zara Risoldi Cochrane, pharmacist, M.D., FASCP, vitamin A can help those with acne. “It all depends on the source and how you use it,” she says. “Eating foods rich in vitamin A can promote better skin health from the inside out, while topical formulas can directly fight breakouts.”

7. Cranberry

Cranberries are a popular berry that is often consumed as juice or jam. It is also extremely beneficial for the skin as it contains a lot of vitamins C and A.

If you don’t like the taste of cranberries, you can apply the juice directly to your face to reduce the appearance of wrinkles.

8. Kiwi

Kiwi (possibly another unexpected fruit that is classified as a berry) is great for your skin thanks to its vitamin C and E content.The latter, an antioxidant, is known for its skin health benefits and is found in many moisturizers and other skin care products. Some studies have shown that applying vitamin E to the skin can help repair skin damaged by the sun’s UV rays.

9. Acai berries

Popular as a smoothie ingredient, acai berries are similar to blueberries or grapes. They contain antioxidants that fight free radicals. Vitamin expert Amy Brown says they help fight cell damage, support collagen production, and also help reduce pigmentation.