About all

Celiac food list: Sources of Gluten | Celiac Disease Foundation

Содержание

Label Reading & the FDA

The FDA used an analytical methods-based approach to define the term gluten-free and adopted <20 ppm gluten as one of the criteria for a food labeled gluten-free because the agency relies upon scientifically-validated methods for enforcing its regulations.

Analytical methods that are scientifically validated to reliably detect gluten at a level lower than 20 ppm are not currently available. In addition, some celiac disease researchers and some epidemiological evidence suggest that most individuals with celiac disease can tolerate variable trace amounts and concentrations of gluten in foods (including levels that are less than 20 ppm gluten) without causing adverse health effects.

The Celiac Disease Foundation Medical Advisory Board supports the <20 ppm of gluten standard for gluten-free labeling. According to Dr. Peter Green, Director of the Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University, “The 20 ppm is a scientifically determined level of gluten that has been shown to be tolerated by those with celiac disease. It is in line with standards in other countries.”

Dr. Alessio Fasano of the Center for Celiac Research states, “Twenty parts per million, or 20 parts of gluten per one million parts of food sample, is an accepted standard in many parts of the world for products that are labeled gluten-free. The evidence-based research published by our Center, which has been confirmed by studies from colleagues around the world, conclusively supports the 20 ppm level as a suitable safety threshold for gluten-free products.”

According to the Center’s website, “research from the Center has shown that 10 milligrams per day of gluten consumption is a safe level for the vast majority of individuals with celiac disease.” The Center’s website goes on to state that 10 milligrams is roughly the equivalent of one-eighth of a teaspoon of flour, or 18 slices of gluten-free bread with each slice containing 20 ppm of gluten.

Celiac Disease Grocery List – Joy Bauer

Controlling celiac disease is not so much about foods you should eat as foods you shouldn’t eat. The foods on this list are considered to be generally safe for people with celiac. You’ll need to carefully check labels on all foods marked with an asterisk (*) because ingredients can vary from brand to brand.

Because most of the popular grains contain gluten, it is important to try new, safe whole grains. You’ll also need to eat plenty of vegetables and fruits to make sure that you get a wide variety of naturally occurring vitamins, minerals, fiber, and antioxidants. Toward the end of the grocery list, I’ve listed additives and ingredients that are also thought to be safe.

FRUITS

  • ALL fresh fruits
  • ALL frozen whole fruits with no additives

VEGETABLES AND LEGUMES

  • ALL fresh vegetables
  • ALL frozen vegetables with no additives, breading, or sauces
  • *Beans, canned
  • Beans, lentils, and peas, dried
  • Olives
  • Potatoes (all varieties)
  • *Pumpkin, canned, 100% pure puree

SEAFOOD

  • ALL fresh fish and shellfish
  • ALL frozen fish and shellfish with no additives or sauces

LEAN PROTEINS

  • ALL fresh meats and poultry with no breading or additives
  • ALL frozen meats and poultry with no breading or additives
  • Eggs
  • Tofu

NUTS AND SEEDS (Preferably Unsalted)

  • ALL natural nut butters
  • ALL nuts
  • ALL seeds (except rye and barley)

GRAINS, CEREALS, PASTA, AND MORE

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot starch
  • Buckwheat
  • *Cereals, dry: puffed and flake varieties made with amaranth, buckwheat, corn, millet, rice, or soy
  • *Cereals, hot: cream and flake varieties made with amaranth, cornmeal, buckwheat, hominy grits, rice, quinoa, or soy
  • Corn bran
  • Corn chips, plain
  • Corn flour/corn meal products
  • Crackers, gluten-free (such as brown rice, corn, and lentil)
  • Flour: amaranth, buckwheat, carob, chickpea, lentil, millet, potato, quinoa, rice, sago, sorghum, soy, tapioca, teff
  • Grits (corn or soy)
  • Kasha (not the same as Kashi)
  • Masa
  • Millet
  • Pasta made from beans, brown rice, corn, peas, potato, quinoa, lentils, or soy
  • Polenta
  • *Popcorn, air-popped and gluten-free packaged varieties
  • Potato chips, plain or *flavored
  • Quinoa
  • Ragi
  • Rice (preferably brown or wild)
  • Rice cakes, plain
  • *Soba, 100% buckwheat
  • Sorghum
  • *Soy crisps
  • *Tacos shells made with corn, hard and soft
  • Tapioca starch/flour
  • Teff
  • *Tortillas made with corn, soy, or brown rice
  • Tortilla chips, plain or *flavored

DAIRY

  • *Cheese (preferably reduced-fat), not blue cheese
  • *Cottage cheese (preferable fat-free or 1% low-fat)
  • *Cream cheese (preferably reduced-fat)
  • *Ice cream (check labels; ingredients will vary from flavor to flavor)
  • Milk (preferably fat free or 1% low-fat)
  • *Milk alternatives (soy, almond, rice)
  • *Sour cream (preferably fat-free or reduced-fat)
  • *Yogurt (preferably fat-free or low-fat)

MISCELLANEOUS

  • ALL pure herbs (check ingredients of *herb mixes)
  • ALL pure spices (check ingredients of *spice mixes)
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Baking chocolate
  • Baking powder
  • Baking soda
  • Canola oil
  • Cocoa powder
  • Coffee, instant and ground (check ingredients of *flavored coffees)
  • Corn syrup
  • Cornstarch
  • Cream of tartar
  • Garlic
  • Gelatin
  • Honey
  • *Hummus (check labels; ingredients will vary from flavor to flavor)
  • Jam and jelly
  • *Ketchup
  • Maple syrup
  • *Mayonnaise (preferably reduced-fat)
  • Molasses
  • *Mustard
  • Olive oil
  • Pickles
  • Relish
  • *Salsa
  • *Soft tub, trans fat–free spread (regular and reduced-fat)
  • Sugar
  • Tea, black and green (check *flavored and herbal tea varieties)
  • Vanilla and other extracts
  • Vinegar, balsamic, red wine, or white
  • Wine, red and white

SAFE (GLUTEN-FREE) ADDITIVES

  • Acacia gum
  • Adipic acid
  • Agar
  • Algae
  • Algin/alginate
  • Allicin
  • Annatto
  • Arabic gum
  • Arrowroot
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Aspartame
  • Aspic
  • Astragalus gummifer
  • Benzoic acid
  • BHA
  • BTA
  • Dextrose
  • Ester gum
  • Fructose
  • Guar gum
  • Locust bean gum
  • Malic acid
  • Methylcellulose
  • Microcrystallin cellulose
  • Pectin
  • Pepsin
  • Stearic acid
  • Sulfites
  • Tapioca starch/flour (not pudding)
  • Whey
  • Xanthan gum

* The asterisk (*) indicates foods whose labels need to be carefully checked for gluten.

Get my Gluten-Free, Whole-Grain Shopping List.

Gluten-free diet – Mayo Clinic

Gluten-free diet

To follow a gluten-free diet, you must avoid wheat and some other grains while choosing substitutes that provide nutrients for a healthy diet.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Definition

A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).

Purpose

A gluten-free diet is essential for managing signs and symptoms of celiac disease and other medical conditions associated with gluten.

A gluten-free diet is also popular among people who haven’t been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical condition. The claimed benefits of the diet are improved health, weight loss and increased energy, but more research is needed.

  • Celiac disease is a condition in which gluten triggers immune system activity that damages the lining of the small intestine. Over time this damage prevents the absorption of nutrients from food. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder.
  • Non-celiac gluten sensitivity causes some signs and symptoms associated with celiac disease — including abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, “foggy brain,” rash or headache — even though there is no damage to the tissues of the small intestine. Studies show that the immune system plays a role, but the process isn’t well understood.
  • Gluten ataxia, an autoimmune disorder, affects certain nerve tissues and causes problems with muscle control and voluntary muscle movement.
  • Wheat allergy, like other food allergies, is the result of the immune system mistaking gluten or some other protein found in wheat as a disease-causing agent, such as a virus or bacterium. The immune system creates an antibody to the protein, prompting an immune system response that may result in congestion, breathing difficulties and other symptoms.

Diet details

Following a gluten-free diet requires paying careful attention to food selections, the ingredients found in foods, and their nutritional content.

Allowed fresh foods

Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet:

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Beans, seeds, legumes and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms
  • Eggs
  • Lean, nonprocessed meats, fish and poultry
  • Most low-fat dairy products

Grains, starches or flours that can be part of a gluten-free diet include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn — cornmeal, grits and polenta labeled gluten-free
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours — rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice, including wild rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca (cassava root)
  • Teff
Grains not allowed

Avoid all foods and drinks containing the following:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale — a cross between wheat and rye
  • Oats, in some cases

While oats are naturally gluten-free, they may be contaminated during production with wheat, barley or rye. Oats and oat products labeled gluten-free have not been cross-contaminated. Some people with celiac disease, however, cannot tolerate the gluten-free-labeled oats.

Wheat terms to know

There are different varieties of wheat, all of which contain wheat gluten:

  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Kamut
  • Spelt

Wheat flours have different names based on how the wheat is milled or the flour is processed. All of the following flours have gluten:

  • Enriched flour with added vitamins and minerals
  • Farina, milled wheat usually used in hot cereals
  • Graham flour, a course whole-wheat flour
  • Self-rising flour, also called phosphate flour
  • Semolina, the part of milled wheat used in pasta and couscous
Gluten-free food labels

When you are buying processed foods, you need to read labels to determine if they contain gluten. Foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or triticale — or an ingredient derived from them — must be labeled with the name of the grain in the label’s content list.

Foods that are labeled gluten-free, according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, must have fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Foods with these labels may include:

  • Naturally gluten-free food
  • A prepared food that doesn’t have a gluten-containing ingredient
  • Food that has not been cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during production
  • Food with a gluten-containing ingredient that has been processed to remove gluten

Alcoholic beverages made from naturally gluten-free ingredients, such as grapes or juniper berries, can be labeled gluten-free.

An alcoholic beverage made from a gluten-containing grain (wheat, barley, rye and hybrid grains such as triticale) can carry a label stating the beverage was “processed,” “treated” or “crafted” to remove gluten. However, the label must state that gluten content cannot be determined and the beverage may contain some gluten. These beverages may not be labeled gluten-free.

Processed foods that often contain gluten

In addition to foods in which wheat, barley and rye are likely ingredients, these grains are standard ingredients in a number of other products. Also, wheat or wheat gluten is added as a thickening or binding agent, flavoring, or coloring. It’s important to read labels of processed foods to determine if they contain wheat, as well as barley and rye.

In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Breads
  • Bulgur wheat
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Malt, malt flavoring and other malt products (barley)
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Hot dogs and processed lunchmeats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat)
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups, bouillon or soup mixes
  • Vegetables in sauce
Medications and supplements

Prescription and over-the-counter medications may use wheat gluten as a binding agent. Talk to your doctor or pharmacists about the drugs you’re taking. Dietary supplements that contain wheat gluten must have “wheat” stated on the label.

Eating gluten-free at home and in restaurants

For people with celiac disease, in particular, it’s important to avoid exposure to gluten. The following tips can help you prevent cross-contamination in your own food preparations at home and avoid gluten-containing food when you eat out:

  • Store gluten-free and gluten-containing foods in different places.
  • Keep cooking surfaces and food storage areas clean.
  • Wash dishes and cooking equipment thoroughly.
  • Toast bread in the oven — or consider separate toasters — to avoid cross-contamination.
  • Read restaurant menus online ahead of time if possible to be sure there are options for you.
  • Eat out early or late when a restaurant is less busy and better able to address your needs.

Results

Keeping a strict gluten-free diet is a lifelong necessity for people with celiac disease. Following the diet and avoiding cross-contamination results in fewer symptoms and complications of the disease.

For some people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the condition may not be lifelong. Some research suggests that you may follow the diet for a certain period, such as one or two years, and then retest your sensitivity to gluten. For other people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the diet may be a lifelong treatment.

Some clinical studies have looked at the benefits of the diet among people who do not have celiac disease or who have non-celiac gluten sensitivity. More research is needed to determine the accuracy of the following claims about the diet’s results:

  • Weight loss
  • Overall improved health
  • Improved gastrointestinal health
  • Improved athletic performance

Risks

The foods not included in a gluten-free diet provide important vitamins and other nutrients. For example, whole-grain breads and other products are natural or enriched sources of the following:

  • Iron
  • Calcium
  • Fiber
  • Thiamin
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Folate

Therefore, following a gluten-free diet will likely change your nutrient intake. Some gluten-free breads and cereals have significantly varied nutrient levels compared with the products they are replacing.

Some gluten-free foods also have higher fat and sugar contents than the gluten-containing food being replaced. It’s important to read labels, not only for gluten content but also for overall nutrient levels, salt, calories from fats and calories from sugars.

You can talk to your doctor or dietitian about foods that would provide healthy, nutrient-rich alternatives.

Costs

The costs of prepared gluten-free foods are generally higher than the cost of the foods being replaced. The expense of following a gluten-free diet can be substantial, especially if your diet includes foods that aren’t naturally gluten-free.

 

Get the latest health advice from Mayo Clinic delivered
to your inbox.

Sign up for free, and stay up-to-date on research
advancements, health tips and current health topics,
like COVID-19, plus expert advice on managing your health.

Learn more about our use of data

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information and to understand which
information
is beneficial, we may combine your e-mail and website usage information with other
information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic Patient,
this could include Protected Health Information (PHI). If we combine this information
with your PHI, we will treat all of that information as PHI,
and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy
practices. You may opt-out of e-mail communications
at any time by clicking on the Unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Subscribe!

Thank you for Subscribing

Our Housecall e-newsletter will keep you up-to-date
on the latest health information.

We’re sorry! Our system isn’t working.

Please try again.

Something went wrong on our side, please try again.

Please try again

March 18, 2021

Show references

  1. Questions and answers: Gluten-free food labeling final rule. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362880.htm. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  2. Ciacci C, et al. The gluten-free diet and its current application in coeliac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis. United European Gastroenterology. 2015; doi:10.11772050640614559263.
  3. Freeman AM, et al. Trending cardiovascular nutrition controversies. Journal of the Americal College of Cardiology. 2017; doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2016.10.086.
  4. Newberry C, et al. Going gluten free: The history and nutritional implications of today’s most popular diet. Current Gastroenterology Reports. 2017; doi:10.1007/s11894-017-0597-2.
  5. Gluten-free diet. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  6. Ehteshami M, et al. The effect of gluten free diet on components of metabolic syndrome: A randomized clinical trial. Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention. 2018; doi:10.22034/APJCP.2018.19.10.2979.
  7. Fry L, et al. An investigation into the nutritional composition and cost of gluten-free versus regular food products in the UK. Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics. 2018; doi:10.1111/jhn.12502.
  8. Leonard MM, et al. Celiac disease and nonceliac gluten sensitivity: A review. JAMA. 2017; doi:10.1001/jama.2017.9730.
  9. Mitoma H, et al. Immune-mediated cerebellar ataxias: From bench to bedside. Cerebellum & Ataxias. 2017; doi:10.1186/s40673-017-0073-7.
  10. Zis P, et al. Treatment of neurological manifestations of gluten sensitivity and coeliac disease. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s11940-019-0552-7.
  11. Celiac disease healthy eating tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  12. Celiac disease nutrition therapy. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  13. Celiac disease label reading tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  14. Revised interim policy on gluten content statements in the labeling and advertising of wine, distilled spirits, and malt beverages. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. https://www.ttb.gov/images/pdfs/rulings/2014-2.pdf. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
  15. Duyff RL. Cope with food allergies and other food sensitivies. In: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. 5th ed. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2017.
  16. Lee AR, et al. Persistent economic burden of the gluten free diet. Nutritents. 2019; doi: 10.3390/nu11020399.

See more In-depth


.

Dietary Changes for Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a disorder that damages your small intestine and keeps it from absorbing the nutrients in food. The damage to your intestinal tract is caused by your immune system’s reaction to gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Some oats contain gluten. 

When you have celiac disease, gluten causes your immune system to damage or destroy villi. Villi are the tiny, fingerlike tubules that line your small intestine. The villi’s job is to get food nutrients to the blood through the walls of your small intestine. If villi are destroyed, you may become malnourished, no matter how much you eat. This is because you aren’t able to absorb nutrients. Complications of the disorder include anemia, seizures, joint pain, thinning bones, and cancer.

Lifestyle changes to cope with celiac disease

A gluten-free diet is the only treatment if you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease. You’ll have to avoid gluten for the rest of your life. Even the slightest amount will trigger an immune system reaction that can damage your small intestine. Eating a gluten-free diet requires a new approach to food. A gluten-free diet generally means not eating most grains, pasta, cereals, and processed foods. The reason is that they usually contain wheat, rye, and barley. You’ll need to become an expert at reading ingredient lists on packages. Choose foods that don’t contain gluten. You can still eat a well-balanced diet with many different foods, including meat, fish, rice, fruits, and vegetables, along with prepared foods that are marked gluten-free. 

Gluten-free bread, pasta, and other products have long been available at organic food stores and other specialty food shops. Today, you can find gluten-free products in just about every grocery store. Gluten-free dishes are on menus at all kinds of restaurants.

Tips for following a gluten-free diet

Here are steps to take when getting gluten out of your diet.

Rethink your grains:

  • Avoid all products with barley, rye, triticale (a cross between wheat and rye), farina, graham flour, semolina, and any other kind of flour, including self-rising and durum, not labeled gluten-free.

  • Be careful of corn and rice products. These don’t contain gluten, but they can sometimes be contaminated with wheat gluten if they’re produced in factories that also manufacture wheat products. Look for such a warning on the package label.

  • Go with oats. Recent studies suggest you can eat oats as long as they are not contaminated with wheat gluten during processing. You should check with your healthcare provider first.

  • Substitute potato, rice, soy, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, or bean flour for wheat flour. You can also use sorghum, chickpea or Bengal gram, arrowroot, and corn flour, as well as tapioca starch extract. These act as thickeners and leavening agents.

 Become a label expert:

  • Know terms for hidden gluten. Avoid einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut, wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, and hydrolyzed wheat protein. Stay away from emulsifiers, dextrin, mono- and di-glycerides, seasonings, and caramel colors because they can contain gluten.

  • Check the labels of all foods. Gluten can be found in food items you’d never suspect. Here are some likely to contain gluten:

    • Beer, ale, and lagers

    • Bouillon cubes

    • Brown rice syrup

    • Candy

    • Chips, potato chips

    • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, and sausage

    • Communion wafers

    • French fries

    • Gravy

    • Imitation fish

    • Matzo

    • Rice mixes

    • Sauces

    • Seasoned tortilla chips

    • Self-basting turkey

    • Soups

    • Soy sauce

    • Vegetables in sauce

More strategies for a gluten-free lifestyle

Here are ideas to better make the transition to a gluten-free diet:

  • Separate all kitchen items used for preparing gluten and gluten-free foods. These include cooking utensils, cutting boards, forks, knives, and spoons.

  • When eating out, if you’re not sure about the ingredients in a particular dish, ask the chef how the food was prepared. You can also ask whether a gluten-free menu is available. Most restau­rants have a website where you can review the menu in advance. 

  • Ask your pharmacist if any of your medicines contain wheat or a wheat byproduct. Gluten is used as an additive in many products from medicines to lipstick. Manufacturers can provide a list of ingredients on request if they are not named on the product. Many herbals, vitamins, supplements, and probiotics contain gluten. 

  • Watch your portion sizes. Gluten-free foods may be safe and good for you, but they’re not calorie-free.

If you still feel symptoms on your gluten-free diet, double check that you’re not still consuming small amounts of gluten hidden in sauces, salad dressings, and canned soups or through additives, such as modified food starch, preservatives, and stabilizers made with wheat. Even some medicines can contain gluten. Tablets and capsules can be sources of gluten contamination. The risk of your medicines containing gluten is very small but, if you are concerned, you should discuss this with your healthcare provider. 

As you and your family become experts in reading food and product labels, you’ll be able to find hidden sources of gluten before they can cause a problem. You might also get more ideas from joining a support group, in person or online, that can help you adjust to your new way of life. These are great forums for learning a wealth of delicious recipes for everything from gluten-free cookies and banana bread to biscuits, trail mix, and grits.

Gluten Free Diet: Foods to Avoid vs. Safe Foods

What foods do I avoid on the gluten–free diet?

Following a gluten–free diet means you should remove all foods that have – or could have – gluten from your diet. Foods that contain gluten should never be eaten by anyone with celiac disease.

Ways to eliminate gluten-containing food from your diet:

  • Remove grains that contain gluten from your diet. You shouldn’t eat any food that contains wheat, barley, or rye. Keep in mind that wheat has many forms. Avoid products that include bulgur, durum, graham, kamut, spelt, farro and semolina. These are all forms of wheat!
  • Avoid all gluten-containing foods such as bagels, breads, cakes, candy, cereals, crackers, cookies, dressing, flour tortillas, gravy, ice cream cones, licorice, malts, rolls, pretzels, pasta, pizza, pancakes, sauces, stuffing, soy sauce, veggie burgers, vegetarian bacon/vegetarian chicken patties (many vegetarian meat substitute products contain gluten) and waffles. Please note this is NOT a complete list.Fortunately, gluten-free varieties are available for most of these foods.
  • Look for “hidden” sources of gluten. Avoid foods that list gluten-containing ingredients such as ale, barley, beer, bleached flour, bran, bread flour, brewer’s yeast, brown flour, brown rice syrup (unless the food is labeled gluten free), bulgur, couscous, dextrin (unless the source is gluten-free), durum, farina, farro, hydrolyzed vegetable (wheat) protein, gluten flour, graham flour, granary flour, groats, harina, kamut, malt, malt extract, malt syrup, malt vinegar, matzo, modified starch (unless the source is gluten-free), rye, orzo, seitan, semolina, self-rising flour, spelt, smoke flavoring, soy sauce, triticale, wheat germ, wheat and white flour, whole meal flour, and vegetable gum.

What’s important to know about barley?

Barley contains gluten and is frequently used to make malt. As a general rule, you should avoid natural or malt flavorings. If a food has “natural” or “malt” flavorings in the ingredient list, contact the company to see if these flavorings came from a non–gluten source.

Do I need to avoid oats?

It’s best to check with your health care provider to see if you can eat traditional oats or if you need to look for certified gluten-free oats. To find out if your favorite brand of oatmeal is gluten-free, check the package each time you purchase them. You can also call the company or check the brand’s website. Some brands, such as Bob’s Redmill, Glutenfreeda, and GF Harvest make oatmeal that is certified gluten-free. When eating out or when in doubt, avoid oats and oat-containing cereals and breads since oats may be cross-contaminated with wheat.

What foods are safe to enjoy on the gluten–free diet?

There are lots of delicious foods to enjoy! Many foods are naturally gluten-free, including milk, butter, cheese, fruits and vegetables, fresh meats, fish, poultry, eggs, beans, nuts, seeds, corn, quinoa, and rice. While most breads, pastas, cereals, and baked goods are made with grains and flours containing gluten, there are many grains and flours that are naturally gluten-free – and many products on the market made from these grains and flours. Think of these grains, and products made with them, as safe foods – in other words, safe to eat on the gluten-free diet!

Gluten-free grains
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Bean Flours/pasta (such as garbanzo, black bean, or lentil)
  • Brown Rice Flour
  • Buckwheat
  • Casava Flour
  • Carob Flour
  • Corn (Maize), Corn Flour
  • Corn Meal
  • Cornstarch
  • Kasha (roasted buckwheat kernels)
  • Kuzu Root Starch
  • Masa Flour
  • Millet
  • Montina Flour
  • Nut Flour (almond, pecan)
  • Potato, Potato Flour
  • Pea/lentil Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Quinoa, Quinoa Flakes
  • Rice bran
  • Rice (brown, white, wild)
  • Sago Flour
  • Sorghum Flour
  • Tapioca Flour, Tapioca Starch
  • Taro Root
  • Teff, Teff Flour
  • Yam/Sweet Potato Flour

 

How can I tell if a food is gluten–free?

A product labeled “gluten-free”, “no gluten” or “without gluten” is the fastest and easiest way to spot a gluten-free product. Manufactures can use these terms if they comply with the FDA rule of “gluten-free”. However, the FDA is unable to check every single label and sometimes mistakes are made so check the ingredient list as well if there is a “gluten-free” claim on the label.

Another way to tell if a product contains gluten is to read the allergen statement on packaged foods. The FDA food allergen labeling law requires food companies to label all foods that have wheat or contain wheat products. The allergen statement is found at the end of the ingredient list on packaged foods; if it says “contains wheat”, this means it has gluten and it’s unsafe.

The food labeling law does NOT apply to barley, rye, or oats. This means if the allergen statement does not include wheat, you need to continue reading through the ingredient list for the other sources of gluten described above. If you don’t see any of those words in the ingredient list, then the food is most likely a safe food.

In the sample ingredient label below, the ingredients are circled in red and the allergen statement is circled in blue. This food, which contains whole grain wheat, is not safe.

There is also a symbol that may appear on packaging of gluten free

foods, which the Gluten Intolerance Group has deemed “Certified Gluten Free.” This symbol represents that the food manufacturer has applied for and been granted certification of the product’s status of gluten-free, by submitting test results showing that there is no gluten contained in the product.

You might notice that some food labels have the following statements and are unsure whether or not you should eat them. When in doubt, ask your dietitian or medical provider, but in general:

  • “May contain traces of wheat” – AVOID
  • “Made on shared equipment with wheat ingredients” – AVOID
  • “Manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat ingredients” – OK

Coeliac disease diet sheet | Gluten-free diet

The gluten-free diet

Managing coeliac disease simply involves removing all sources of gluten from your diet. There are sources that might seem obvious. However, there are some foods that might contain hidden sources of gluten. This is why it is important to understand what to look out for on the label.

Reading labels and identifying gluten in foods

By law, if a food contains gluten it must be listed on the label. Many processed foods contain gluten, as it is used as an additive or foods become contaminated during the production process. Therefore, it is important to check the labels when out shopping.

Avoid products that contain any of the following:

  • Wheat.
  • Barley.
  • Rye.
  • Spelt.
  • Contaminated oats (see below).
  • Malt and malted barley (found in breakfast cereals, sauces, pickles and confectionary).

Not all foods that are gluten-free will mention this on the label, so always check to see whether it contains gluten. The crossed grain symbol is used by many manufacturers to highlight that a product is gluten-free. Some manufacturers may use their own symbol. Other products may simply state it on the packaging. For example, you may see:

  • Gluten-free
  • Suitable for coeliacs
  • Free from gluten

Foods that contain gluten

Checking the labels is useful when identifying foods that contain gluten. However, it’s helpful to have a general idea of what foods to avoid and what foods may be allowed.

 

Food Group Foods Allowed Foods to Avoid

Cereals and flour

Cornflour, polenta, potato, cassava, bean and lentil flour, split pea flour, millet, quinoa, buckwheat, rice (all types), maize, arrowroot, sorghum, teff, amaranth.

Breakfast cereals allowed are: some branded and equivalent supermarket brands of corn-based or rice-based cereals – eg, cornflakes, rice snaps, honey nut cornflakes. (Always check the label as some varieties may not be gluten-free.)

Wheat, rye, barley, bulgar wheat, spelt, durum wheat, triticale, khorasan wheat (Kamut®), wheat flour, wheat starch, wheat bran, oat bran, semolina, couscous, malt and malted barley.

Avoid all wheat-based breakfast cereals and muesli.

Breads, cakes and biscuits

Gluten-free products specially manufactured (supermarkets have specialised ranges): eg, breads, biscuits, pizza bases, flour mixes, cakes. Products made from cereals or flours from the allowed list. Products made without flour (check the label for other gluten sources) or with gluten-free flour.

All bread and bread products – eg, croissants, bagels, pitta bread, chapatti, naan bread, crispbreads, crackers, matzos, muffins, scones, croutons, pancakes, pizza, yorkshire puddings, wafers and ice cream cones, pastries and pies.

Pasta, rice and noodles

All types of fresh rice. Rice noodles (check the label). Gluten-free pasta, corn pasta.

Any fresh, dried or tinned pasta, and noodles. Processed rice found in salads or ready meals.

Potatoes

All fresh potatoes. Some crisps (check the label). Home-made chips made from fresh potatoes.

Processed potatoes – eg, potato salad, waffles, some chips, instant mash, crisps or potato snacks.

Meat, fish and poultry

All fresh meat, fish and poultry. Tinned fish- eg, tuna/salmon. Smoked, kippered or dried fish. Gluten-free sausages. Gluten-free fish fingers.

Some processed meats or products coated in batter or breadcrumbs. Pies, puddings, suet, stuffing, fish fingers, chicken nuggets, fishcakes, sausages, burgers, haggis, taramasalata, rissoles, Quorn®.

Milk, dairy, eggs and dairy alternatives

Natural plain cheese, fresh milk, cream, condensed milk, yoghurts, fromage frais, soya milk, goat’s milk, coconut milk, almond milk, rice milk, dried skimmed milk powder, eggs.

Check the labels where possible.

Check the labels of processed cheese, low-fat cheese spreads, artificial cream and yoghurts. Yoghurts containing muesli or cereals. Scotch eggs.

Fats and oils

Vegetable oil, olive oil, butter, lard, reduced fat/low-fat spreads (check the labels).

Suet, some brands of low-fat spreads.

Fruit, vegetables, nuts and pulses

Fresh, dried or tinned fruit, vegetables, nuts, beans, pulses and seeds. Check the labels of some baked bean brands.

Processed fruit and vegetables that are coated in breadcrumbs/or in sauces. Some brands of nuts.

Desserts and puddings

Meringues, sorbets, ice creams, jelly, mousses, custard powders, milk puddings made with gluten-free ingredients. Always check labels of these food products.

Trifles, sponge puddings, semolina, tarts, and puddings made from flours in the ‘foods to avoid’ list.

Snack foods

Prawn crackers, rice cakes, poppadoms, home-made popcorn, gluten-free crispbreads and crackers.

Check the labels of these products.

Pretzels, Bombay mix, snacks made from flours in the ‘foods to avoid’ list.

Confectionary, sweets and preserves

Sugar, golden syrup, icing sugar, treacle, molasses, jam, honey, marmalade, peanut butter, boiled sweets and jellies.

Some chocolate bars, toffees and sweets (always check the labels).

Soups, sauces and seasonings

Fresh salt and pepper, herbs, spices, vinegars (eg, rice wine, balsamic), homemade fresh soups, gluten-free soups, sauces and seasonings.

Packet soups and sauces, gravies, soy sauce, ketchups, mayonnaise, salad dressings, pickles and chutneys, stuffing and stuffing mixes, stock cubes, bouillon, Worcestershire sauce (some brands may be gluten-free).

Drinks and alcohol

Tea, coffee, fizzy drinks, squashes, cordials, fresh juices, milk, some cocoa powders, cider, spirits, wines, liqueurs, sherry, port.

Barley drinks or squashes, cloudy fizzy drinks, malted milk drinks, instant vending machine drinks, some milkshakes and sports drinks, beer, lager, stout, ale.

Other

Bicarbonate of soda, fresh and dried yeast, marzipan, yeast extracts, tofu, food colourings and flavourings, gelatine. Always check the labels.

All medicines prescribed by a GP are gluten-free.

Baking powder, some medicines and vitamins. 

Foods naturally free from gluten

If foods are being excluded from the diet, it is important to ensure you are still having a balanced diet to obtain all the nutrients you need. Foods naturally free from gluten include fruit, vegetables, meat, fish, rice, potatoes, beans, pulses, nuts, eggs, milk and dairy. Sticking to a gluten-free diet can be difficult, so including plenty of these in the diet will make it easier.

Vinegar is gluten-free. Barley malt vinegar is produced from barley. However, the processing involved removes barley protein and therefore removes the gluten from the final product. These products will still be labelled as containing barley in the ingredients list.

Gluten-free alternatives

Living with a diet free from gluten can be difficult and so there are products available to help keep the diet varied and easier to maintain. These products will also help to provide you with the energy and nutrients you need.

There is a wide range of gluten-free products available. It’s likely that you’ll find gluten-free alternatives of most foods. Products available include the basics such as gluten-free bread, pasta, flour, plain biscuits and cakes, crackers, crispbreads and pizza bases. Luxury products include biscuits, cakes, muesli, muffins, stuffing mix, confectionary, cereal bars, fish fingers, chicken nuggets and other convenience foods.

Many of the supermarket chains have gluten-free ranges. Some companies that provide gluten-free products include:

  • Free From
  • Juvela
  • Glutafin
  • Genius
  • Ener-G
  • DS-gluten free
  • Warburtons
  • Proceli
  • Barkat

Some companies offer free starter packs, so you can try a range of products and find ones that you prefer. Some gluten-free products contain Codex wheat starch, which improves the taste and texture of these items. This contains a very low level of gluten, which has been shown to be tolerated by most of those with coeliac disease. However, a small percentage of people who are highly sensitive to gluten may find that symptoms occur and so choosing products without Codex wheat starch may be more appropriate.

Gluten-free products can be expensive. However, you can obtain some of these products on prescription. Talk to your GP to get a prescription. Basic gluten-free products are usually available on prescription, although luxury items are not.

Oats

Oats can be part of a balanced diet in most people with coeliac disease, without causing damage or symptoms. These must be gluten-free, uncontaminated oats and so some products available on supermarket shelves may not be suitable. A list of manufacturers’ products that are safe and free from contamination can be found on the Coeliac UK website (see below) and in their Food and Drink Directory.

Oats can be a useful addition to the diet, as they are a valuable source of fibre and improve variety in the diet. This makes it easier to comply with a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free oats can be introduced from diagnosis now. However, some people may find they have symptoms after eating oats. If this happens to you, tell your healthcare professional.

Lifestyle advice

Contamination

Foods can become contaminated with gluten during processing or even during food preparation or storage at home. Ways to prevent contamination at home include:

  • Clean all surfaces before preparing foods.
  • Use your own storage cupboards for food, separate from any other foods containing gluten in the household.
  • Ensure food is stored in seal-tight containers.
  • Use toaster bags.
  • Use separate containers for jam, butter and chutneys or ensure that a clean knife is always used when serving.
  • Use separate utensils and chopping boards during food preparation or make sure these are thoroughly cleaned before use.
  • Make sure hands are thoroughly washed after handling gluten-containing food.
  • Make sure that others in your household are aware of the condition and the importance of avoiding contamination.

Eating out

When eating out it can be helpful to prepare and plan ahead. Call ahead to the chef to ask about gluten-free choices on the menu and explain your dietary needs. Some restaurants will be happy to cater for your needs and adjust dishes accordingly. Remember that cross-contamination can occur in restaurant kitchens and consider hidden sources of gluten that may be in restaurant foods. For example, sauces and gravies are often thickened with flour. Sometimes, chips may be fried in oil that has been used for deep-frying other products such as foods coated in batter or breadcrumbs.

Communicate with friends and family, explaining about cross-contamination, appropriate gluten-free foods and sources of gluten that may not be obvious. For example, some herbs, spices and flavourings.

Coeliac UK has a venue guide, highlighting the appropriate places to eat that are coeliac-friendly.

Travelling

Again, planning ahead is advised for travelling. If you are going on holiday, you may wish to book a hotel that can cater for your gluten-free dietary needs and inform hotels in advance. Self-catering may be an easier way to control a gluten-free diet.

If you are going to a place where you are unfamiliar with the local food, it may be worth having a look into what the foods are and how they are made, before travelling.

Ask the airline you are travelling with whether they have gluten-free meal choices for the plane journey. It can be useful to carry gluten-free snacks around with you when travelling, as it may not always be easy to find gluten-free products when out and about.

Overall balance of the diet

Once you have successfully achieved a gluten-free diet, it is important to consider other aspects of your diet to keep you healthy. A diet in line with the ‘eatwell plate’ will provide you with all the nutrients and energy you need. After commencing a gluten-free diet, the lining of the intestine will repair, restoring normal absorption of nutrients. This means that deficiencies such as iron-deficiency anaemia should begin to resolve and improve.

Calcium

Those with coeliac disease are more at risk of ‘thinning’ of the bones (osteoporosis). This is partly due to having poor absorption of calcium when gluten has been included in the diet. Those with coeliac disease have a higher requirement for calcium. An intake of 1000 mg-1500 mg each day is recommended. Sources of calcium include:

Glass of milk/soya milk enriched with calcium (200 ml)

245 mg

Cheese (30 g)

216 mg

Yoghurt/soya yoghurt (one pot)

225 mg

Gluten-free bread fortified with calcium (two slices)

300 mg

Sardines with bones (100 g)

460 mg

Tofu (100 g)

510 mg

Dried figs (100 g)

250 mg

Broccoli

50 mg

Baked beans (half a tin)

100 mg

You may need a supplement if you are unable to meet your calcium requirements through diet. Additionally, vitamin D is necessary to help absorb calcium from food. We mainly obtain our vitamin D from sunlight, as it is not in many foods. Ask your GP or dietician whether you need calcium or vitamin D supplements. Additionally, you may want to ask your GP about having a DEXA scan. DEXA stands for dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry. This scan looks at how dense your bones are, so that any problems with your bones can be identified.

Iron

It can be helpful to include iron-rich foods in your diet to help you achieve normal iron levels. Animal sources are better absorbed by the body but iron is found in plant sources too. Vitamin C can help to absorb iron, so you may want to have a glass of orange juice with meals, eat a piece of fruit after a meal or include fruit and vegetables at mealtimes.

Iron is found in:

  • Red meat such beef or lamb.
  • Other meat, including chicken and turkey.
  • Fish and shellfish – eg, sardines, mackerel, salmon, prawns, mussels.
  • Liver, kidney, pâté.
  • Beans and pulses – eg, lentils, chickpeas and baked beans.
  • Green leafy vegetables – eg, broccoli, cabbage, spinach.
  • Nuts and seeds – eg, Brazil nuts, almonds, peanut butter.
  • Dried fruit – eg, raisins, apricots and dates.

In summary, the gluten-free diet is the only treatment for coeliac disease. Eliminating gluten completely from your diet for life should help to improve any damage that has occurred to the lining of the intestines. This will improve symptoms and your ability to absorb nutrients from food.

Celiac Disease Diet: Best Foods and Supplements

Considering only a small amount of gluten can trigger symptoms, it’s important for anyone with celiac disease to be aware of the risk for cross-contamination when dining out. For instance, if you’re ordering a gluten-free fried food, Dr. Bertiger recommends asking someone knowledgeable at the restaurant how they fry their food. “If it’s fried in the same oil as gluten-containing foods, that’s enough to cause a problem,” he says. Many restaurants only have one fryer.

Additionally, experts at the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics recommend calling the restaurant ahead of time to talk about your options. When you’re ordering, stress to the server that you absolutely need to eat gluten-free. If you’d like, you can explain why. (7)

Also, ask detailed questions about ingredients and how food is prepared. This helps the staff understand that you’re not eating gluten-free because you’re following a “trendy diet” (and therefore cross-contamination doesn’t matter as much), but that it’s a matter of your health.

A Word on Medication and the Risk for Gluten Exposure if You Have Celiac Disease

Many medicines contain gluten as fillers and binders, which can make treating celiac disease even more of a challenge.

Currently, drugs are not required to note that there may be gluten in the formula on the label. “Sometimes even manufacturers don’t know,” says Bertiger. When patients ask if they can take a specific medication, “the truthful answer is ‘we’re not sure,’” he says.

If a medication is important for a patient’s health, Bertiger advises taking it; doctors can then retest for antibodies to see if the particular medication may be aggravating any symptoms.

How to Avoid Nutritional Deficiencies if You’re Managing Celiac Disease

One complication that often arises from celiac disease is nutrient deficiencies. “The severity of the inflammatory reaction in the intestine, and how much of the intestine is affected, influences how someone absorbs nutrients,” says Bertiger.

Bertiger points out that while people with celiac can be deficient in a range of vitamins, most commonly he sees B12, calcium, iron, and vitamin D. (Though so many people, especially in Northern climates, are vitamin D deficient that this is often seen across the board in people with celiac and healthy folks.) Along with those, Mukherjee often sees deficiencies of zinc, folic acid, and carnitine, a nutrient that helps the body produce energy. (8)

Problems with macronutrients can pop up as well. “In worse cases of celiac disease, patients cannot absorb and digest fats very well, so they may have diarrhea filled with fat,” he says. In that case, someone won’t absorb calories very well, so weight loss and malnourishment becomes a legitimate concern.

Iron deficiency is especially telling. “Many people become iron deficient as the first sign of celiac disease,” says Bertiger. “When patients are mildly anemic, one of the first tests we give them is for celiac,” he adds.

The first course of action is to treat celiac with a gluten-free diet. It’s best to meet with a registered dietitian who specializes in celiac who can assess your diet, provide guidance on what to eat, and help you meet your nutrient recommendations to correct deficiencies. “He or she can also identify all the nooks and crannies in the world that gluten hides,” says Bertiger.

To find a dietitian if you don’t already have one, check out EatRight.org.

90,000 What is gluten, what foods contain it and why is it harmful

Products labeled “gluten-free” or “gluten free” are becoming more popular, the media talk about the dangers of gluten, and fitness magazines publish gluten-free diets. Many people try to give up gluten without fully understanding why it is needed.

The article tells what gluten is, how it is useful and harmful, what products it contains, how it affects weight loss and who should give up gluten.

What is gluten and where is it contained?

Gluten is a vegetable protein found in cereals and consists of gliadin and glutenin.It is he who gives the viscosity “gluten” (from the word glue – glue) – a special substance of wheat, rye and barley.

What foods contain gluten?

Wheat, rye and barley, for example, are more than 70% gluten. Thanks to it, the dough rises and all the products associated with it turn out to be tasty: bread, pasta, baked goods, breakfast cereals, etc.

Gluten is used not only in dough, it is used as a “modified starch” or “thickener” in sauces, ketchup, yoghurt.That is, wherever you need to make a thick consistency. Also, gluten is used as a preservative in soft white bread (so it does not get stale for a long time), sausages, dumplings, semi-finished products.

List of products that may contain gluten:

  • wheat (bread, pasta, baked goods)
  • rye, oats, barley
  • breakfast cereals (except real cornflakes)
  • sausages
  • canned food
  • sweets
  • thick sauces
  • yoghurts
  • beer
  • ice cream

List of gluten-free products:

  • protein products (meat, fish, eggs, poultry, cottage cheese)
  • kefir
  • butter and vegetable oil
  • honey
  • cereals: buckwheat, corn, rice
  • vegetables (potatoes, cabbage, peas, cucumbers)
  • fruits (apples, pears)
  • berries
  • jam
  • sugar

Gluten: harm and benefit

What is harmful gluten?

Gluten is harmful in 2 cases:

  • gluten intolerance
  • celiac disease

A special enzyme is needed to break down gluten, the deficiency of which leads to gluten intolerance. This disease is called celiac disease. According to statistics, 1% of the world’s population suffers from celiac disease. Due to gluten intolerance, digestion is disturbed, iron deficiency occurs, which can lead to other diseases. Symptoms of intolerance: bloating, diarrhea, decreased performance and weakened immunity. Celiac disease cannot be cured, only avoiding gluten-rich foods helps.

In addition to disease, gluten hypersensitivity occurs. Symptoms are similar, but tests may not show this.

There are two ways to check the body’s reaction to gluten:

  • medical tests
  • experiment

The first method is safer, faster and more accurate. The second is to eliminate gluten-free foods for a few weeks. Then resume your gluten intake and watch for health changes.

Example of a gluten-free diet menu:

9010

1st day 2nd day
Breakfast Omelet, calcined cottage cheese 907 cheese, porridge 9010 boiled, mashed potatoes, cheese, egg, tea, butter
Lunch Meat puree, beef steamed meatballs, buckwheat porridge, blueberry jelly Buckwheat soup with meat broth with mashed carrots, roll with rice porridge, apple jelly
Afternoon snack Rosehip infusion, corn flakes Blueberry kissel
Dinner Buckwheat porridge, boiled fish, tea, butter
At night Kefir Kefir

Source: sportwiki. to

Gluten and weight loss

Another harmful property is attributed to gluten – excess weight gain. The reason for such conclusions is a simple logical error. By giving up gluten, people begin to eat less bread, pastries, sweets and other high-calorie foods with fast carbohydrates. Because of this, the total calorie content of the diet is reduced, and weight is reduced. The reason for excess weight is not gluten, but an excess of foods that contain it.

Interestingly, sometimes switching to foods labeled “gluten-free” leads to even more weight gain.In such products, fats and starch are used instead of gluten, and sugar and flavorings are used to improve the taste.

But what about the stories of people who have eliminated gluten from their diet and began to feel better, have achieved success in sports? The story is still the same – a logical error. By eliminating baked goods, hamburgers, beer, pizza, and other similar foods from their diet, they benefitted more from eliminating those foods rather than gluten itself.

Research from 2017 showed that a gluten-free diet can harm healthy people! Avoiding gluten is only necessary when medically indicated.

Video: what is gluten and is it possible to eat it


If the site turned out to be useful to you, you can support us on Patreon. Or choose another way to support the project. Even a little help is a big contribution to our cause.

Subscribe to us on Instagram, Telegram, Yandex Zen and Vkontakte.

What is gluten in? List of foods containing gluten

Until 20-30 years ago, one could read about gluten only in medical articles.Recently, many have thought about its effect on human health. You can read about the dangers and benefits of gluten in the article “What is gluten? The harm and benefits of gluten. ”

At first, it may seem that sticking to a gluten-free diet is a trifling matter, because gluten, according to most, is found only in wheat, rye, and barley. In practice, everything is much more complicated.

In this article you will find information about which foods contain gluten, a list of foods with an explicit gluten content, as well as with a hidden one.

Methods of getting gluten into products

Those who have long lived with a diagnosis of celiac disease know by heart where gluten is. It is very difficult for beginners to figure it out quickly, especially when you consider that gluten enters the food in several ways, and not all of them are obvious.

Direct (explicit) gluten

These are rye, barley and wheat, which we know for sure about the gluten content. Based on this knowledge, we can conclude: there is gluten in traditional bread and in all products with the addition of wheat or rye flour.

It’s harder to answer, is there gluten in cereals? Not in all, so we will separately consider which cereals contain gluten and which do not.

Cereals containing gluten:

  • wheat, barley – this is obvious;
  • semolina, couscous, freke, ptitim, as well as bulgur. They are made from wheat;
  • spelled, kamut and durum. They are also types of wheat;
  • pearl barley. Groats are made from barley.

It is worth remembering that there is gluten in cereal flour (wheat, rye), as well as in bran.Therefore, flour and bran must be selected from the cereals in the following list.

Gluten-free cereals:

  • fig. Although all types of rice are considered safe, you should still give preference to brown, black and wild, which are much healthier;
  • buckwheat;
  • corn;
  • 90,023 millet;

    90,023 millet. Many are convinced that millet contains gluten – the opinion is erroneous, although cereals are poorly absorbed by the body, they will not harm;

  • oats.Scientists are still debating about this cereal. Officially, when asked if there is gluten in oatmeal and rolled oats, the answer will be no. But it is better to give preference to products with a special label “Gluten Free”.

It is not difficult to detect explicit gluten, it is enough to remember this list and carefully read the composition on the product packaging.

Hidden gluten

These are products to which the aforementioned explicit products have been added. For example, in the form of starch.

Of course, there is corn starch, potato starch that does not contain gluten. But not all manufacturers indicate which starch was added, and therefore it is rather difficult to identify the danger.

Often the starch on the packaging is named not by its main name, but by E additives (thickeners, sweeteners, preservatives). So, the dangerous ones are: E150a, E150b, E150c, E150d, E160, E965, also E411, E636 and E637.

Contrary to popular belief, E106, E471 and E953 are safe, they do not contain gluten.

Also, remember that gluten can be found in milk, farm meat and cheese. It all depends on the nutrition of the animal: if gluten-containing cereals were used as feed, then traces of gluten will be detected.

Cross-contamination

Gluten contamination is a type of gluten contamination that cannot be detected by a simple reading of the composition, and therefore presents the greatest danger.

The reason for the pollution is the proximity of the workshops and the imperfection of the processes of filling, packaging, etc.Thus, in products where gluten should not be, it will be detected after a more thorough analysis.

So, on some packages it is indicated that traces of gluten can be found in the composition. Unfortunately, not all manufacturers write about this.
Pay attention to the list of “unsafe foods” where traces of gluten are most often found:

  • canned food;
  • ready-made sauces, marinades;
  • dairy products with various additives;
  • semi-finished meat products, sausages, dried, smoked meat and fish products;
  • Nuts, cereals, legumes without the label “gluten-free” – often packed in the same plant and there is a risk of cross-contamination;
  • confectionery and bakery products, regardless of composition.

How to Eat a Gluten Free Diet

It turns out that in any product that has been processed, gluten can be hidden and it is not possible to detect it.

Therefore, beginners should avoid foods with a clear gluten content, and buy safe ones – labeled “Gluten Free”. The marking indicates that the products have been tested and have the appropriate certificates.

The Bezglutex store offers a wide selection of products that will allow you to get used to a new lifestyle and eat safely.We strongly recommend that you refer to any “tested food” lists on the forums and introduce foods one at a time to track your body’s response.

Eat right and stay healthy!

Many people give up gluten-free foods. Is it really harmful?

Many people give up gluten-free foods. Is it really harmful?

One of the strangest recent dietary trends from a physiological standpoint is gluten-free eating.Let’s try to figure out why gluten is harmful and useful, and whether it is worth giving up on it.
Gluten is a complex protein found in wheat (including spelled and bulgur) and most grains.
In the form of gluten, it is of great importance in the baking industry, determining such characteristics of the dough as elasticity and elasticity when mixed with water, and serves as one of the criteria for determining the quality of flour. In flour milling, dry gluten is added to low quality flour to produce flour that meets the requirements of the standard.The use of dry gluten allows you to increase water absorption during dough kneading, extend the shelf life of products, improve the structure and porosity, and increase the specific volume of bread. Dry gluten is also used to make minced meat and pasta. Gluten is added when cooking foods that need to be thickened. For example, when making ice cream, ketchup, gravy.

Partial list of foods high in gluten.
Wheat (up to 80%)
Semolina (50%)
Barley / pearl barley (23%)
Rye (16%)
Pasta (11%)
Bakery products (from 7 to 80%)

What’s useful in gluten free?
Gluten is a healthy slow carbohydrate, dietary fiber, B vitamins and trace elements (iron, copper, zinc, magnesium). Whole grains contain all of these benefits in the most accessible, delicious, and inexpensive form.

When can gluten be harmful?
Patients with a diagnosis such as celiac disease or, as it is also called, celiac disease should be treated with extreme caution when eating foods containing gluten. With this disease, gluten, getting into the body, simply destroys the villi of the small intestine. Symptoms of this disease: diarrhea, constipation, flatulence, vomiting, foaming feces, obesity or sudden weight loss.This can often be accompanied by muscle cramps, anemia, pain on critical days in women, and joints begin to ache. Against the background of all of the above, depression occurs, general health worsens. Infertility can develop as well as osteoporosis. The nature of this disease can be both hereditary and allergic or autoimmune. As a rule, it begins to manifest itself from the age of six months. And if earlier it was believed that no more than 1 percent of the world’s population was susceptible to this disease, then modern research proves that this number is much higher. Therefore, if after eating bread and other flour products and dishes, you begin to show the symptoms described above, do not delay, immediately consult a doctor. This will allow you to correctly establish the diagnosis in time and take timely measures, mainly choosing the right diet. After all, celiac disease is still not amenable to medication, so the most important thing in its treatment is to exclude foods containing gluten from the diet.

To find out if there is a food allergy caused by hypersensitivity to the pesticide protein gluten (gluten), doctors use the following diagnostic methods:
The analysis of blood for the determination of allergy to gluten is decisive, on the basis of it a final diagnosis is made, after which the test begins.
If gluten allergy is confirmed, a gluten-free diet is the main treatment.

How to properly organize your diet, excluding gluten from it?
When we read the list of foods prohibited for celiac patients (and these are wheat and rye bread, muffins, cookies, cereals made from wheat, rye, barley, pasta), we may come to some bewilderment and even be very upset. After all, these products often make up a significant part of our diet. But think about it: just one slice of bread contains 4-5 grams of gluten, in pasta – 6 grams per serving.And in a day with food, the average person gets up to 40 grams of this protein. But for a person with celiac disease, even 0.1 grams of gluten can be a critical amount. Therefore, there is only one way to treat this disease – to completely abandon foods containing gluten.
The main rule is not to eat foods that contain cereals in one form or another. Of course, this is not so easy to do, since it is not always possible for us to determine whether gluten is included in the product or not.In addition, for many, gluten-containing foods are a favorite, and giving up such a product is always difficult. And in this case, you must first of all rely on willpower to avoid “breakdowns”. And for the proper nutritional management of people who are forced to adhere to a gluten-free diet, we can give some tips.
First, eliminate convenience foods from your diet. Indeed, in the production of sausages, canned food of all types, frozen meat-containing products (cutlets, etc.)are used flavors, various starches, dyes. And they always include gluten. Therefore, buy only fresh meat, fish, fruits, vegetables. This way you will be insured against getting gluten into your meal.
Secondly, do the cooking yourself, or entrust it to someone close to you. This way you will know exactly what you are eating. Third, include gluten-free specific foods in your diet. These are crispbreads, pasta and other similar products that can be purchased from diet food departments.

What’s wrong with a gluten-free diet?
A low gluten diet is valid for a maximum of 4–5% of the population. She can harm the rest.
How eating gluten-free foods can harm:
– in a study of patients with celiac disease, it turned out that less than half of women and 88, 100 and 63% of men, respectively, get the right amount of dietary fiber, iron and calcium when eating only gluten-free foods.
– To improve the taste and texture of gluten-free food, add more salt, sugar, fat to it.There is a tendency to use a lot of trans fats in these foods, especially if they are manufactured food.
– A study of the market for gluten-free products confirms their low content of protein, sodium and fiber at a price of at least 2 times higher than their gluten-containing counterparts.
– A gluten-free diet does not reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease and may even increase it due to a lack of dietary fiber from whole grains.
And of course, you need to take into account the price that is too high not only because of the complexity of preparing such products, but also because of the popularity of gluten-free diets.
And it’s also just inconvenient – you can’t just sit in a cafe or shop quickly at the nearest store – gluten-free products are far from everywhere, and in many ordinary familiar products, not even made from wheat, gluten is still there as stabilizers or due to use the same production lines. In the store, you will have to carefully read the labels, and in cafes and restaurants, you will have to find out how, from what and on what pans the food is prepared.

So is there or not?
Probably the best principle here is: “sho zanadto is not healthy.”If you have celiac disease or are allergic to gluten, of course, you can’t eat it. But you probably have known about these conditions for a long time and follow the appropriate diet. If in doubt, any large laboratory can test for both allergies and celiac disease.

And in other cases it is better to be more attentive to yourself and your well-being after different products. There are no clear diagnostic criteria for non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and if you notice a deterioration in well-being after eating wheat products, try eliminating different groups of them in turn.Perhaps it will be enough to remove products from premium wheat, and leave healthy whole grains and durum varieties.

If you do not have hypersensitivity to gluten and bowel disease – most likely, you will just spend a lot of money and not get any benefit. But you get less vitamins and fibers you need, and you increase your risk of cardiovascular disease. We do not exclude citrus fruits or peanuts from the diet due to the fact that they are allergic.

Gluten Facts | Types of gluten-containing cereals and products

Gluten is a protein found in any food containing the following gluten-containing grains:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Spelled
  • Barley
  • Unripe wheat
  • Oats (excluding gluten-free types)
  • Einkorn Wheat
  • Two-grain wheat
  • Kamut
  • Triticale.

Gluten-containing products include flour, wheat starch, bread crumbs, pasta, muesli and all baked goods from biscuits to pretzels. This list is far from complete: gluten is also present in foods that are processed using binders.
Despite its low nutritional value, gluten has beneficial physiological and technological properties for processing flour.It is due to gluten that flour turns into a sticky dough when water is added. In addition, it makes the dough firm and holistic, and the bread and baked goods crispy.

Why are some people gluten intolerant?

Gluten intolerance is often hereditary, but there is also an important role for the immune system, the presence of infections and adherence to a certain diet.Be that as it may, intolerance does not always manifest itself in the same way: there are three main types of diseases: celiac disease, sensitivity to gluten and wheat, and wheat allergy. Often these terms are used interchangeably, but their manifestations are expressed in completely different symptoms and problems.

The environments of the most common complaints are: abdominal pain, diarrhea and headaches, as well as, in some cases, muscle and joint pain.

Before you completely stop consuming bread and pizza, contact a specialist who will conduct the necessary examinations and study your symptoms.He should determine if you have a gluten intolerance, and if so, what type. One way or another, for any of the three forms of intolerance, adherence to a gluten-free diet is prescribed, which contributes to a significant improvement in well-being.

Gluten is found not only in baked goods, baked goods and pasta, but also in some food products that at first glance do not contain it. We’ve put together a quick overview for you to help you pinpoint gluten-free foods.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Are you a doctor or nutritionist? For more information on gluten free, please contact Dr. Schär Institute, which is the platform of experts in the fields of gluten intolerance and gluten-free diets.

90,000 Gluten: what is it, is there any harm, a list of foods with gluten :: Health :: RBC Style

  1. What is gluten
  2. Gluten intolerance and other harm
  3. Where is gluten contained
  4. Gluten Free Products
  5. Myths and Truths About Gluten
  6. Doctor’s comment

Article reviewed and commented by Stanislav Khan, endocrinologist, nutritionist at Medswiss Zamoskvorechye clinic, blog author @doctor__khan

What is gluten

Gluten is gluten and a special vegetable protein found in all varieties of barley, rye and wheat [1].It consists of two types of protein: glutenin and gliadin.

When heated, gluten proteins form an elastic network that can stretch and retain gas, providing optimal loosening or increasing and maintaining moisture in bread, pasta and other similar products [2].

© Jennifer Pallian / Unsplash

Gluten intolerance and harm

Gluten intolerance is called celiac disease.This is an autoimmune disease in which the body is unable to assimilate gluten: the integrity of the walls of the small intestine is disrupted, which leads to problems with the assimilation of vitamins and minerals [3].

This disease affects about 1% of people in the world. As with many other autoimmune diseases, the exact cause of celiac disease remains unclear, but there is statistical evidence for a genetic predisposition. Doctors are investigating medication to control celiac disease, but a gluten-free diet remains the most effective way to combat the disease.

Japanese diet: features, menus for the week and expert opinion

Where is gluten contained

Gluten is found in many whole and processed foods, including:

  • Cereals: whole wheat, wheat bran, barley, rye, triticale, spelled, kamut, couscous, farro, semolina, bulgur, farina, einkorn, hard grains, wheat germ, split wheat, matzo, mir (a cross between wheat and rye ).
  • Processed grain products: crackers, bread, bread crumbs, pasta, seitan, wheat soba noodles, some vegetarian hamburgers, biscuits, baked goods.
  • Other foods and beverages: barley malt, malt vinegar, soy sauce, certain salad dressings, flour-thickened sauces or gravies, broth and certain broths, certain spice mixes, flavored chips, beer, certain wines.

Because gluten is often used in food processing as a thickener or stabilizer, it can be found in a wide variety of ready-to-eat and convenience foods. Manufacturers indicate this on the packaging, so read the composition before buying.Besides, a lot depends on the production and transportation of products. For example, pure oats are gluten-free, but they are often processed on the same machines as wheat. At the same time, an insignificant amount of gluten may appear in cereals [4].

From tomatoes to lemons: which foods help against aging

Products gluten-free

A gluten-free diet involves the elimination of some of the foods listed in the previous block. The diet remains complete, it can contain:

  • rice, millet, amaranth, quinoa, spelled and buckwheat;
  • 90,023 legumes;

    90,023 corn;

    90,023 potatoes;

    90,023 soybeans;

  • nuts;
  • 90,023 meat and fish;

  • milk and cheeses.

Since wheat flour contains gluten, you can cook baked goods on analogs: rice, corn, spelled, millet, chickpea and buckwheat flour. On such a diet, the body may not receive enough fiber, so it is important to include whole grains and vegetables in the diet. The doctor will help you create an individual menu, taking into account the possible deficiency of iron, calcium, folic acid and vitamins.

© Nadya Spetnitskaya / Unsplash

Myths and Truths About Gluten

Celiac disease is a genetic disease: true

People with celiac disease have one or both of two specific genes: HLA DQ2 and DQ8.But even if you have at least one of these genes, as do 40% of people, this does not mean that you will develop celiac disease.

Gluten is harmful only for celiac patients: myth

Gluten sensitivity is not celiac disease, but common. It is expressed in symptomatic intestinal and headaches, bloating, chronic fatigue, eczema, and depressive mental disorders. According to an article published in October 2017 in the World Journal of Gastroenterology, up to 6% of the US population suffers from these symptoms while consuming gluten-containing foods.

All foods with gluten are harmful: myth

In addition to the cases described above, this protein does not cause significant harm to health, and foods rich in it can become the basis for a healthy and healthy diet. Whole grains that contain gluten, such as barley and rye, provide healthy fiber, vitamins, and trace minerals. By the way, oatmeal is officially gluten free, but it is grown on the ground next to other grains, so there is a possibility of protein in it.

Gluten Free Weight Loss: True

Indeed, by giving up gluten, you will have to eliminate many unhealthy fast food dishes: industrial baked goods, hot dogs, hamburgers and snacks. Gluten is found in many desserts and store-bought cereals. Careful reading of the composition leads to a reduction in the consumption of large amounts of excess high-calorie foods, which leads to weight loss.

Gluten-Free Diet May Promote Weight Gain: True

The contradiction with the previous point is caused by options for replacing gluten products.If a person chooses to eliminate gluten-free breads, spaghetti and cookies, but replace them with processed gluten-free foods (instant cereals, baked goods with added starch), then the calorie content of the diet may increase. Plus, gluten-free foods may contain less fiber, minerals, and vitamins. Manufacturers often add more sugar, fat, and harmful chemicals to gluten-free baked goods to provide viscosity.

Keeping a gluten-free diet is difficult: myth

Yes, you will have to give up a number of familiar products.But this is a reason to experiment with new and forgotten old flavor combinations. Buckwheat, pearl barley, barley and corn are also known for their nutritional composition, but they do not contain gluten. The network offers many recipes for familiar breads, cookies and other baked goods made from gluten-free ingredients.

Gluten sensitivity can be diagnosed: myth

Research at the Celiac Disease Center at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston has shown that only celiac disease and an allergic reaction to gluten can be diagnosed.If a person is not sensitive to this element, then foods containing it can provide health benefits with conditions of moderate consumption. To be sure that gluten is safe for your body, it is worth undergoing an immunological test with a blood test for genetic markers.

Many nutritionists believe that a gluten-free diet is just a fashion trend that will soon pass. For example, Dr. Daniel A. Leffler, associate professor at Harvard Medical School, argues that gluten-free “people who are sensitive to gluten may feel better, but the majority of the population will not see significant benefits from the practice.”Biochemical personality makes it difficult to predict whether this type of diet will be optimal for you or not. The best way to determine this is by eliminating gluten-containing foods for a period of one month or more.

Expert commentary

Stanislav Khan, endocrinologist, nutritionist at Medswiss Zamoskvorechye clinic, blog author @doctor__khan

It is thanks to gluten that dough is formed, it is also often added to food to increase shelf life (just remember the tender sandwich bread, which is stored for months).For most people, gluten is safe. Only people with celiac disease should follow a gluten-free diet, they do not digest it.

It is believed that 1 in 184 children suffer from this pathology, but recently it has been proven that many more people have some degree of gluten indigestibility. Do not forget that cereals are the main source of vitamins A and B. They also provide the body with amino acids, iron, calcium, phosphorus. Gluten improves digestion through its ability to bind minerals and nutrients.

At the same time, many doctors note a noticeable improvement in the condition of patients with the transition to a gluten-free diet. But here, too, I advise you not to go to extremes. Just as you shouldn’t eat exclusively rolls, sausages and pasta, you should also join the gluten-free trend, because gluten-free products add more fat (otherwise getting the dough is simply impossible). As a rule, these foods have the same calorie content as regular ones with gluten, and sometimes more.

Explicit gluten is found in products containing wheat, rye, barley, oats: bread, bakery and confectionery, pasta.Hidden gluten is used as a food additive: these are starches and stabilizers that are used for the production of canned meat, fish, vegetables and fruit, including tomato pastes and ketchups.

Bottom Line: If you are not diagnosed with celiac disease or other gluten-related diseases, just eat a balanced diet. Gluten is absolutely safe for you.

Read also:

90,000 Gluten – Gluten Free & Gluten Free Food Table
Foods Gluten Free Possible gluten content Definitely contains gluten
Cereals and beans buckwheat, rice, corn, millet, potatoes, legumes (beans, beans, peas, chickpeas, mung bean, etc.)etc.) Possible content in flour of various types, puree b / p, any chips, popcorn, puffed rice, ready-made vegetable soups wheat, barley, rye and all products based on these cereals (spelled, flour, semolina, couscous, breakfast cereals, pasta, seitan)
Products from fruits, vegetables, nuts fresh vegetables and fruits. Nuts, not industrially processed Any canned vegetables and fruit, dried fruits and mixtures thereof, semi-finished products (purees, juices, preserves, jams, etc.)etc.) everything that contains flour from wheat, barley, rye, sauces
Dairy products natural yoghurts, natural milk, homemade kefir, natural homemade cheeses Mixed products – processed cheeses, ice cream, creams, puddings, Roquefort cheese dairy products with cereals, muesli (curd masses, yoghurts)
Meat, fish products, eggs poultry eggs, all types of meat and fish, fresh sausages, sausages, small sausages fish and meat dishes in bread crumbs (nuggets, cutlets), imitation of crab meat
Condiments, sauces and bakery additives vegetable and butter, animal fat, wine or apple cider vinegar, one-part seasonings, produced by a non-industrial method Any industrial sauces, mayonnaises, ketchups, salad dressings, mustard, horseradish, baking powder, seasoning mixes, margarines, spreads, bouillon cubes table vinegar, food additives: E106b, E150, E150a, E150b, E150c, E150d, E160, E411, E471, E636, E637, E953, E965
Confectionery sugar, honey, marmalade ice cream, cocoa, chocolate, chewing gum, caramel chocolate and cereal sweets, bars
Beverages Natural tea without additives, freshly squeezed juice, natural lemonade, coffee beans Mixes for preparing drinks, industrial soda barley or malt coffee substitutes, kvass, beer, malt whiskey

What are gluten-free foods? List of Gluten Free Foods

Gluten This is a protein found in some grains such as wheat, rye and barley.

Helps to maintain the shape of products, giving them elasticity and moisture. It also helps the bread to rise and create a porous texture.

Gluten although safe for most people celiac disease or gluten intolerance People with these conditions should avoid gluten to avoid adverse health effects.

Many foods are made with ingredients that contain gluten, so those who cannot eat gluten should check ingredient labels carefully.

here gluten free list…

Gluten free cereals

Some whole grains contain gluten and some are gluten free.

When buying whole grains, double check food labels. Even gluten-free whole grains can be contaminated with gluten when processed in the same facility as gluten-containing foods.

Ornegin, oat Usually processed in wheat processing plants, which can lead to cross-contamination.So make sure the oats you buy are gluten-free.

Sorghum

Sorghum is commonly grown for both grain and animal feed. It is also used to make some alcoholic beverages, as well as sorghum syrup, which is a type of sweetener.

This gluten-free cereal contains beneficial plant compounds as antioxidants that reduce oxidative stress and the risk of chronic disease.

A 2010 test tube and animal study showed that sorghum has important anti-inflammatory properties due to its high content of these plant compounds.

In addition, sorghum is rich in fiber and helps maintain stable blood sugar levels by slowing down its absorption.

One study compared blood sugar and insulin levels in 10 people after eating a sorghum or whole grain cake. Sorghum caused more reductions in both blood sugar and insulin than whole wheat muffins.

One cup (192 grams) of sorghum contains 12 grams of fiber, 22 grams of protein, and nearly half of the iron you need per day.

Sorghum has a mild flavor and turns into flour for gluten-free products.

Quinoa

Quinoa has become one of the most popular gluten-free grains. It is versatile and also rich in fiber and plant protein.

This is one of the healthiest grains, high in antioxidants that may be helpful in reducing the risk of certain diseases.

In addition, quinoa is rich in protein and is one of the few plant foods that is considered complete protein.

While most plant foods lack one or two of the essential amino acids our bodies need, quinoa contains all eight. This makes the plant an excellent source of protein.

One cup (185 grams) of cooked quinoa contains 8 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber. It is also rich in trace minerals and meets most of the daily requirements for magnesium, manganese and phosphorus.

millet

millet is a highly nutritious type of cereal that is beneficial to health.

In an animal study, millet was found to reduce both blood triglycerides and inflammation in rats.

Another study examined the effect of diet on blood sugar in six diabetic patients. This study found that millet resulted in a lower glycemic response and lower blood sugar levels compared to rice and wheat.

One cup (174 grams) of cooked millet contains 2 grams of fiber, 6 grams of protein, and 19% of your daily magnesium requirement.

oat

oat is very healthy. It is also one of the best sources of beta-glucan, a type of soluble fiber that is beneficial to health.

A review of 28 studies found that beta-glucan effectively lowers both “bad” LDL cholesterol and total cholesterol without affecting “good” HDL cholesterol.

Other studies have shown that beta-glucan can slow the absorption of sugar and lower blood sugar and insulin levels.

1/4 cup (39 grams) of dry oats contains 4 grams of fiber and 7 grams of protein.It is also a good source of phosphorus, magnesium and B vitamins.

Oats are naturally gluten free, but many brands of oats may contain gluten due to contamination from growing and processing.

If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, be sure to buy certified gluten-free oats.

Buckwheat

Despite its name, Buckwheat These are gluten-free grain seeds that have nothing to do with wheat.

It contains a large amount of two specific antioxidants: rutin and quercetin.

Several animal studies suggest that rutin may be beneficial in reducing the symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease. On the other hand, quercetin reduces inflammation and oxidative stress.

Eating buckwheat may reduce several risk factors for heart disease. Those who eat buckwheat have a lower risk of high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and high blood sugar.

One cup (170 grams) of buckwheat provides 17 grams of fiber, 23 grams of protein, and over 90% of the magnesium, copper and manganese you need every day.

Amaranth

Amaranth It has a rich history as one of the staple foods of the Inca, Maya and Aztec civilizations. What’s more, it’s a nutritious porridge with impressive health benefits.

A 2014 study found that compounds in amaranth are effective in suppressing inflammation in both humans and mice, preventing the activation of a metabolic state that causes inflammation.

Due to its high fiber content, amaranth may reduce several risk factors for heart disease.

Indeed, animal studies have shown that amaranth lowers blood triglycerides and “bad” LDL cholesterol.

One cup (246 grams) of cooked amaranth contains 5 grams of fiber and 9 grams of protein. It satisfies 29% of the daily iron requirement and is high in magnesium, phosphorus, and manganese.

Dagger

Smallest grain in the world Dagger is a tiny but powerful grain.Although it is only 1/100 of a grain of wheat, it has an excellent nutritional profile.

Teff is rich in protein, which keeps you feeling full, reduces food cravings and speeds up metabolism.

It also meets a significant portion of the daily fiber requirement. Lif This is an important part of the diet to ensure weight loss, decreased appetite and regular bowel movements.

One cup (252 grams) of cooked teff contains 10 grams of protein and 7 grams of fiber.It also contains many B vitamins, especially thiamine.

For gluten-free meals, try teff flour instead of wheat flour.

Mısır

Mısır This is one of the most popular gluten-free cereals consumed in the world. In addition to being high in fiber, it contains carotenoids, lutein and zeaxanthin.

Research shows that lutein and zeaxanthin benefit eye health by reducing the risk of cataracts and age-related macular degeneration, two common causes of vision loss in the elderly.

One study found that people with a high intake of carotenoids had a 43% lower risk of age-related macular degeneration than those with a low intake.

1/2 cup (83 grams) yellow corn contains 6 grams of fiber and 8 grams of protein. It is also rich in magnesium, vitamin B6, thiamine, manganese and selenium.

brown rice

Although brown and white rice are sourced from the same seeds, the bran and germ are removed during the processing of white rice.

Consequently, brown rice , contains more fiber and many micronutrients, making it the most beneficial to health gluten-free grains makes one of.

Both types of rice are gluten free, but research shows that eating brown rice instead of white rice has additional health benefits.

In fact, eating brown rice instead of white rice reduces the risk of diabetes, weight gain, and heart disease.

One cup (195 grams) of brown rice contains 4 grams of fiber and 5 grams of protein. It also meets a significant portion of the daily requirement for magnesium and selenium.

Cereals containing gluten to avoid

– Wheat, all varieties

Rye

– Barley

– Triticale

These gluten-containing grains are often used in foods such as bread, crackers, pasta , cereals, pastries and snacks.

Gluten Free Fruits and Vegetables

All fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free. But some processed fruits and vegetables may contain gluten, which is sometimes added as a sweetener or thickener.

Gluten-containing substances that can be added to processed fruits and vegetables, hydrolyzed wheat protein, modified food starch, malt and maltodextrin It contains.

While the list below is not exhaustive, it provides examples of fresh fruits and vegetables that can be consumed on a gluten-free diet.

Citrus fruits, including oranges and grapefruits.

– Banana

– Apple

– Berry fruits

– Peach

– Pear

Cruciferous vegetables, including cauliflower and broccoli.

Greens such as spinach, cabbage and chard

Starchy vegetables, including potatoes, corn and courgettes.

– Pepper

– Mushroom

– Onions

– Carrots

– Radishes

– Green beans

Fruits and vegetables to consider due to gluten

Canned fruits and vegetables

Can be preserved with gluten-containing sauces.Fruits and vegetables canned with water or natural juices are most likely gluten-free.

Frozen fruits and vegetables

Occasionally, flavors and sauces containing gluten may be added. Regular frozen varieties are usually gluten-free.

Dried fruits and vegetables

May contain ingredients containing gluten. Common unsweetened dried fruits and vegetables are gluten-free.

Gluten Free Proteins

Many foods contain protein, including animal and vegetable proteins.Most are gluten free.

However, gluten-containing ingredients such as soy sauce, flour, and malt vinegar are often used as fillers or flavorings. They can be added to sauces and marinades, often in combination with protein foods.

What are gluten-free proteins?

Legumes (beans, lentils, peas, peanuts)

Nuts and seeds

– Red meat (fresh meat, beef, lamb)

– Poultry (fresh chicken, turkey)

– Seafood (fresh fish, scallops , shellfish)

Protein to watch out for gluten

Processed meats such as hot dogs, pepperoni, sausages, salami and bacon.

– Meat substitutes such as veggie burgers.

– cold cuts

– Ground beef

– Proteins in combination with sauces or spices

– Instant proteins, similar to microwave cooking.

Proteins to avoid

– Any meat, poultry or fish with added bread

– Protein combined with wheat-based soy sauce

– Seitan

Gluten-free dairy

Most dairy products are not contain gluten.However, flavored and containing additives should always be double-checked for gluten.

Some common gluten-containing ingredients that can be added to dairy products are thickener, malt, and modified food starch.

What is Gluten Free Dairy?

– milk

– Butter

Cheese

Cream color

– Cottage cheese

– Sour cream

– Yoghurt

Dairy products to consider due to gluten

and Yoghurt

Processed cheese products such as cheese sauces.

Sometimes ice cream with additives containing gluten.

Dairy products to avoid

– Dairy and malt drinks

Gluten-free fats and oils

Fats and oils are gluten-free. In some cases, additives containing gluten can be mixed with fats and oils to add flavor and thickening.

What are gluten free oils?

– Oil

Olive oil

Avocado oil

Coconut oil

Vegetable and vegetable oils such as sesame oil, canola oil and sunflower oil.

Fats and oils to avoid

– Food spray

Oils with flavors or spices

Gluten-free drinks

There are several types of gluten-free drinks.

However, some drinks are blended with additives that contain gluten. In addition, some alcoholic beverages are made from malt, barley, and other grains that contain gluten and should therefore be avoided on a gluten-free diet.

What are gluten-free drinks?

– Sun

– 100% fruit juice

– coffee

– tea

– sports drinks, mineral water and energy drinks

– Lemonade

Although these drinks are gluten free, keep in mind that most of these requires caution due to their sugar and alcohol content.

Drinks to consider for gluten

– Any beverage made with added flavors or blends, such as iced coffee.

Distilled spirits such as vodka, gin and whiskey, even if the label says they are gluten free, some people may have problems because they cause reactions.

– Ready-to-eat smoothies

Beverages to avoid

Beer made from gluten-containing beans

Non-distilled spirits

Other malt drinks such as cold wine.

Gluten-free spices, sauces and seasonings

Spices, sauces and condiments often contain gluten, but are often overlooked.

Although most spices, sauces and seasonings are inherently gluten-free, gluten-containing ingredients are sometimes added as emulsifiers, stabilizers, or flavor enhancers.

Some common gluten-containing ingredients added to spices, sauces, and seasonings are modified food starch, maltodextrin, malt, and wheat flour.

Gluten-free spices, sauces and condiments

White vinegar, distilled vinegar and apple cider vinegar

Condiments, sauces and condiments worth considering

Ketchup3 – Tomato sauce

– Salted tomato sauce

– BBQ sauce

– Mayonnaise

– Salad dressing

Pasta sauce

– Dry spices

– Salsa

– Bouillon cubes

Sauce mixtures

Sauces followed by seasonings avoid

Wheat-based soy sauce

– malt vinegar

Glory; It is a common ingredient in many foods, including breads, sweets, and noodles.It is also used as a thickener in sauces and soups.

What is gluten-free flour?

Most crops are made from wheat flour. A variety of products on the market, each with a different taste, texture and nutritional profile. gluten-free flour this also. Here is a list of gluten-free flours.

Almond flour

Almond flour This is one of the most widely used gluten-free flours.It is made from ground almonds by removing the shell.

One cup of almond flour contains about 90 almonds. It is often used in baked goods and is an option for bread crumbs.

Buckwheat flour

Buckwheat flour gives a rich taste and is good for baking leavened bread. Buckwheat flour is also rich in antioxidants, especially polyphenols, which have anti-inflammatory properties.

Sorghum flour

Sorghum flour is made from ancient cereals that have existed for over 5000 years.Cereals are gluten free.

It has a light color and texture and a mild and sweet taste. It is a heavy or dense flour that is often blended with other gluten-free flours or used in recipes that require little flour.

During processing, sorghum flour can be contaminated with gluten. Look out for the certified gluten-free label.

Amaranth flour

Amaranth flour is a nutritious flour. It can replace up to 25% wheat flour, but must be mixed with other flours when baked.

Since amaranth is not grown in the same areas as wheat, there is little risk of gluten contamination.

Teff flour

Used for other products such as teff flour, pancakes, cereals, breads and snacks. It can be substituted for 25 to 50% wheat or all-purpose flour.

Teff flour is rich in protein, which increases satiety and helps reduce appetite.

As with other grains and flours, in order for teff flour to be 100% gluten-free, you need to look at where it is processed.

Arrow Flour

Arrowroot Flour is a less common gluten and grain free flour. Arundinacea arrowroot It is made from a starchy substance obtained from a tropical plant known as.

This is a versatile flour that can be mixed with almond, coconut or tapioca flour to make breads and desserts.

This flour is rich in potassium, vitamin B and iron. Research has shown that it can stimulate immune cells and boost immune function.

Brown Rice Flour

Brown Rice Flour is made from ground brown rice. This is whole grain flour.

It can be used to prepare thick sauces or breading products such as fish and chicken.

Brown rice flour is often used to make noodles and can be combined with other gluten-free flours to make breads, biscuits and cake.

Oatmeal

Oatmeal is made from whole grain oats.It gives baked goods much more flavor than all-purpose flour.

Oats and oatmeal are often susceptible to contamination depending on how they were grown and where they were processed. If you can’t eat gluten, buy certified gluten-free oatmeal.

Corn flour

Extra fine corn flour. It is often used as a thickener for liquids and for baking bread.

Corn flour is available in white and yellow and can be combined with other gluten-free flours to make bread.

It is rich in fiber and is a good source of carotenoids, lutein and zeaxanthin.

Cross-contamination is more likely in processed foods, usually made with cornmeal. Even cornbread can contain regular flour.

Chickpea flour

Nohut belongs to the legume family. Their flour is made from dried chickpeas, also known as gram flour and besan.

Chickpeas are a good source of fiber and vegetable protein.These nutrients work together to slow digestion, keep you feeling full, and manage weight.

Chickpea Flour They are rich in the minerals magnesium and potassium, and both play a positive role in maintaining heart health.

Coconut Flour

Coconut Flour It is made from dried coconut meat and has a mild coconut flavor.

Its light texture gives results similar to regular flour and can be used for baked goods and desserts.Note that coconut flour absorbs a lot more water when used in place of regular or almond flour.

Saturated fat with a high lauric acid content. This medium chain triglyceride provides the body with energy and, along with the fiber content in flour, helps lower LDL cholesterol levels.

Research shows that fiber content can help maintain healthy blood sugar levels by not causing blood sugar spikes.

Tapioca Flour

Tapioca Flour is made from a starchy liquid extracted from the root of South American cassava.

This flour is used as a thickener in soups, sauces and cakes. It can also be used with other gluten-free flours when baking bread.

In addition to carbohydrates, tapioca flour has very little nutritional value in the form of fiber, protein and trace elements.

In fact, other whole grains are considered inferior to gluten-free flours and are often considered empty calories.

One of the health benefits of tapioca flour is resistant starch, which acts like fiber. Resistant to digestion, this starch has been linked to insulin sensitivity, low blood sugar, decreased appetite, and other digestive benefits.

Items to watch out for on food labels

A list of ingredients and food additives that may indicate that the product contains gluten.

– Modified food starch and maltodextrin (if from wheat, will indicate on the label)

– Malt-based ingredients including malt vinegar, malt extract and malt syrup

Gluten stabilizer

Soy sauce or teriyaki sauce

wheat-based, such as wheat protein and wheat flour.

– Emulsifiers (indicated on the label)

As a result;

If you need to avoid gluten, there are many foods you can choose from for a balanced diet.

Many healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, including fruits, vegetables, fresh meats, fish and poultry, legumes, some whole grains, dairy products, and fats.