Coeliac food to avoid. Navigating Gluten Intolerance: Essential Foods to Avoid and Embrace
What are the key foods to avoid with gluten intolerance. Which foods are safe for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. How can you maintain a balanced diet while avoiding gluten.
Understanding Gluten Intolerance: Celiac Disease, Wheat Allergy, and Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity
Gluten intolerance encompasses several conditions that require avoiding gluten, a group of proteins found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye. The three main forms of gluten intolerance are celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).
Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition that can lead to serious health complications if left untreated. When individuals with celiac disease consume gluten, it triggers an immune response that damages the small intestine, potentially causing malnutrition, anemia, and other systemic issues.
Wheat allergy, on the other hand, is a specific allergic reaction to wheat proteins. While it requires strict avoidance of wheat, individuals with this condition may be able to consume other gluten-containing grains without adverse effects.
NCGS is a condition where individuals experience symptoms similar to celiac disease when consuming gluten, but without the intestinal damage or autoimmune response characteristic of celiac disease.
8 Foods to Avoid with Gluten Intolerance
For those with gluten intolerance, it’s crucial to identify and avoid foods containing gluten. Here are eight categories of foods that typically contain gluten:
1. Gluten-Containing Grains
The primary sources of gluten in the diet are grains such as:
- Wheat
- Barley
- Rye
- Triticale
- Spelt
- Kamut
- Farro
- Couscous
It’s important to note that while oats are naturally gluten-free, they are often contaminated with gluten during processing. Therefore, only certified gluten-free oats are considered safe for those with gluten intolerance.
2. Most Breads, Crackers, and Wraps
Traditional bread products are typically made with wheat flour and should be avoided. This includes:
- White bread
- Whole wheat bread
- Rye bread
- Sourdough bread
- Wheat crackers
- Flour tortillas
- Flatbreads
- Bagels
3. Certain Condiments
Many condiments contain hidden sources of gluten. Be cautious of:
- Soy sauce
- Barbecue sauce
- Salad dressings
- Marinades
- Cream sauces
- Gravy mixes
- Malt vinegar
- Some brands of ketchup
4. Most Baked Goods
Traditional baked goods are often made with wheat flour and should be avoided:
- Cakes
- Cookies
- Pastries
- Soft and hard pretzels
- Doughnuts
- Muffins
- Pancakes and waffles
5. Wheat-Based Pastas
Most traditional pastas contain gluten:
- Noodles
- Spaghetti
- Gnocchi made with wheat flour
- Dumplings
Hidden Sources of Gluten: Snacks, Beverages, and Processed Foods
Gluten can hide in many unexpected places. Here are some additional categories of foods that often contain gluten:
6. Some Snack Foods
Many popular snack foods contain gluten:
- Pretzels
- Granola bars
- Cereal bars
- Some chips
- Energy bars
- Snack mixes
- Candy bars
7. Certain Beverages
Some beverages may contain gluten or be processed with gluten-containing ingredients:
- Beer
- Bottled wine coolers
- Premade coffee drinks
- Some drink mixes
- Certain commercial chocolate milk brands
8. Several Processed Foods and Other Items
Gluten can be found in many processed foods and other items:
- Meat substitutes (e.g., veggie burgers)
- Some prepared lunch meats
- Certain processed cheeses
- Egg substitutes
- Canned soups and soup mixes
- Puddings and instant dessert mixes
- Some ice creams
- Many breakfast cereals
- French fries and other fried foods
- Flavored tofu
7 Foods Safe for Gluten-Intolerant Individuals
While the list of foods to avoid may seem daunting, there are many delicious and nutritious options for those with gluten intolerance. Here are seven categories of foods that are naturally gluten-free:
1. Fruits and Vegetables
All fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free and provide essential vitamins, minerals, and fiber. Incorporate a variety of colorful produce into your diet, including:
- Berries
- Citrus fruits
- Leafy greens
- Cruciferous vegetables
- Root vegetables
- Squashes
2. Lean Proteins
Most unprocessed meats, poultry, fish, and eggs are gluten-free. Good protein sources include:
- Chicken
- Turkey
- Beef
- Pork
- Fish (salmon, tuna, cod)
- Eggs
- Legumes (beans, lentils, chickpeas)
3. Gluten-Free Grains and Pseudocereals
There are many nutritious gluten-free grains and pseudocereals available:
- Rice (all varieties)
- Quinoa
- Amaranth
- Buckwheat
- Millet
- Teff
- Sorghum
- Certified gluten-free oats
4. Dairy Products
Most plain dairy products are naturally gluten-free:
- Milk
- Yogurt
- Cheese
- Butter
- Cream
Always check flavored or processed dairy products for added ingredients that may contain gluten.
5. Nuts and Seeds
Nuts and seeds are excellent sources of protein, healthy fats, and minerals:
- Almonds
- Walnuts
- Cashews
- Pistachios
- Pumpkin seeds
- Sunflower seeds
- Chia seeds
- Flaxseeds
6. Gluten-Free Flours and Starches
For baking and cooking, there are many gluten-free alternatives:
- Almond flour
- Coconut flour
- Rice flour
- Tapioca starch
- Potato starch
- Corn starch
- Chickpea flour
7. Herbs, Spices, and Condiments
Most single-ingredient herbs and spices are gluten-free. Safe condiments include:
- Vinegars (except malt vinegar)
- Olive oil
- Mustard
- Mayonnaise
- Gluten-free tamari
Strategies for Maintaining a Balanced Gluten-Free Diet
Adopting a gluten-free diet requires careful planning to ensure nutritional adequacy. Here are some strategies to help maintain a balanced diet:
- Focus on whole, unprocessed foods: Build your diet around naturally gluten-free foods like fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and gluten-free grains.
- Read labels carefully: Always check ingredient lists for hidden sources of gluten, even on products labeled “gluten-free.”
- Experiment with gluten-free alternatives: Try different gluten-free flours and products to find ones you enjoy.
- Be mindful of cross-contamination: Use separate utensils and preparation areas for gluten-free foods to avoid accidental exposure.
- Plan meals in advance: Meal planning can help ensure you have gluten-free options available and reduce the temptation to consume gluten-containing foods.
- Consult a registered dietitian: A nutrition professional can help you develop a balanced gluten-free meal plan tailored to your needs.
- Consider supplements: Some individuals following a gluten-free diet may need supplements to meet their nutritional needs, particularly for B vitamins, iron, and fiber.
The Rise of Gluten-Free Products: Navigating the Market
The growing awareness of gluten intolerance has led to an explosion of gluten-free products in the market. While this increased availability is beneficial, it’s important to approach these products with discernment.
Are all gluten-free products healthy? Not necessarily. Many gluten-free alternatives, particularly baked goods and snacks, may be high in sugar, fat, or refined starches to improve texture and taste. When selecting gluten-free products, prioritize those made with whole grain flours and minimal added sugars.
How can you ensure a product is truly gluten-free? Look for certified gluten-free labels from reputable organizations. These certifications indicate that the product has been tested and meets strict standards for gluten content.
Eating Out with Gluten Intolerance: Tips for Dining Safely
Dining out can be challenging for those with gluten intolerance, but it’s not impossible. Here are some tips for eating out safely:
- Research restaurants in advance: Look for establishments that offer gluten-free menus or are known to accommodate gluten-free diners.
- Communicate clearly with staff: Inform your server about your gluten intolerance and ask about ingredients and preparation methods.
- Stick to simple dishes: Choose meals with fewer ingredients to reduce the risk of hidden gluten.
- Be cautious of cross-contamination: Ask if the kitchen can prepare your meal using separate utensils and cooking surfaces.
- Consider bringing your own condiments: This can help you avoid potentially gluten-containing sauces and dressings.
- When in doubt, don’t eat it: If you’re unsure about a dish’s gluten content, it’s better to err on the side of caution.
Beyond Diet: Other Considerations for Gluten-Intolerant Individuals
While diet is the primary concern for those with gluten intolerance, it’s important to be aware of other potential sources of gluten exposure:
Can gluten be absorbed through the skin? While rare, some individuals with severe gluten sensitivity may react to personal care products containing gluten. Check labels on items like shampoos, lotions, and cosmetics if you’re concerned.
What about medications and supplements? Some medications and supplements may contain gluten as a binding agent. Always check with your pharmacist or healthcare provider about the gluten content of prescribed medications.
Is gluten present in non-food items? Surprisingly, gluten can be found in some unexpected places, such as envelope adhesives, play dough, and even some types of modeling clay. Be aware of these potential sources if you have severe gluten sensitivity.
By being vigilant about both dietary and non-dietary sources of gluten, individuals with gluten intolerance can effectively manage their condition and maintain optimal health.
8 Foods to Avoid with a Gluten Intolerance (and 7 to Eat)
We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission Here’s our process.
Healthline only shows you brands and products that we stand behind.
Our team thoroughly researches and evaluates the recommendations we make on our site. To establish that the product manufacturers addressed safety and efficacy standards, we:
- Evaluate ingredients and composition: Do they have the potential to cause harm?
- Fact-check all health claims: Do they align with the current body of scientific evidence?
- Assess the brand: Does it operate with integrity and adhere to industry best practices?
We do the research so you can find trusted products for your health and wellness.
Read more about our vetting process.
Was this helpful?
If you have a gluten intolerance, it’s important to avoid any grains, breads, pastas, and baked goods that contain this protein. The good news? There are plenty of healthy gluten-free options to keep you satisfied.
Many people avoid gluten, a group of proteins found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye, due to personal preference or a medical condition (1).
Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) all involve an adverse reaction to gluten and are treated with a gluten-free diet. These conditions are considered forms of gluten intolerance (2).
While both celiac disease and NCGS may lead to intestinal damage and cause symptoms like diarrhea, gas, and bloating, celiac is an autoimmune condition linked to other serious health effects, such as anemia, stunted growth, and neurological effects (2, 3, 4).
Wheat allergy refers to an allergic reaction to wheat proteins, the symptoms of which may be life threatening. This condition is treated with a wheat-free diet, not necessarily a gluten-free diet (5).
Although people with wheat allergies must avoid wheat, most are able to eat other grains, including gluten-containing ones like barley and rye.
Meanwhile, people with celiac disease and NCGS must avoid all gluten-containing foods to control symptoms. Notably, many healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, and quite a few companies make scrumptious gluten-free products.
Here are 8 foods to avoid if you have a gluten intolerance, as well as 7 you can safely eat.
You should steer clear of the following foods if you have a gluten intolerance.
1. Gluten-containing grains
Grains that contain gluten include:
- wheat
- barley
- rye
- triticale
- farina
- spelt
- kamut
- wheat berries
- farro
- couscous
Note that oats are naturally gluten-free but may be contaminated with gluten during processing.
2. Most breads, crackers, and wraps
Most breads, crackers, and wraps contain gluten. The only way to know for sure is to read the ingredient list and check to see which grains are used.
If you have a gluten intolerance, avoid the following:
- white bread
- whole wheat bread
- potato bread
- rye bread
- sourdough bread
- wheat crackers
- whole wheat wraps
- flour tortillas
- flatbread
- bagels
3.
Certain condiments
Although condiments seem like unlikely sources of gluten, many popular ones harbor gluten. These include:
- soy sauce
- barbecue sauce
- salad dressings
- marinades
- cream sauces
- spice blends
- gravy mixes
- malt vinegar
- ketchup
As an alternative, you can make your own condiments from gluten-free ingredients or purchase ones that are certified gluten-free.
4. Most baked goods
Baked goods are typically made with wheat flour or other gluten-containing grains. As such, people with a gluten intolerance should largely avoid these foods:
- cakes
- cookies
- pastries
- soft and hard pretzels
- doughnuts
- muffins
- pancakes and waffles
5. Wheat-based pastas
Pastas are a staple food in many cultures. Although gluten-free alternatives exist, most traditional pastas are made with gluten-containing grains:
- noodles
- spaghetti
- gnocchi made with wheat flour
- dumplings
6.
Some snack foods
Snack foods are a common source of gluten. Gluten-containing snacks include:
- pretzels
- granola bars
- cereal bars
- chips
- energy bars
- cookies
- snack mixes
- candy bars
7. Certain beverages
Some drinks are made with ingredients that contain gluten, so it’s important to read labels. Beverages that may contain gluten include:
- beer
- bottled wine coolers
- premade coffee drinks
- drink mixes
- commercial chocolate milk
8. Several processed foods and other items
Many processed foods and other popular items may also harbor gluten. These include:
- meat substitutes, such as veggie burgers and hot dogs
- prepared lunch meats
- processed cheeses
- egg substitutes
- canned soups and soup mixes
- puddings and instant dessert mixes
- certain ice creams
- breakfast cereals
- french fries and other fried foods
- flavored tofu
Summary
Foods that contain gluten include breads, pastas, crackers, baked goods, many grains, and several beverages and processed items.
Though it may seem as if most foods are off-limits when you’re intolerant to gluten, many delicious and healthy foods are naturally gluten-free. Plus, quality gluten-free breads, pastas, and crackers are available in most grocery stores.
If you’re gluten intolerant, you can enjoy the following foods.
1. Fruits and vegetables
Share on Pinterest
Fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. However, keep in mind that certain products, such as battered vegetables and candy-coated fruit, may contain gluten. The following are some options:
- apples
- avocados
- berries
- bananas
- citrus fruits
- plums
- peaches
- spinach
- kale
- onions
- sweet potatoes
- broccoli
- cauliflower
- carrots
- peppers
- butternut squash
- zucchini
- Brussels sprouts
- mushrooms
2. Legumes
Beans and lentils are gluten-free, which is why they’re commonly used to make pasta alternatives and other gluten-free products. They include:
- red lentils
- black beans
- chickpeas
- kidney beans
- cannellini beans
- pinto beans
- peas
- adzuki beans
3. Gluten-free grains and grain products
Although many grains are off-limits for people with a gluten intolerance, some grains are gluten-free. They include:
- quinoa
- buckwheat
- millet
- sorghum
- oats
- millet
- amaranth
- wild rice
- corn
- teff
- brown rice
- gluten-free breads, crackers, and other baked goods made from these grains
To reduce the risk of cross-contamination, be sure to only buy products that have been certified gluten-free.
4. Animal proteins
Animal proteins like the following are naturally gluten-free:
- eggs
- meat
- poultry
- fish
- shellfish
- dairy products like yogurt and cheese
5. Nuts and seeds
Nuts and seeds are gluten-free and provide a nutrient-rich source of fat. What’s more, they can be made into gluten-free flours. Good choices of nuts, seeds, and their butters include:
- pumpkin seeds
- sunflower seeds
- cashews
- almonds
- peanut butter
- macadamia nuts
- walnuts
- almond butter
- pecans
- hazelnuts
- Brazil nuts
- pistachios
6. Certain seasonings and condiments
The following seasonings and condiments are safe for those following gluten-free diets:
- apple cider vinegar
- fresh herbs like basil, rosemary, and cilantro
- pesto
- most salsas
- most dried herbs and spices
- coconut aminos
- hummus
- guacamole
- sauerkraut
- tahini
- mustard
7. Healthy fats and oils
Share on Pinterest
Most sources of healthy fat, such as the following, are gluten-free.
- full fat yogurt
- cheese
- olive oil
- avocado oil
- nuts, seeds, and nut butters
- avocados
- unsweetened coconut
Summary
Foods that are safe to eat if you have a gluten intolerance include nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, fish, poultry, dairy products, gluten-free grains, and legumes.
Many restaurants don’t offer gluten-free meals, so it’s important to know what’s safe to order if you have gluten intolerance and are going out to eat.
If you have celiac disease, NCGS, or a wheat allergy, it’s important that you inform the waitstaff. The restaurant is much more likely to take your condition seriously if they know you can’t have gluten for medical reasons.
In general, you should stay away from pasta, bread, and grain dishes unless the restaurant offers gluten-free options like brown rice pasta or gluten-free grains.
You’ll also need to steer clear of bread baskets. Instead, ask the waitstaff to bring a gluten-free appetizer like edamame, a caprese or simple salad, or crudités plate with hummus.
Fried foods, such as french fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and mozzarella sticks usually contain gluten, so you should avoid these foods as well.
When choosing a meal, keep it simple and use the following steps to create a gluten-free meal:
- Choose a protein source: fish, shrimp, chicken, beef, beans, plain tofu, lentils, etc.
- Choose a gluten-free starch or grain: potatoes, sweet potatoes, winter squash, amaranth, quinoa, brown rice, etc.
- Choose a non-starchy vegetable: broccoli, cauliflower, pepper, mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, green beans, etc.
Customizable salads and gluten-free grain bowls make great meal choices.
If you don’t trust the salad dressings or sauces used at restaurants, you can bring your own from home. Simply pour a small amount into a portable glass jar or bottle.
To ensure that you’ll have gluten-free options, it’s advisable to scan the menu before choosing to eat at a restaurant. You can also call ahead to discuss your options with the staff.
Summary
When you go out to eat, check the menu for gluten-free items and be sure to inform the server if you have a gluten sensitivity.
Several companies specialize in making gluten-free products. Here are some of the best gluten-free brands:
- Simple Mills.
This company is not only gluten-free but also grain-free, making it a great choice for those on the paleo diet. Its product line includes gluten- and grain-free crackers, bars, cookies, bread mixes, and cake mixes. Shop for Simple Mills online.
- Purely Elizabeth. This certified gluten-free brand makes tasty granola, pancake mixes, oatmeal, and bars. Shop for Purely Elizabeth online.
- Jovial Foods. This company makes pastas with just two ingredients — brown rice and water. You can choose from spaghetti, penne, fusilli, farfalle, and lasagna. Shop for Jovial Foods gluten-free pasta online.
- Bob’s Red Mill. This manufacturer offers a variety of gluten-free items, including flours, grains, and pancake and pizza crust mixes. Shop for Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free products online.
- Base Culture. This company makes scrumptious gluten- and grain-free baked goods like brownies, blondies, and sweet and savory breads.
Shop for Base Culture products online.
- Cappello’s. This company manufactures tasty gluten- and grain-free pastas, gnocchi, pizza crust, cookie doughs, and premade pizzas. Shop for Cappello’s products online.
Many other companies make excellent gluten-free products. Be sure to sample a variety of brands to determine which you like best.
Summary
Numerous brands make gluten-free pastas, breads, snacks, and treats. Check out a few in the list above.
If you’re intolerant to gluten, you must avoid all gluten-containing foods.
Foods with gluten include many grains and most breads, pastas, and baked goods. Numerous condiments and processed foods harbor gluten as well.
It’s best to focus on the many delicious, healthy foods that you can eat. These include veggies, fruits, eggs, fish, dairy, nuts, and seeds, as well as gluten-free grains.
Is Sourdough Bread Gluten-Free?
Is Sourdough Bread Gluten-Free?
- Health Conditions
- Featured
- Breast Cancer
- IBD
- Migraine
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Type 2 Diabetes
- Articles
- Acid Reflux
- ADHD
- Allergies
- Alzheimer’s & Dementia
- Bipolar Disorder
- Cancer
- Crohn’s Disease
- Chronic Pain
- Cold & Flu
- COPD
- Depression
- Fibromyalgia
- Heart Disease
- High Cholesterol
- HIV
- Hypertension
- IPF
- Osteoarthritis
- Psoriasis
- Skin Disorders and Care
- STDs
- Featured
- Discover
- Wellness Topics
- Nutrition
- Fitness
- Skin Care
- Sexual Health
- Women’s Health
- Mental Well-Being
- Sleep
- Product Reviews
- Vitamins & Supplements
- Sleep
- Mental Health
- Nutrition
- At-Home Testing
- CBD
- Men’s Health
- Original Series
- Fresh Food Fast
- Diagnosis Diaries
- You’re Not Alone
- Present Tense
- Video Series
- Youth in Focus
- Healthy Harvest
- No More Silence
- Future of Health
- Wellness Topics
- Plan
- Health Challenges
- Mindful Eating
- Sugar Savvy
- Move Your Body
- Gut Health
- Mood Foods
- Align Your Spine
- Find Care
- Primary Care
- Mental Health
- OB-GYN
- Dermatologists
- Neurologists
- Cardiologists
- Orthopedists
- Lifestyle Quizzes
- Weight Management
- Am I Depressed? A Quiz for Teens
- Are You a Workaholic?
- How Well Do You Sleep?
- Tools & Resources
- Health News
- Find a Diet
- Find Healthy Snacks
- Drugs A-Z
- Health A-Z
- Health Challenges
- Connect
- Breast Cancer
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Psoriatic Arthritis
- Migraine
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Psoriasis
Nutrition
By Anne Danahy, MS, RDN — Updated on August 12, 2019
We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission Here’s our process.
Healthline only shows you brands and products that we stand behind.
Our team thoroughly researches and evaluates the recommendations we make on our site. To establish that the product manufacturers addressed safety and efficacy standards, we:
- Evaluate ingredients and composition: Do they have the potential to cause harm?
- Fact-check all health claims: Do they align with the current body of scientific evidence?
- Assess the brand: Does it operate with integrity and adhere to industry best practices?
We do the research so you can find trusted products for your health and wellness.
Read more about our vetting process.
Was this helpful?
For many people who have to switch to a gluten-free diet, saying good-bye to bread is like parting ways with an old friend.
Various gluten-free breads are available, but due to their taste and texture differences, most don’t fill the void (1).
Sourdough breads have been touted as a safe option for those who avoid gluten. Many claim that the gluten in wheat sourdough or rye bread is broken down and easier to digest than conventionally produced bread.
This article examines whether sourdough is a good option if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Gluten is the name for a group of proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. It causes damage to the intestinal lining in those with celiac disease, so it’s essential to avoid all sources of gluten if you have this condition (1).
Those with a gluten sensitivity or wheat allergy should also avoid gluten and wheat-containing foods.
The main ingredient in sourdough bread is usually wheat flour — which contains gluten.
While one lab analysis of the gluten in wheat sourdough bread has shown that it has less gluten than other types of wheat bread, the amount can vary (2).
This means there may still be unsafe levels of gluten in regular wheat sourdough bread.
However, gluten-free sourdough varieties, which are made from gluten-free flours like rice, sorghum, or teff, are available (3).
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requires all products that are labeled gluten-free to have a gluten content below 20 parts per million (ppm) (4).
Summary
If your sourdough bread contains wheat, rye, or barley, it also contains gluten. If you have to follow a strict gluten-free diet, only purchase sourdough bread made from gluten-free grains.
Sourdough and regular bread are leavened differently.
While regular bread is leavened with packaged yeast, sourdough bread is leavened with Lactobacillus bacteria and wild yeasts.
This mixture of bacteria and wild yeast is called a sourdough starter. It’s made by mixing flour and water and letting it sit until microbes move in and ferment it.
During fermentation, these organisms digest the starches in the dough and produce lactic acid and carbon dioxide (1, 5).
Fermentation gives sourdough its distinctive sour flavor and light, airy texture.
Gluten content might be lower
As the bacteria and yeast ferment the starches, they degrade some of the gluten (5).
The idea that sourdough bread is safe for those with celiac disease stems from the results of a few small, controlled studies that found that eating sourdough didn’t cause symptoms or intestinal changes in those with this condition (6, 7).
In one study, 13 people with celiac disease on a gluten-free diet ate either regular wheat bread, sourdough that was fermented so that part of the gluten was degraded, or sourdough that contained only 8 ppm of residual gluten (7).
After 60 days, the group eating the sourdough that contained 8 ppm of gluten reported no negative symptoms and showed no negative effects in their blood work or intestinal biopsies, while the other two groups reacted to the gluten (7).
It’s important to note that the low-gluten sourdough bread was produced under controlled conditions in a lab — not a home or food manufacturing kitchen.
Easier to digest?
The internet is full of reports from people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity who claim that they don’t experience digestive symptoms after eating sourdough bread.
This may be because some of the proteins, starches, and inflammatory compounds in wheat-based products are easier to digest when they’re fermented.
However, at this time, these claims aren’t backed by science.
What’s more, other compounds in the bread may cause issues for some people.
For example, alpha-amylase/trypsin inhibitors (ATIs) have been identified in gluten-containing products and appear to increase intestinal inflammation (8).
Plus, carbs known as fermentable, oligo-, di-, mono-saccharides and polyols (FODMAPs) occur in grain- and gluten-containing products. They’re associated with symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).
In a study in 26 people who followed a gluten-free diet for IBS, sourdough bread that had been fermented for more than 12 hours and showed lower levels of both ATIs and FODMAPs was not any better tolerated than regular bread (9).
Thus, the digestibility of sourdough bread may depend on the individual and various factors.
Summary
The fermentation process used to make sourdough bread breaks down some of the gluten and inflammatory compounds in wheat. However, it still contains some gluten, and no scientific evidence suggests that it’s easier to digest.
There are several brands of ready-made gluten-free sourdough bread on the market.
The fermentation process improves the taste, texture, and shelf life of gluten-free bread, so you may find that you prefer gluten-free sourdough over regular gluten-free bread (1, 3, 5).
Available brands
The following sourdough brands are either certified gluten-free or use only certified gluten-free ingredients:
- Bread SRSLY
- Simple Kneads
- New Grains
- Ener-G
- Cook’s Gluten-Free Sourdough
Other brands may be suitable as well. Just be sure to read the label carefully before you buy one. You can also scout your neighborhood for a bakery that specializes in gluten-free products.
Bake it yourself
If you want that fresh-from-the-oven taste and texture, consider baking your own gluten-free sourdough bread.
The easiest way to make it is to purchase a gluten-free starter, such as the one from Cultures For Health.
First, activate the starter, which takes about seven days. Here are the steps to follow:
- In a jar or bowl, mix the starter with about 1/4 cup (30 grams) of gluten-free flour and 1/4 cup (60 ml) of warm water.
- Cover the bowl and let it rest overnight at room temperature.
- The next day, add another 1/4 cup (30 grams) of gluten-free flour and 1/4 cup (60 ml) of warm water and mix well.
- Cover and let it rest again overnight at room temperature.
- For the next several days, discard part of the starter and feed it more flour and water every 12 hours. For the exact ratio, follow the instructions on your starter kit.
- When your starter is bubbly and doubles in size within about four hours, don’t discard any more. Instead, feed it two more times and then bake it or keep it in your refrigerator.
- If you continue to feed it more flour and water weekly, it will keep indefinitely.
To make gluten-free sourdough bread, combine the amount of starter your recipe calls for with additional gluten-free flour, water, and salt, and let it ferment and then rise for up to 24 hours. Then bake as directed.
Summary
You can buy gluten-free sourdough bread or bake it yourself. It takes about a week to activate a sourdough starter, but once you have it, it’ll last indefinitely as long as you keep feeding it and store it in your refrigerator.
Wheat sourdough bread may contain less gluten than regular yeast bread, but it’s not gluten-free.
If you’re on a gluten-free diet for celiac disease, regular sourdough bread isn’t safe.
Instead, buy sourdough bread made with gluten-free grains or invest a few days and activate your own gluten-free sourdough starter.
This way, you never have to miss a good loaf of bread again.
Share this article
By Anne Danahy, MS, RDN — Updated on August 12, 2019
Read this next
- Is Wine Gluten-Free?
By Marsha McCulloch, MS, RD
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley that those with celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten must be careful to avoid. This article…
READ MORE
- The 14 Best Gluten-Free Flours
By Amy Goodson, MS, RD, CSSD, LD
A variety of healthy, gluten-free alternatives to regular or wheat flour exist for those who avoid gluten. Here are the 14 best gluten-free flours.
READ MORE
- 15 Bread Recipes That Are Low-Carb and Gluten-Free
By Kris Gunnars, BSc
This is a list of 15 recipes for healthy low-carb and gluten free breads. All of them are very simple to make and taste incredible.
READ MORE
- The 14 Best Gluten-Free Flours
By Amy Goodson, MS, RD, CSSD, LD
A variety of healthy, gluten-free alternatives to regular or wheat flour exist for those who avoid gluten.
Here are the 14 best gluten-free flours.
READ MORE
- Is Bread Bad for You? Nutrition Facts and More
By Rachael Ajmera, MS, RD
Despite its widespread popularity, bread is often characterized as unhealthy, harmful and fattening. This article examines the health impact of bread…
READ MORE
- Why Ezekiel Bread Is the Healthiest Bread You Can Eat
By Kris Gunnars, BSc
Ezekiel bread is made from sprouted grains and doesn’t contain added sugars. It is much more nutrient-dense than most commercial breads on the market.
READ MORE
- 8 Gluten-Free Grains That Are Super Healthy
By Rachael Ajmera, MS, RD
If you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, it’s important to avoid the protein gluten. Here are 8 gluten-free grains you can eat instead.
READ MORE
- 10 Healthy Ways to Replace Conventional Wheat Bread
By Adda Bjarnadottir, MS, RDN (Ice)
Bread is a staple food for most people. However, most conventional wheat bread is unhealthy.
Here are 10 healthy and delicious ways to replace bread.
READ MORE
- Intermittent Fasting or Calorie Counting: Which Is Better for Weight Loss?
New research shines a light on the effectiveness of intermittent fasting vs calorie counting for weight loss.
READ MORE
- Should You Peel Your Fruits and Vegetables?
By Alina Petre, MS, RD (NL)
There’s no doubt fruits and vegetables can benefit your health, but many wonder if it’s best to eat them with or without the skin. Here’s a look at…
READ MORE
Gluten free food list of foods to avoid:
10/25/2018 00:00
3245
What can you eat and what should you avoid?
Gluten (gluten) intolerance is the inability of the body to digest gluten found in wheat and certain other grains. Gluten intolerance can range from a mild intolerance to a disease known as celiac disease.
Products containing gluten
Common foods that contain gluten include:
- pasta
- bread
- cookies
- shop sauces
Below we provide a list of foods to avoid:
Wheat is a staple of the Western diet and is Enemy No. 1 for people with gluten intolerance.
In addition to wheat, all its derivatives should also be avoided:
- wheat starch
- wheat bran
- wheat germ
- couscous
- soft pasta, durum wheat
- whole grain pasta
- emmer
- gliadin
- kamut
- matzo
- semolina
- spelt
- bulgur
The list of prohibited foods does not end with wheat. Other prohibited foods include:
- barley
- oats (oats themselves do not contain gluten, but they are often processed in factories that produce gluten-containing grains and therefore oats can be “contaminated”).
- rye
- triticale
Gluten may also appear as an ingredient in:
- barley malt
- store-bought chicken broth
- malt vinegar
- sausages
- store-bought sauces and some salad dressings
- soy sauce
Gluten free products
Here is a list of some of the products that do not contain gluten:
- Fruits and vegetables
- beans
- seeds
- legumes
- nuts
- potatoes
- eggs
- dairy products
- oils and vinegars
- corn
- rice
- fish
- meat
- chicken
- seafood
- amaranth
- buckwheat
- millet
- quinoa
- rice
- sorghum
- soy
- tapioca
- buckwheat
- corn
- rice
- quinoa
Many grain products are gluten-free:
Use flour substitutes for baking. They may include:
You will need xanthan gum or guar gum as a substitute for gluten in baking.
This list can be intimidating at first, but for many, the benefits far outweigh the inconveniences.
How to eat in a restaurant?
Eating out in a restaurant can be a challenge if you have a gluten intolerance, but it won’t be a problem if you follow the same dietary habits you eat at home, like grilled meats and steamed vegetables.
Foods to be avoided in restaurants include certain sauces such as béchamel. Don’t forget to tell your waiter your preferences in advance. Currently, many restaurants put marks on the menu “gluten free” – without gluten.
Forecast
If you have celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential for your health. A gluten-free diet may seem overwhelming at first, but with time and a little effort, it can become the foundation of your daily diet.
Subscribe to the blog
Interesting and useful articles from nutritionists and experts in their field
Your name
Phone
By subscribing to the newsletter – you agree to the privacy policy of
List of things to avoid and alternatives
- Foods to avoid
- Foods to eat
- Tips for eating out
- How much gluten is safe?
Many people avoid gluten, a group of proteins found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye, due to personal preference or health reasons.
Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) are all associated with an adverse reaction to gluten and are treated with a gluten-free diet. These conditions are considered forms of gluten intolerance.
While both celiac disease and NCGS can damage the gut and cause symptoms such as diarrhea, gas, and bloating, celiac disease is an autoimmune disease associated with other serious health consequences such as anemia, stunted growth, and neurological effects.
Wheat allergy refers to an allergic reaction to wheat proteins, the symptoms of which can be life-threatening. This condition is treated with a wheat-free diet, not necessarily a gluten-free diet.
Although people with a wheat allergy should avoid wheat, most can eat other grains, including those containing gluten, such as barley and rye.
Meanwhile, people with celiac disease and NCGS should avoid all foods containing gluten to control symptoms. Notably, many healthy foods are gluten-free, and quite a few companies make delicious gluten-free products.
Here are 8 foods to avoid if you’re gluten intolerant, and 7 foods you can safely eat.
Foods to Avoid
You should avoid the following foods if you have a gluten intolerance.
1. Grains containing gluten
Cereals containing gluten include:
- wheat
- barley
- rye
- triticale
- spelt
- kamut
- wheat berries
- farro
- couscous
9 0022 farina
Be aware that oats are naturally gluten-free, but may be contaminated with gluten during processing.
2. Most breads, crackers and wrappers
Most breads, crackers and wrappers contain gluten. The only way to know for sure is to read the ingredient list and check which grains are used.
We offer you:
Starter Vegan Food List
If you are gluten intolerant, avoid the following:
- white bread
- whole grain bread
- potato bread
- rye bread
- sourdough bread 9 0023
- wheat crackers
- whole wheat wraps
- flour tortillas
- tortilla
- bagels
3. Certain condiments
Although condiments seem unlikely sources of gluten, many popular condiments contain gluten. These include:
- soy sauce
- barbecue sauce
- salad dressings
- marinades
- cream sauces
- spice mixes
- sauce mixes
- malt vinegar
- ketchup
Alternatively, you can make your own seasonings from gluten-free ingredients or buy those that are certified gluten-free.
4. Most baked goods
Baked goods are usually made from wheat flour or other grains that contain gluten. Therefore, people with gluten intolerance should mostly avoid these foods:
- cakes
- cookies
- pastries
- soft and hard pretzels
- donuts
- muffins
- pancakes and waffles 9002 3
5. Types of pasta based on wheat
Pasta is a staple food in many cultures. Although gluten-free alternatives exist, most traditional pasta is made from gluten-containing grains:
- noodles
- spaghetti
- gnocchi made from wheat flour
- dumplings
6. Some snack foods
Snack foods are a common source of gluten. Snacks containing gluten include:
- pretzels
- muesli bars
- cereal bars
- chips
- energy bars
- cookies 90 023
- snack mixes
- chocolate bars
7. Certain drinks
Some drinks are made with ingredients that contain gluten, so it’s important to read labels. Drinks that can contain gluten include:
We offer you: the power plan and the keto-diet menu that can be changed by your body
- Beer
- Wine in bottles
- Ready-made coffee drinks
- for drinks for drinks
- commercial chocolate milk
8. Several processed foods and other items
Many processed foods and other popular items may also contain gluten. These include:
- meat substitutes such as veggie burgers and hot dogs
- prepared lunch meats
- processed cheeses
- egg substitutes
- canned soups and soup mixes 900 23
- puddings and instant dessert mixes
- some types of ice cream
- breakfast cereals
- french fries and other fried foods
- flavored tofu
Summary: Foods containing gluten include bread, pasta, crackers, baked goods, many cereals, and some beverages and processed foods.
Foods to Eat
While it may seem like most foods are off limits for gluten intolerance, many tasty and healthy foods are gluten-free. In addition, quality gluten-free bread, pasta, and crackers are available at most grocery stores.
If you are gluten intolerant, you can enjoy the following foods.
1. Fruits and vegetables
Fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. However, be aware that some foods, such as battered vegetables and candy-covered fruits, may contain gluten. Below are some options:
- apples
- avocados
- berries
- bananas
- citrus fruits
- plums
- peaches
- cabbage
- spinach
- onion
- sweet potato
- broccoli
- cauliflower
- carrot
- pepper
- marrow
- zucchini
- Brussels sprouts
- mushrooms
2. Legumes
Beans and lentils do not contain gluten, so they are often used to make alternatives to pasta and other gluten-free products. These include:
- red lentils
- black beans
- chickpeas
- kidney beans
- cannellini beans
- pinto beans
- peas
- adzuki beans
3.
Gluten-free cereals and grain products
Although many cereals are prohibited for people with gluten intolerance, some cereals do not contain gluten. These include:
We offer you: The Mediterranean Diet: A Beginner’s Guide and Meal Plan
- quinoa
- buckwheat
- millet
- sorghum
- oats
- millet
- amaranth
- wild rice
- corn
- teff 9002 3
- brown rice
- gluten-free bread, crackers and other baked goods made from these cereals
To reduce the risk cross-contamination, be sure to only buy products that have been certified gluten-free.
4. Animal proteins
Animal proteins such as the following are naturally gluten free:
- eggs
- meat
- poultry
- fish
- shellfish
- dairy products such as yogurt and cheese
5. Nuts and seeds
Nuts and seeds are gluten-free and a nutrient-rich source of fat . What’s more, they can be made into gluten-free flour. A good selection of nuts, seeds and oils includes:
- pumpkin seeds
- sunflower seeds
- cashews
- almonds
- peanut butter
- macadamia nuts
- walnuts
- almond butter
- pecans
- forest nuts
- pistachios
- Brazil nuts
sauces are safe for those on a gluten-free diet:
- apple cider vinegar
- fresh herbs such as basil, rosemary and cilantro
- pesto
- most salsa
- most dried herbs and spices
- coconut amino
- hummus
- guacamole
- sauerkraut
- tahini
- mustard
7. Healthy fats and oils
Most sources of healthy fats, such as the following are gluten free.
- full-fat yogurt
- cheese
- olive oil
- avocado oil
- nuts, seeds and nut butter
- avocado
- unsweetened coconut
Summary: Foods that are safe to eat if you are gluten intolerant include nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, fish, poultry, dairy products, gluten-free cereals, and legumes.
Eating Out Tips
Many restaurants don’t offer gluten-free options, so it’s important to know what’s safe to order if you’re gluten intolerant and intend to eat out.
If you have celiac disease, NCGS or wheat allergy, you must inform the waiters. A restaurant is far more likely to take your condition seriously if it knows you’re not allowed to eat gluten for medical reasons.
We offer you:
The Lactose-Free Diet: What to Eat and Avoid
In general, you should stay away from pasta, bread, and grains unless the restaurant offers gluten-free options such as brown rice pasta or gluten-free grains.
You should also avoid bread baskets. Instead, ask the waiters to bring you a gluten-free appetizer like edamame, caprese, or a simple salad, or a plate of crudits with hummus.
Fried foods such as french fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and mozzarella sticks usually contain gluten, so you should avoid these foods as well.
Keep your meal selection simple and use the following steps to create a gluten-free meal:
- Select a protein source: fish, shrimp, chicken, beef, beans, plain tofu, lentils, etc.
- Choose a gluten-free starch or grain: potatoes, sweet potatoes, winter squash, amaranth, quinoa, brown rice, etc.
- Choose a non-starchy vegetable: broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, green beans, etc.
Customizable salads and gluten-free cereal bowls are great food choices.
If you don’t trust the salad dressings or sauces that restaurants use, you can bring your own from home. Simply pour a small amount into a portable glass jar or bottle.
To make sure you have gluten-free options, it’s a good idea to scan the menu before choosing a meal at a restaurant. You can also call in advance and discuss your options with the staff.
General information: When you go out to eat, check the menu for gluten free options and be sure to let the server know if you have a gluten sensitivity.
How much gluten is safe?
For people with celiac disease, research suggests the usual threshold for gluten intake is 10 milligrams (mg) per day.
A diet of 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten should bring most people below the 10 mg threshold.
We offer you: The Gluten-Free Diet: A Beginner’s Guide to Meal Plans
The amount of gluten in foods varies widely. “Gluten-free” products must contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, as mandated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
This means that in order to pass the threshold of 10 mg per day, a person would have to eat 17 slices of gluten-free bread, if each slice contains 20 ppm. Or, for context, they could eat a pen-tip-sized amount of regular flour.
While the FDA has established guidelines for how much gluten many so-called gluten-free foods can contain, there are no such guidelines for alcoholic beverages, meat, poultry, and some egg products, which are regulated differently.